We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No TV, no phone, no internet, no pool, no frills”
Review of LOVE

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
LOVE
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2005

If you are simply looking for a "base of operations", this is the hotel for you. This is not a resort, it's a small but excellent french restaurant with a 7-room hotel attached.

We stayed in the "suite" for five nights and then moved into one of the other upstairs rooms for our last night. Our first night we were frustrated by the lack of screening on the sliding glass door to the private deck (mosquitoes bit us all night, every night). We also found problems with the bathroom cabinet door (handle fell off in my hand), the closet door (wouldn't open) and the shower head (detached from wall).

However, our first morning we loved waking up to the sound of waves washing up on the beach outside our room. We ran right downstairs and straight onto the sand. The location is excellent.

Grand Case looks like a typical caribbean village (poor) until you get to the beach road (blvd du grand case). All the shopping and restaurants are here. Almost all of the restaurants are expensive, french and very good. For a more reasonably priced alternative, the lolos (especially Talk of the Town) also offer great BBQ.

The week we were here, the town was fairly uncrowded. Most of the time there were only a couple other people on the beach. The beach itself is quite long and varies in width from about five feet to 20-30', depending on the tide. The sand is nice and soft, and I collected quite a lot of beach glass. (be careful of the glass that is still a bit sharp!)

Here are some other details. Only the suite (room 7) faces the beach directly. Rooms 4,5,6 share a patio space that overlooks a sort of garden area. You can see the beach, but only if you are at the rail. Room 3 faces a dark upstairs corridor. Rooms 1 and 2 are on the first floor.

Each room has a mini-fridge, but all rooms share the same "kitchette". (see photo) The beds were rather hard, and the pillows ran the gamut from compressed down-filled to lumpy polyester. The bathrooms all had double sinks and plenty of counter space. Room 5 did not have a bathtub but the shower worked. Room 7 only had a hand held shower nozzle. The limit of the hot water is about five minutes.

Breakfast is included. You eat in the small dining room, overlooking the beach. Every morning is the same croissants (plain and chocolate), baguette, ham & cheese, orange juice, preserves and coffee. The Miami Herald is also available Mon-Saturday.

Rudy, the manager, is very amiable, however we didn't really meet him until the third day. The owner doesn't speak a word of English, but is also very friendly and helpful.

We had some trouble with our car. The battery was stolen right out of it, as it was parked in front of the hotel! The owner, despite significant language barriers, was tremendously helpful. He made dozens of phone calls for us and even drove my husband to the airport trying to find someone from the rental agency.

All in all, we did have a wonderful week. We were looking for something quiet and convenient to the beach. We didn't want lots of other people around, or noisy pool areas. We visited the Grand Case Beach Club one day and Orient Beach another day, and both areas had lots of activities but were too crowded for us.

If you are looking for a modest hotel, without frills or amenities, this is definitely your place. You won't overspend and you'll be right on the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank babair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

199 - 203 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2005

My wife and I enjoyed five nights at Chez Martine in Grand Case in October, 2005. The accommodations were good, and the service outstanding. Rudy, the proprietor-manager, works very hard to make his establishment first rate. The beach is beautiful and clean in Grand Case, and the hotel is right on the beach, with a gorgeous view from the dining room and the suite, if you get it.

The restaurant is outstanding, with great food, a gorgeous view, nice wine list and good prices compared to the other bay front dinner establishments. The food is delicious, and beautifully presented. My wife said the lobster was the best she's ever had. No one will be disappointed there.

The rooms are few (only six) and nice sized, with mini-fridge, AC, and comfortable beds, though there wasn't always water as hot as you would like it (however, it felt great when we were sunburned.) There are a couple spots where the maintenance has been deferred, but management is working constantly to improve the place. Included in the cost of the room was a nice breakfast served in the dining room, overlooking the bay, composed of orange juice, croissants, bread, cheese, meat, jams, and coffee, more than enough to start a day.

It is not a luxury resort (though the restaurant is worthy of one), but it is nice, well-located, well managed and priced fairly. It is a great value in paradise! We hope to return.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LeftMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2005

It was our first trip to St. Martin, staying 1 week at Divi Little Bay (Dutch side) and another week at Cottages de Lonvilliers (French side). In order to get the flight we wanted we needed to stay an extra night at the end of our trip. We read about Chez Martin form Trip Advisor and booked 1 night for $85.00.

When we arrived, Rudy greeted us and took us up to our room. He asked how many would be staying and we told him 3 including our 12 year-old daughter. Instead of a regular room, he gave us the 'suite' for the same price. Our daughter loved the bunk beds in her own separate room while we enjoyed the large master bedroom; complete with the best ocean view we have ever experienced. The room had a small refrigerator and dinner ware. (See pictures of room from Charlottsville, VA guest)

The only negative part was that it was extremely hot that day and it took until well after dark before the A/C had cooled the room off. But what do you expect on a sunny July day in St. Martin?

While Chez Martin has a restaurant downstairs we tried a different restaurant down the street that our daughter's godparents had recommended.

All in all our only real gripe is that we didn't have a few more days to fully enjoy Grand Case. You can be sure that on our next trip we won't make the same mistake.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Mzznlink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2005

A modest gem - perfect for a quiet get-away to St. Martin and a great base for exploring the island. The hotel's excellence is a direct result of the manager, Rudy. Although the restaurant downstairs in the money-maker, Rudy ensures his guests have an excellent and comfortable stay. No TV, phone, internet or minibar, this is a quiet and romantic spot for relaxing.

  • Stayed: May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Garri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2005

I booked a stay at Chez Martine looking for a seaside inn which emphasized comfort, ease and beauty. I found that and more at Chez Martine. The experience was nothing short of delightful and wonderfully restful. No demands were placed, all requirements were taken care of with discretion and warmth.

The manager, Rudy, was the star as far as pleasure and grace are concerned. He made me feel that I was a guest in a private home, with all needs looked after with kindness and respect. He also made everything so easy, even helping to tidy up some pieces on a case which I had hoped to leave behind in Boston. His staff is equally professional and kind.

A great pleasure was the absence of phones and televisions in the rooms. Ahh, peace. I was able to read nearly four books during the week and slept better than anywhere else. Also, the view from the suite bedroom is great. Brought the outside-the sweep of the bay of Grand Case-into the room. The food at the inn was also very special, a fine blend of French preparation with a unique melange of island spices. Without having planned to, I ate most of the evening meals at the restaurant at Chez Martine, and this in the "gourmet capital of the St. Martin". The food was that good!

I emphatically recommend Chez Martine for those travellers who prefer simple joys and good food.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
1.0 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#2 of 8 in Grand Case
1,816 reviews
7.3 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
7.3 km away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 km away
Le Beach Hotel
Le Beach Hotel
#1 of 7 in Marigot
523 reviews
8.6 km away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
9.2 km away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to LOVE? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about LOVE

Address: 140 Boulevard de Grand Case | Saint Martin, Grand Case 97150, St Martin / St Maarten (Formerly Chez Martine)
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price Range: ₹ 8,801 - ₹ 11,067 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOVE HOTEL & RESIDENCE are located on the beautiful bay of Grand Case, bordered by turquoise Carribean Sea, offering a private and luxurious experience. An ideal setting to relax on the beach and enjoy refreshing cocktails and lunch feet in the water. Families can enjoy the sound of crashing waves while children are entertained by one of the multiple beach activities. Directly on the very lively and animated Grand Case Boulevard, you will be able to enjoy the fine French cuisine at THE PETITE TABLE, situated in front of the HOTEL. You must also take some time to visit the local art galleries, boutiques, bars and so much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your LOVE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chez Martine Grand Case
Chez Martine Hotel Grand Case

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing