We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Commodore Suites(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 120
US$ 115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travel Inn Hotel(Simpson Bay)
US$ 95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Simpson Bay Suites(Simpson Bay)
US$ 136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mary's Boon Beach Hotel and Spa(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 138
US$ 134
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baker's Suites(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 137
US$ 116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 177
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Vista Resort(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Azure Hotel & Art Studio(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,328)
Filter reviews
1,328 results
Traveller rating
480
478
224
91
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
480
478
224
91
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson sitetime sharefull kitchengrocery storebon appetiteliving roommurphy bedmain buildingsales pitchpiano bartennis courtspersonal conciergetimeshare presentationwater activitiessunset cruisest maartenocean view
Filter
Updating list...
31 - 36 of 1,328 reviews
Reviewed 5 June 2018

The check-in process was pleasant and efficient. The staff was friendly and informative.

Once in the room, things started to deteriorate. My first impression of the room was that it was very nice and I really liked the decor. On closure inspection, things look good from a distance only.

The room door stuck and you had to really pull or push the door to get it to lock. We came back three separate times to find the maid did not close the door all the way and it was unlocked. We finally put a sign on the inside of the door asking the maid to be sure to fully close the door.

The room safe did not work, which was a real concern seeing how the room was often left unlocked. The safe's battery appeared to be dead. I picked up the phone to report the issue and the phone did not work correctly. We received a solid tone each time we push button for Maintenance or the Front Desk. We had a walk down to the hill to the lobby and report these issues on three different days. They never attempted to fix the phone. After the second time (2 days in a row) of complaining about the safe a maintenance person came out at 9:30 AM in the morning on the third day to fix the safe. We were showering and asked him to come back. He never did and we asked a third time (fourth day) for the safe to be fixed and they never came back and safe and phone did not work all nine nights we stayed there.

A lot of the power and lighting receptacles were loose and almost came off the wall when I unplugged my laptop.

Kitchen- was a full kitchen with refrigerator, stove/oven, microwave, plates, pots, pans, etc...

Bathroom- was small but functional.

Closet- Was nice and large.

Bedroom- Nice and comfortable bed. There was also a loveseat and chair in the room.

The grounds, pool, and beach were really nice and well taken care of.

In closing, I was somewhat disappointed with staff on the repair issues. The hotel is nice and some building were completely by Irma. I will most likely stay at this resort again.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott_Smith6064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello Scott
Thank you for sharing your comments. We want you to know how much we enjoy serving you, every guest we welcome is a family member for us. Of course we appreciate your visit, but we also appreciate your feedback which help us to keep our resort always in the best conditions to welcome you. We feel truly honoured to be part of your vacation on recent trip to St. Maarten.
Our service is our best quality and we are glad that you could experience it.
Thank you again for your comments and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018

We have been coming every year to St Maarten for 7 years. We stay here at Simpson Bay Resort - Stay in the Villas with friends (who have been coming for 14 years); then we move over to our unit in Flamboyant for another week. We bought here 3 years ago and haven’t regretted a moment. But whether you own, or just come to stay, the property is fabulous. Very well maintained, and well kept. The restaurants serve really fabulous food and the staff here are friendly and will always assist when needed. Simpson Bay did fairly well during the hurricane and were never totally out of service. Centrally located on the Dutch side, with a great beach, lots of restaurants close by, and beautiful sunsets. We love this place and this island. Forever SXM strong.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello Karen.
Thank you for sharing your comments. It has been a pleasure serving you during all these years. Simpson Bay Resort Resort takes pride in giving priority to their members and guests and looking after their needs. Quality and customer service are what distinguish us. We always strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and meet their requirements and we feel very happy that you could experience it.
Thank you again for choosing us. Looking forward to having you as one of our valued member for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2018

The staff goes above and beyond here, the Island is still in pretty bad shape and recovery though slow is amazing. The staff attitude and professionalism is wonderful, Evan oe Yvon (speel check(, Chandra, Andrea, Pedro, Neil and Laura exceptionally welcoming and eager to help in anyway. Froont desk was amazing and accomadating. Limited rooms back in inventory they did a great job of making everyone happy. If you have been to St. Maarten and liked it now is a good time to go back and support the wonderful people of this beautiful although still recovering island, you won't be disappointed by our Friendly Island!

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ronm34145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello Ron.
Thank you for sharing your comments. We would like to thank you for staying with us at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina. We know that you have many choices when traveling and your trust is very much appreciated. We feel very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and that our resort and staff met your expectations.In order to continually improve upon our facilities and services, we rely heavily on feedback from our guests and for that reason we really appreciate your comments.

We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

Was pleasantly surprised with this property. Excellent service, all amenities top notch, outstanding buffet breakfast w great variety including interesting Mexican options. And so easy to walk to and from AquaMania fir all activities and other nearby options. We will be back. Book it!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank SeaSabaLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello Lynn,
Thank you for sharing your comments. It feels great when we are able to meet your expectations. We hope to retain this relationship for the many coming years. We are looking forward to serve you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018 via mobile

I stayed at Simpson Bay Beach Resort for one week with my mother. It is so relaxing and beautiful! We met some pretty friendly staff and vacationers during our stay. Our room on the third floor was quite modern and had a pool and ocean view. I was pleasantly surprised that the room came equipped with a functional kitchen that had new stainless steel appliances (eg: stove, refrigerator, dishwasher), pots, plates, and utensils.

One of my grievances about my stay however, was that we had some pests in our room. Another was the flushing of their toilets. Yes, I said the flushing of their toilets The resort uses a vacuum system, which sounds much like flushing an airplane toilet but louder I think everyone within close proximity to our room knew each time we’d used the bathroom. Overall, our stay was pretty good and I’d return to this resort with friends and family in the future.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank Sherreida R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Hello Sherreida.
Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community and thank you for giving Simpson Bay Resort & Marina the opportunity to be your chosen resort for your recent trip to Aruba.
We are happy that you were pleased with the service and our accommodations. We appreciate your comments, insofar as that is the best means that we have for learning first hand if the representations of quality that are made to us are accurate.
We will look forward to hearing from you and hope that you will afford us the opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews