We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Azure Hotel & Art Studio(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turquoise Shell Inn(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 181
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$ 127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 114
US$ 111
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 182
US$ 151
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 136
US$ 112
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baker's Suites(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 131
US$ 111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodore Suites(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$ 156
US$ 150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simpson Bay Suites(Simpson Bay)
US$ 252
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travel Inn Hotel(Simpson Bay)
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
27
4
1
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
4
1
0
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2010

Stayed at this great one-bedroom condo right on the beach with my husband for 2 weeks in April. This was my 6th trip to SXM, but first time to stay in a private condo. The condo was perfect for the 2 of us--clean and so well-equipped with everything you could imagine, right down to padded lounge chairs, coolers and even rafts. Not to meniton a phone for free calls to the US and a small computer to keep us up to date. No need to even leave! Simpson Beach is probably one of the nicest beaches I have been to on SXM--very few people, nice and long for those walks on the beach and great for swimming with a different view every day as different boats moor in the bay each day. All this just 5 steps from your porch! Location was good too with lots of restaurants within a mile or so. We're definitely looking forward to spending more time at Ocean's Edge on our next trip to SXM!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReneeJ57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Condo

The condo was very nice and spacious and the outdoor patio was a great place to relax.

Beach

The beach and water were great. There were times when we would look to the left and right and could only see a few people. If privacy is what you’re looking for, this place is perfect.

Town
We didnt rent a car, but most people in the area had cars.
The big grocery store and restaurants were only a short 8-10 minute walk. It has everything you’ll need to cook at home. There was also a small store about 4 minutes away. I would highly recommend walking a little further to the big place. Also, It only took about 20 minutes to walk to the main area with the casinos and many more restaurants. We loved IZI, Pineapple Pete, Rancho/Tequila, and The Wharf.

Nearby Restaurants

100 yards down the beach is Mary’s Boon and then Karacter. We ate lunch and dinner at both since they were so close. Mary’s Boon was always empty, but the food was still good. Karacter is a "school bus" on the beach. When we saw it, we didn’t expect too much. But it had a great atmosphere during the day and night and the food was great. It was probably our favorite place to go for happy hour or dinner.



Our only Con was the constant airplanes overhead from 730 a.m. until about 7 at night. There were some hours where 6-8 planes would fly over the beach, and some where only 3-4 would fly over. Most of these were smaller planes, but when the big ones take off, they get really loud. The big planes take off about 200 yards behind the condo. The first few we saw were entertaining, but after 5 days of it, we were slightly annoyed. If there were no airplanes, this place would be perfect It’s that great of an area, beach, and condo. I wouldn’t let this sway you away from staying in this area of Simpson Bay, but it’s worth noting.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

I've been to St Maarten two times and both times I have stayed at the Ocean's Edge condo. If you are looking for a one bedroom condo with all the amenities of home, this is the place for you.

In addition to a great kitchen, living room and bedroom, the condo has a desktop computer with internet access and a phone that allows you to place calls to the US for free.

The condo is oceanfront and is directly on Simpson Beach. While it is near the airport and the down side is the occasional plane taking off or landing, the upside is that you will never see any construction because of the proximity to the airport..

Ten mintues after clearing customs you are in your condo. You can't beat that.

Without a doubt, this place is the best value on St. Maarten.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Globetreker1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2009

Ocean's Edge Condo was perfection to us; right on the perfect beach, perfect location for everything we wanted to do, perfect accommodations that fit our laid back life style. The variety of life styles that this place allows is endless. If you want to stay there and cook every night - cool; if you want to go out every night for the most fantastic restaurants - cool. Mix and match, the whole purpose of a great vacation!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkinnebreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2009

Having stayed at Oceans Edge the reviews look to me like they are coming from the owner, although it is nice, it is not as out of this world or as cheap as the reviews have said. It is expensive for what you get, there are other condos on Simpson Bay that are comparable in price that have the use of a pool and include daily maid service also the beach fronts on other properties are cleaned daily unlike Oceans Edge where no arrangements are made to clear the dog poop. Simpson Bay is known to have stray dog problems.
We felt that we were intruding somewhat into someone elses space as half of the closet space cannot be used it is locked and contains the owners personal items so anyone going with a family would struggle for storage space.
This is a block of 8 apartments 2 lower which have direct access onto the beach 2 upper overlooking the beach and 4 rear overlooking the dirt track road (the only vehicle access to the apartments), all 8 apartments use the beach directly in front and since the majority are residents they seem to claim the areas as theres, we had cigarette butts constantly dropping from the apartment above and their dog and cat used the area in front of the downstairs apartments as their toilet - not pleasant!! .it can get quite rowdy when the residents and their friends party outside your door. Its worth remembering that the beach is public.
The apartment is very nice if a little cluttered with personal effects but the real downside is everytime you open a cupboard there is a warning note re: water conservation, the desired setting for Air Con, electricity usage etc etc., - come on we are on vacation here and have paid for the services in the rental.
The view is wonderful but the outside of the aparatment is a little worn and tired looking, we thought it was overpriced unlike the reviews from the Atlanta folk.
A fair and honest review that touches on parts that never gets mentioned.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beng90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceansEdgeOwner, Owner at Ocean's Edge Condos, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2009

We are surprised by your negative comments, as we pride ourselves on providing a real value for BEACHFRONT vacation rentals on SXM. We DO NOT put fake postings on TripAdvisor, so feel free to contact any of the people diectly who posted for validation of their positive comments. Funny how all the other postings were so positive except yours...our 1 BR condos are geared for couples, not families. Signage is provided to guests to explain how items work in the condo, so guests don't have to spend valueable vacation time figuring out how our items work in the condo. So many places say on their websites "beachfront", but you have to turn your head a certain way to see the water...we offer condos on the beach directly, with clean modern furnishings, that everyone else seems to enjoy based upon all the possitive feedback. Sometimes you can't please everyone...LOL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews