We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 night honeymoon stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Case Beach Club
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Evanston, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“5 night honeymoon stay”
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We spent our first 4 nights on the Dutch side and the next 5 nights at Grand Case Beach Club. Overall, we enjoyed our stay here. We liked the more laid back feel on the French side compared with the Dutch side. Grand Case was an excellent location when it comes to all the great food nearby! We loved Le Tastevin (went there twice). We were only a 10-15 minute drive from Orient Beach. If you come to St. Martin, rent a car! It's really inexpensive (booked on Kayak.com) and a great way to see the island. Not nearly as hard to get around as I thought it would be. As a preview to my comments below we loved this place for location, it's quite/calm beach, value for an ocean view room, and proximity to great restaurants. Also, the grounds were very beautiful. The actual rooms and restaurant were average to good.

With regards to the hotel, the grounds were the best part. Very beautiful sea grapes provide shade to beach chairs which are just steps away from the rooms. We booked an oceanfront suite and had an awesome view of the ocean from our balcony. The staff was very friendly. No king beds were available at check in, but by night 3 one became available and they switched us immediately. The staff even moved our luggage to the new room while we were out for the day. We did not use the kitchenette so can't speak to it. I should note that we initially stayed in room 111 and there were ants and the A/C did not work very well. I don't know why I didn't complain about it earlier (as I said we ended up moving to a king bedroom later which had a GREAT A/C unit and NO bugs). I guess I unwisely assumed this was the state of all the rooms. We were much more impressed with the hotel overall after our room change.

The Sunset cafe had good food, but I preferred going to the other restaurants in Grand Case. There was only one waiter one night when they had 20% off on lobster and it took 45 min's to get our check. However, the service was excellent before that. Maybe this was a fluke. It was slow season and although we never went to the Sunset Cafe again, it never looked as busy the other nights. We did the free breakfast (pastries, french bread, coffee, orange juice) every morning and enjoyed it. Service was excellent each morning.

The beach is not large but was by no means very crowded (although it was low season). There is some really good snorkeling off the rocks right next to our beach! We bought our own snorkel equipment before leaving on our trip (cheaper if you use it a lot). I recommend buying a disposable cooler at a local grocery store and bring your own beer to any of the beaches you visit. It was a very acceptable practice everywhere we went.

My only negative thing to say is that the rooms were just average to good. I think we were spoiled by what appeared to be BRAND NEW rooms at Princess Heights. However, Princess Heights is not right on the beach and Grand Case Beach Club is, making it a good value.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 111 - bugs and poor A/C unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,186
    445
    83
    33
    20
See reviews for
331
1,030
28
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (487)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We've been to GCBC several times before over the last number of years and have seen some changes for the better and some not. First off, we love the location, the restaurants, the lolos and the upgrades such as the boardwalk that now rings the property. The sunset view is wonderful and we love the little "tiki" huts. Our one bedroom however, had some problems. We had no hot water at all the first day, that was fixed the second day, except for the upstairs shower, there were multiple power failures during our stay, trying to reposition the A/C louvres so they didn't blow on our faces all night was unsuccessful, and several times the maid did not come till after 4pm, and service was not thorough.

The Sunset Cafe was good, expect for one bartender, Sandra, who was the only one we encountered who was not helpful, pleasant or friendly.

Caution on the weekend - since the beach is public we had an issue on a Saturday of our stay. A group of local teenagers accessed the beach via the public access and climbed the rocks up onto the boardwalk on the property at the rear of the Sunset Cafe (I witnessed this personally). After some time we didn't see them around and forgot about it. Our things were under the lounges in one of the tiki huts on the property and we went into the water for a swim. We looked back at the tiki huts and saw those teenagers rifling through our things. When we ran out of the water and up the ramp they jumped off the boardwalk into the water and ran down the beach to Grand Case Village and were gone. Luckily, we keep nothing in our beach bag to steal and they got nothing. Other hotel guests on the beach who witnessed this told us that this occurence is not uncommon on the weekends here since more locals come to the beach on the weekend. We spoke to security about this and the guard was less than sympathetic explaining that the beach is public. Just be aware.

We never had this happen before and overall our stay was still very nice

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Luv2Go6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summit, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2012

We just got back from a 4-night stay at the Grand Case Beach Club, and we had an incredible time. The reviews were spot on--this is a great, relaxing place to unwind and enjoy the weather and beauty of St. Martin.

We stayed in a beach-front studio. Lovely, spacious room. Simple decor, strong AC, great view from the balcony, and a good bathroom with a great shower. As many have said in earlier reviews, the bed was super comfy. Having a fridge and stove in the room was also great, even though we didn't take full advantage of it.

We had mixed experiences at The Sunset Cafe, but it absolutely improved over time. Sabrina was an absolutely delightful waitress. The free breakfast was simple and fresh, and the addition of a fruit plate (for 7 euros) rounded it out. The fruit was easily shared by the two of us, and it was fresh and delicious every time we ordered it. The coffee rocked. Lunch at the Sunset Cafe was also very nice. The mahi mahi wrap was fantastic, and a good price considering the high quality.

The free water sports rentals rocked--we brought our own snorkel gear, but it was awfully nice to borrow a water float. The snorkeling around the resort was super fun. There were some sea urchins around, but they were easy to avoid. I saw a heap of wonderful fish. (And on a visit to Pinel Island--a fantastic little side trip--there was even better snorkeling).

Another highlight of the trip was the Thursday night guest reception. We met some lovely people, including the managers of the resort. They made sure our final day at Grand Case was comfortable and memorable--the whole staff really went above and beyond to make our stay fantastic.

The resort is walking distance to restaurant row, and we took full advantage of it.

Oh, and if you're lucky enough, you'll get Philip or Juliette as your cab drivers. They were helpful and friendly and we appreciated all their help and advice.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachelpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bank, New Jersey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2012

There are so many places to stay in St Maarten/ St Martin, but there really isnt anywhere on the island like Grand Case Beach Club. It really has the best location for relaxation and dining.

If you want to stay on the French Side,have beachfront, peace and tranquility, and want to be away from the traffic, crowds ,high rises and timeshares on the Dutch Side, but you do not need a luxury hotel or the fanciest room available,and want to be within walking distance of some of the best restaurants you have even been to, then you must go to the Grand Case Beach Club.

GCBC is small, quiet, well manicured, has decent rooms, very good service,a very good restaurant ,a small but quiet and relaxing beach... all the basics that you would want for a beach getaway. The rooms are not as "high end" as some of the other hotels close by like the Esplanade, but the Esplanade is not beachfront. It is up the hill and is quite a hike up and down to go to the beach or to walk downtown. Le Petite Hotel 's rooms are more upscale and are beachfront,but there is no on site restaurant, and no pool..( not that the pool is anything special at GCBC, it isnt...) and the rooms there do not have full kitchens like GCBC.

If you want a nice pool, then GCBC is not for you. The pool there is merely an afterthought.

The Beachfront hotels at Orient Bay are not truly beachfront, and there is a much more crowded feel over at the Alamanda, Esmerelda, Palm Court or Carribean Princess...( all very nice, "very French" places...)

You can drive to Orient beach in 10 min from Grand Case if you want to be in the middle of the action,, do some people watching, walk around the Village, do a little shopping , have lunch, or Jet ski. I prefer the quiet of Petite Plage over the hoards of cruise ship passengers dropped off by the bus load fighting for chairs that are stacked in rows so close together that you cant breath.. That is not a relaxing day at the beach .I suggest that you go to Orient in the afternoon, have lunch, have a few drinks at one of the many beach bars ( Palm Beach is nice) , but then retreat to the tranquility of GCBC. Orient is a place that I can only take for a couple of hours at a time, not for an entire vacation.

The Radisson Blu in Anse Marcel is very nice, and although it really is not that far from either Orient or Grand Case it's location is pretty isolated, and it is not a fun drive at night on those narrow, twisting, turning roads to go out to dinner in Orient or Grand case, especially after a few drinks or a bottle of wine.

The rooms at GCBC have full kitchens, so you can make breakfast and coffee, as well as a few lunches to save a few bucks so you can splurge at night at one of the many great restaurants down the road. There is a decent grocery store right outside Grand Case at Hope Estate, right on the main road toward Orient Bay.Buy sodas, water, breakfast stuff,snacks, booze and you will be set for the week.Lunch at the Sunset Cafe, or get take out from the lolos and bring it back to the hotel...

It is an easy walk down to the center of town from the hotel where you will have the choice of several great restaurants for dinner. Spiga, Le Pressoir, Auberge Gourmande, Bistrot Caraibes, Le Tastevin, La Villa, Piazza Pascal, Le Cottage as well as the Lolos are all right there.... and some fun bars like Calmos Cafe and Blue Martini . Walking down the Blvd can be a little treacherous at night because there are no sidewalks and it gets pretty dark in spots, but it felt very safe to us.If you don't feel like walking you can drive and park in one of the two lots near the middle of town and most restaurants will reimburse you for the cost.

The Sunset Cafe at GCBC is also very good for all meals if you stay on the property.

The guys at watersports desk are OK to deal with. One of them was an idiot, but the other 2 guys that I dealt with were fine.They can arrange all sorts of trips for you right there, such as a snorkeling trip out to Creole Rock, a day sail to St Barths or Anguilla plus you can take out a kayak or get floating mats at no cost.

The southernmost "beach" area right in front of most of the rooms is not really a beach at all, because the water essentially comes right up to the wall... but this is a very good calm area to swim... It is like a huge salt water pool... very little wave action. In this area, most people will sit on the chairs in the grass area at the top of the wall in front of their rooms. Plenty of areas of sun and shade.

The beach at Petite Plage is next to the Sunset Cafe and is a short walk from any room at the hotel. It is facing Creole Rock, and the water has a bit more wave action, but is still relatively calm water. It is never crowded even when the hotel is full. You do not have to run down to claim a chair with your towel at 7 am. There always were plenty of chairs, and umbrellas, and they do provide beach service for food and drinks.

Beautiful sunsets..Of course , you have to stop by at the Sunset cafe for a drink and catch the sunset after you have showered and are ready to go out to dinner.

The rooms have been re done, and are comfortable, and functional... not fancy. The AC worked, the kitchen was equipped , the TV worked well, The Wi Fi worked fine for us ,the bed was firm and comfortable.... The cleaning staff provided us with extra towels that we requested. The place is safe, and guarded. To gain entry to the grounds you must be a guest, or ask for the gate to be unlocked by buzzing the front desk.

I have stayed at more upscale beachfront resorts and hotels, but GCBC is my favorite. It is not very expensive, and the hotel and location has everything that I am looking for on a beach getaway.

Room Tip: Go for the oceanfront room...There are privacy issues if you are on the first floor since people are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank DanTheMan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

I stayed at Grand Case Beach Club for 5 nights with my SO, my sister and her SO, and my mother and we couldn't have had a better time.

We were drawn to the french side of the island, St. Martin, because we wanted a relaxing, slower paced vacation than what the dutch side offers. The resort is beautiful. The grounds are clean and well manicured. The rooms are very clean, well maintained, and up to date. The staff are very helpful. The beaches, both the north and south stretches, are pristine and never crowded.

The onsite restaurant, Sunset Cafe, consistently served great food; I would order from their specials always. They have convenient flags on the beach chairs so you can order a drink right on the water. I read some other reviews complaining how the billing for the cafe is separate from the resort. Not sure what the problem is. You simply let them know your room number and you settle the tab before you check out. Easy.

While the resort is located in a nice little secluded pocket on the island, only a 5 minutes walk away is the Grand Case strip where there are plenty of cafes, restaurants, and lolos (island bbq joints). Everything else is a bus or taxi ride away (max 30 minutes to anywhere on the island, at least for us).

The only thing I can think of one should be aware of when coming here is that the free continental breakfast isn't really so. At the cafe, you are greeted with free orange juice and baskets of bread rolls, but anything other than that is extra that must be purchased.

But really, I'm splitting hairs here. Out of a trip of 6 days with a large family, this was an extremely pleasant stay. I will be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SixCaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
7.7 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
4.3 km away
Alamanda Resort
Alamanda Resort
#4 of 8 in Orient Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
7.6 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
Hotel Riu Palace St Martin
#2 of 3 in Anse Marcel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,256 reviews
10.6 km away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
10.1 km away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Case Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Case Beach Club

Property: Grand Case Beach Club
Address: 21 Rue de Petite Place, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price range (per night): ₹ 13,317 - ₹ 27,345
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Case Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate and relaxing, small but large enough to have just the right amount of service that brings back our guests year after year. We are constantly improving and have updated and upgraded nearly every aspect of our resort, and will continue to do so. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Case Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Case Beach Club Hotel Grand Case
Grand Case Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing