We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Reviewed 27 January 2017

Stayed in the resort for a week with husband and 14 year old son. The check in was swift and we had no sales pitch for timeshare, I think that as we are European they just didn't bother. Our suite was in Bouganvilia overlooking the "B" pool, it was very well equipped and spotlessly clean and also very spacious with a lovely balcony giving us views of the bay. Unfortunately it also gave us a view into the very dirty pool. The resort is very big and we were at the top of a very steep hill. There are a good selection of restaurants on site, breakfast in Las Petronas was very nice, I would advise to eat from the menu, not the buffet. The convenience store on site was well stocked and reasonably priced. The biggest downside was the "lady" who works in the ticket booth just outside the entrance. I understand that she is not connected to the resort but she was the rudest most nasty woman I have ever met. She cat called and laughed a loud exaggerated laugh every we walked past, I deliberately avoided going past her.

Room Tip: Anything that is not up that hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsDKildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Mrs. Kildare,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community. We would like to thank you for staying with us at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina. We know that you have many choices when traveling and your trust is very much appreciated. We feel very happy that you enjoyed your stay, and that our resort and staff met your expectations.
In order to continually improve upon our facilities and services, we rely heavily on feedback from our guests and for that reason we really appreciate your comments. That is why we will take action in reference to the comments and the bad experience you went through in reference to the lady at the ticket booth.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards from sunny St. Maarten.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 165 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

My wife and I were walking on the road, when a French couple asked us where we were staying. They asked us about the Simpson Bay Resort, handed us these cards and said to open. They were trusting but we were weary. My wife won a time shirt and I potentially could've won $500 (not), or other prizes. Let me say I didn't stay there. They said that they'll get 50 bucks if we stay and listen to a salesperson for 61 minutes. Ps, it took 2 hours. I wanted my prize. They gave us lunch, drinks etc. Plain and simple, this is a timeshare and they want you to buy in. They were persistent. It's a timeshare based on a point system. If you have $$$$, then they'll sink their teeth into you. We could've won a 3 day rental which was really 2 days. We took the cheap $20 tablet. It seemed like a nice place with nice rooms but this whole timeshare stuff wasn't for us. If you like food and drinks, then St. Martin is ok. I've been to Antigua and Curacao, and in my opinion, they were nicer. Car rentals are cheap but rooms arent. Buses are an inexpensive way to get around. I'm a realist.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Otdan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017


Hello,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community. We feel sorry that we left you a bad perception during your last trip to St.Maarten. We have worked for many years and it has always been our primary goal to provide excellent service to the guests who stay with us and the public in general

We are sorry that you had a bad experience with our brand. We will make every effort to address your comments and find different ideas to avoid situations like this in the future.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Simpson Bay Resort is located on the Dutch side in a great location. Yes there is a hill to go up and down but there is an available shuttle if you need it. Pools are very nice although the biggest one in back needs a little work but the bar is great and events are too. Rooms are all updated and very nice. The beach is adequate and smaller but you can go to any other beach on the island if you wish. The gym is an additional cost and is also updated nicely. The snorkeling, sightseeing etc cruises leave right from the dock at the resort. Great feature. There is a store right on property which is convenient. Staff was great while I was there. Spent 2 weeks in April and 2 weeks in November there. Casino is on property also. It's small but it is available. I'm not an owner so no reason to sell the property. Just giving an honest opinion. You really can't be disappointed here.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Serge,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community. It has been a privilege to have you as a valuable member over these years.

We have always made sure to provide all our members and guests with the best quality work. Here in Simpson Bay Resort & Marina we consider every members and guest as part of the family.

It feels great when we are able to meet your expectations. We hope to vacationing together for many coming years. Any time you feel that we need to bring some changes in the quality of work we deliver, please let us know. We would be more than happy to receive your valuable suggestions.

Have a wonderful day and kind regards from sunny St. Maarten.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017

The room was perfect for 3 girls traveling together. Murphy beds were fun. Room was clean and perfect for making drinks and light meals. Great view from the balcony. The pizza place above piano bar is really yummy. Check-in desk staff could get it together a little bit, but island time...what can you do?

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank HappyTraveler510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community and thank you for giving Simpson Bay Resort & Marina the opportunity to be your chosen resort for your recent trip to St.Maarten with your friends.

We are happy that you were pleased with the service and our accommodations. We appreciate your comments, insofar as that is the best means that we have for learning first hand if the representations of quality that are made to us are accurate.

We will look forward to hearing from you and hope that you will afford us the opportunity to serve you again.


Kind regards from sunny St. Maarten,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

This will be our third year in a row staying in St Maarten.We arrive on January 28th. We absolutely love it. We stay
at Simpson Bay Resort because it is close to everything. We do rent a little car to get around the island. The resort is a little hilly but a little walking is good for you. Or drive
Tons of wonderful restaraunts at the bottom of the resort. We will be there for the Superbowl (third year) and Buckaneers host a fun time on the beach for it. They have large screen televisions and serve up wings and great food. The rooms have all been refurbished very modern. Each room has a full kitchen with all new appliances. There is restaurants, laundry facilities , Deli etc for all of your needs.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank lovelife53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerardo G, Online Reputation Manager at Simpson Bay Resort & Marina, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2017

Dear Al,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us and the community. We would like to take a moment to thank you for your selection of Simpson Bay Resort & Marina as your accommodations of choice when you visited St.Maarten.

You are one of our valued guests, and it was always a pleasure and an honor to serve you again after this three years. Your trust and preference is what we owe the success of our resort.

Our sincere appreciation of your patronage cannot be overstated. I want to assure you that we will continue to do all we can to justify your confidence in Simpson Bay Resort & Marina.

Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0 km away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
1.5 km away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
8.2 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.2 km away
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
406 reviews
5.3 km away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range: ₹ 6,815 - ₹ 20,510 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing