We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,371)
Filter reviews
1,371 results
Traveller rating
505
486
232
94
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
486
232
94
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on site time share full kitchen grocery store main building living room murphy bed sales pitch piano bar tennis courts personal concierge timeshare presentation water activities sunset cruise st maarten ocean view one bedroom unit
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 1,371 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We booked 1 night w Expedia for a marina front studio room before we move into a full 1 br suite booked w our timeshare RCI.
Location: main building looks out to the marina, can swim off there or walk few yards to the beach. Resort is close to airport, we could have walk if w/o luggage, taxi was $12 for 2. Easily walk to main road for any restaurants, grocery, liquor store. Resort also has restaurants and a small convenient grocery store. Gym is in main bldg. Many pools, pretty much a pool for each bldg group A, B, C, D, Marina pools.
Beach: very nice small beach, chair attendant will help you setup beach loungers ( nice new loungers), a beach shack bar there to offer burger, fried food, drinks
Room: the main bldg has studio and full br suite. Our studio for 1 nt has king bed, small kitchennette w refridge, microwave, coffee pot, utensils but no cook tops & oven. Large bathroom with bathtub. The full 1 br suite for the week is in the B bldg, basically a large apartment. Big full kitchen w every appliances you expect in a kitchen, large balcony, but bathroom is quitesmall cramp w only shower, no tub. It's fully remodeled bc last time we're here 3 years ago, this bldg was being gutted.
Depend where your room is, you may get gorgeous view or bad view. The main bldg overlooks the marina, nice view of the many boats in Simpson bay e pelicans swooping and the airport across the bay. The resort is very hilly as in very steep climb, we're in the B bldg 4th floor high on the hill and you get beautiful down hill look down the ocean from the large balcony, but i would be unhappy to be in the bldg opposite from us on the other side of the big pool, they have our bldg blocking the ocean view.

Overall, very nice clean quiet resort (other than the screaming kids in the 2 pools on both sides of the building, but I expect they will leave after the weekend, this being the Labor Day weekend). We'll book here again.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor for better view if you don't mind walking.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnhB_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Anh,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community. It has been a pleasure serving you and we feel so happy to know that you had a wonderful time with us. We appreciate your kind words about our resort. Simpson Bay Resort & Marina takes pride in giving priority to their guests and looking after their needs. Quality and customer service are what distinguish us from others. We always strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and meet their requirements. We also appreciate your feedback; it is what keeps us improving.
Thank you again for choosing us. Looking forward to having you as one of our valued guests for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We traded through Registry Collection. They put us way up on a hill where most of the rooms are. We demanded they let us upgrade, said we would pay for that. It took hours of wrangling but we insisted. The internet bookings and RCI trade site make it seem most rooms have easy access to the ocean, but they don't. However, once we got our upgrade it was awesome.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Diana,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community. We appreciate your trust. Our success comes from the continuous faith in the excellence of our service, something we are committed to and would never sacrifice. We feel happy that you were pleased with your upgrade.
Looking forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We loved everything about our stay at this resort!! Our one-bedroom unit was in the B building but we had an awesome view with a room on a higher floor. It's conveniently located within walking distance to bars, restaurants, and grocery stores/shopping. The restaurants on the property itself are all very good. We especially enjoyed Alexander's (upstairs from Bon Apetite) and the Italian restaurant on property. Our personal concierge was a young lady named Delia (from Cancun, Mexico). She was awesome and made our stay that much more special.

Room Tip: A room on a higher floor will get you a better view.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank abnerd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community and thank you so much for your lovely words. It is so great to hear that our team is doing a good job and it is comments like yours that keep us going! Thank you for staying at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Of course I was staying at the best room here after they made my parents pay twice for the room after we had book it in Expedia. Nevertheless, we my family had a great time and the service was good. The beds are ok! The family room is really nice! It has a good location!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank Grecia J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Grecia,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the community and us. We would like to thank you for visiting us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
We feel very happy that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal. We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon. We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

I've visited this resort many times... going way back over 15 years, when it was called Pelican resort. I was pleased to see the beautiful improvements. Buildings are newly renovated and absolutely wonderful. Most pools are gorgeous (the villas pool is always cloudy so we didn't swim there). The rooms are absolutely stunning, clean and well-equipped. Maid service to the villas was daily so our room was super clean. I believe the time share units do not get cleaned as often.

The staff used to be very friendly, I was left with only a handful that still are. The front desk people are wonderful, the staff at Aquamania are amazing, and Laura at the marine pool is an absolute treasure! That's about it though- the maid staff were not very courteous and would hog the elevators often (one even pressed the close door button as I tried to get on the elevator and smiled like I didn't see her). The cashier at the beach bar is just outright rude and speaks down to customers (if I could only reenact her eye rolls and noises when I asked her for change of a $20 bill and her bigger reaction when I asked for single bills). The staff of Patron were very unorganized, slow and unaccommodating (the hostess always had to remind us that seating was limited, hoping we would leave before seating us- this happened 3 times!) I would not have ate at Patron so much if the breakfast was not complimentary.

The restaurant selection on the resort property has potential, the restaurants themselves are aesthetically pleasing. However, I did not find that the quality of food was anything to write home about. This did not matter as there is a huge selection of restaurants just down the road from the resort- Skip Jacks, Izi, Pineapple Pete, and Carousel (for dessert) were our favorites.

The beach, of course is beautiful. Bay, so not so many waves. The only improvement needed is air quality- the vents from the bathrooms feed out to the beachfront so you get many stinky wafts of air as you try to enjoy the beach. Hopefully they will address that problem. Aquamania has every type of water sport for your needs from a simple cruise to deep dive scuba.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would return. I recommend staying in the Villas.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community. It has been a pleasure serving you over 15 years! We feel very happy that you were pleased with our service and the enhancement of our accommodations.
The growth we have experienced over the years is thanks to all the comments we have received, each one of them is an opportunity to learn and some comments like yours are an incentive that lifts our spirits in our daily work.
We appreciate your trust and feedback. We will reinforce our customer service in all departments to continue to give you the kind of service you deserve.
Thanks again, for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews