We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem on the French Side of St Maarten”
Review of Le Petit Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Grand Case
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Le Petit Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Certificate of Excellence
Horseheads, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gem on the French Side of St Maarten”
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Le Petit Hotel, St. Maarten

The Le Petit Hotel is a grand small hotel with great service. The rooms are spacious and appointed with taste, kitchenette, balcony on the beach, and a fantastic view. The staff is superb with knowledge of the island.

It is located on the French side near the Grand Case and is walking distance to the lolo restaurants (in French it means shacks) that serve great grilled dinners. Night after night you can visit different ones and have pork, chicken, or sea food. Bring dollars or euros - cash is the same to them. If you are lucky you might even stumble upon the old derelict Morgan (car) along the walk to the lolo area. The Friars Beach is a must.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigMac0317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    524
    47
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
34
437
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
U.S
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Well, we stayed there because of the TA reviews. We were not disappointed. This small 10 room hotel is in the Grand Case (French side) on the beach. JonLouise and Ellettra were very helpful and made us feel at home. We had a 2nd floor room #4 which was great, however it had a big palm tree in the middle of the view. Ask for room 5,6 or 7, second floor. Any room is good, but these are the best. The beach is small because the tides come up to the bldg. If you want a great beach go to Mullet Bay. The french resturant row is a short drive (2 mins), NOT WALK!!! , and if you walk down the beach you will certainly get wet and tired. Trust me on this.
Anyone who comes to the island and doesn't rent a car is crazy. This little hotel is great and I will come back here anytime. Brovo little guy!!!

Room Tip: any room is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMJETS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

5 days a Le Petit. Clean rooms, fine linens, great simple breakfasts, snorkeling gear, simple kitchen, the sound of the waves and a great view of Grand Case. Easy 10-15 min walk into dinner on Grand Case (we walked on the beach). This is not a resort but as a home base for exploring the islands many beaches (particularly on the french side) it was terrific. A great spot to come home to in the afternoon for drinks on the balcony before finding the restaurant of the evening. Great for couples.

Room Tip: Room 6 second floor has best balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BIGbearRoadtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

My wife (fiancee at the time) went down here and spent time on both the French and the Dutch side. We were staying at another hotel on the Dutch side later in the week because of a company trip, so we came down to St. Maarten a little earlier. We scoured TA, and narrowed it down to a couple. I'm very happy we choose Le Petit because the hotel was spectacular. We had a 2nd floor room, and had great views of the water. The fresh breakfast every day did not get old. The rocks in the water weren't the best, but you can walk down the beach to get a better layout...

We did the zipline tour which was incredible, Birdman was awesome. Make sure you go to see the war monument on the hill. Great views of the French side from high up there. The downtown market was great. The ethnic food down there was not disappointing at all.

Very relaxing, yet eventful trip...

Room Tip: Get a 2nd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Halishak11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We stayed a week at Le Petit. It was wonderful! Nice beach, lovely room with a great view, great service, great breakfast pastries and fresh juice (yummy!) and close to many restaurants. we look forward to visiting again.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Grand Case
1.5 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,804 reviews
7.5 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.6 km away
LOVE
LOVE
#4 of 8 in Grand Case
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
751 reviews
9.4 km away
Belmond La Samanna
Belmond La Samanna
#1 of 1 in Terres Basses
1,132 reviews
9.1 km away
Sonesta Ocean Point Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Petit Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Petit Hotel

Property: Le Petit Hotel
Address: 248 Boulevard de Grand Case | St. Martin, Grand Case 97150, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Saint-Martin > Grand Case
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Grand Case
Price range (per night): ₹ 17,006 - ₹ 33,691
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Le Petit Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set upon the sand of Grand Case Bay, this is St. Martin's true boutique hotel. Le Petit Hotel has an air of casual luxury, yet assures an impeccable attention to detail. Stylish and thoughtfully appointed rooms feature Balinese furniture, Frette linens, Damana amenities, fully equipped kitchens and marble bathrooms. Sunlight plays upon the surface of the sea while you enjoy soft tropical breezes from your own private terrace. Time to unwind, time to relax, time to wine, time to dine...A mood to remember. Le Petit Hotel...For the lucky few. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing