We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,383)
Filter reviews
1,383 results
Traveller rating
515
488
232
94
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
515
488
232
94
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on site time share full kitchen grocery store beach bar murphy bed main building living room tennis courts personal concierge la patrona timeshare presentation sunset cruise water activities st maarten ocean view orient beach
Filter
Updating list...
140 - 145 of 1,383 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2017 via mobile

We traded through Registry Collection. They put us way up on a hill where most of the rooms are. We demanded they let us upgrade, said we would pay for that. It took hours of wrangling but we insisted. The internet bookings and RCI trade site make it seem most rooms have easy access to the ocean, but they don't. However, once we got our upgrade it was awesome.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Diana N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Dear Diana,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community. We appreciate your trust. Our success comes from the continuous faith in the excellence of our service, something we are committed to and would never sacrifice. We feel happy that you were pleased with your upgrade.
Looking forward to serving you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

We loved everything about our stay at this resort!! Our one-bedroom unit was in the B building but we had an awesome view with a room on a higher floor. It's conveniently located within walking distance to bars, restaurants, and grocery stores/shopping. The restaurants on the property itself are all very good. We especially enjoyed Alexander's (upstairs from Bon Apetite) and the Italian restaurant on property. Our personal concierge was a young lady named Delia (from Cancun, Mexico). She was awesome and made our stay that much more special.

Room tip: A room on a higher floor will get you a better view.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank abnerd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2017

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community and thank you so much for your lovely words. It is so great to hear that our team is doing a good job and it is comments like yours that keep us going! Thank you for staying at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile

Of course I was staying at the best room here after they made my parents pay twice for the room after we had book it in Expedia. Nevertheless, we my family had a great time and the service was good. The beds are ok! The family room is really nice! It has a good location!

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Grecia J G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Dear Grecia,

Thank you for sharing your comments with the community and us. We would like to thank you for visiting us. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
We feel very happy that the accommodations and service were to your liking, as complete satisfaction is our goal. We would love to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon. We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

I've visited this resort many times... going way back over 15 years, when it was called Pelican resort. I was pleased to see the beautiful improvements. Buildings are newly renovated and absolutely wonderful. Most pools are gorgeous (the villas pool is always cloudy so we didn't swim there). The rooms are absolutely stunning, clean and well-equipped. Maid service to the villas was daily so our room was super clean. I believe the time share units do not get cleaned as often.

The staff used to be very friendly, I was left with only a handful that still are. The front desk people are wonderful, the staff at Aquamania are amazing, and Laura at the marine pool is an absolute treasure! That's about it though- the maid staff were not very courteous and would hog the elevators often (one even pressed the close door button as I tried to get on the elevator and smiled like I didn't see her). The cashier at the beach bar is just outright rude and speaks down to customers (if I could only reenact her eye rolls and noises when I asked her for change of a $20 bill and her bigger reaction when I asked for single bills). The staff of Patron were very unorganized, slow and unaccommodating (the hostess always had to remind us that seating was limited, hoping we would leave before seating us- this happened 3 times!) I would not have ate at Patron so much if the breakfast was not complimentary.

The restaurant selection on the resort property has potential, the restaurants themselves are aesthetically pleasing. However, I did not find that the quality of food was anything to write home about. This did not matter as there is a huge selection of restaurants just down the road from the resort- Skip Jacks, Izi, Pineapple Pete, and Carousel (for dessert) were our favorites.

The beach, of course is beautiful. Bay, so not so many waves. The only improvement needed is air quality- the vents from the bathrooms feed out to the beachfront so you get many stinky wafts of air as you try to enjoy the beach. Hopefully they will address that problem. Aquamania has every type of water sport for your needs from a simple cruise to deep dive scuba.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay and would return. I recommend staying in the Villas.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
4  Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community. It has been a pleasure serving you over 15 years! We feel very happy that you were pleased with our service and the enhancement of our accommodations.
The growth we have experienced over the years is thanks to all the comments we have received, each one of them is an opportunity to learn and some comments like yours are an incentive that lifts our spirits in our daily work.
We appreciate your trust and feedback. We will reinforce our customer service in all departments to continue to give you the kind of service you deserve.
Thanks again, for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

We never have imagine that we liked this hotel so much. Private beaches are amazing you can spend the hole day in the water, it is so calm and clear. Restaurants around the area are superb! We did rent a car and is the best way to get around the island (plus hotel has free parking!) Hotel complex is huge but you don't feel crowded as the rooms are well divided, staff is friendly and helpful. We will definitely recommend this hotel.
The only negative thing we could find is that check out is at 10AM!!!! I think 11am or 12pm would be fair.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank franje8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community. We want you to know how much we enjoy serving you, every guest we welcome is a family member for us. Of course we appreciate your visit, but we also appreciate the positive lift we get from your comments. We feel truly honored to be part of your vacation on your recent trip to St. Maarten. Our service is our best quality and we are glad that you could experience it.
Thank you again for your comments and have a wonderful day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews