We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Commodore Suites(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 156
US$ 150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atrium Beach Resort and Spa(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Baker's Suites(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 117
US$ 112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Azure Hotel & Art Studio(Simpson Bay)(Great Value!)
US$ 131
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beacon Hill Towers(Simpson Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Eduardo's Inn(Simpson Bay)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (1,312)
Filter reviews
1,312 results
Traveller rating
471
474
223
90
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
471
474
223
90
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewson sitetime sharefull kitchengrocery storebon appetitemain buildingmurphy bedliving roomsales pitchbeach bartennis courtspersonal conciergetimeshare presentationwater activitiesst maartensunset cruiseocean view
Filter
Updating list...
1,090 - 1,095 of 1,312 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were in the B building facing the ocean on the second floor and it had a spectacular view. The rooms smelled so fresh and clean too. Our patio was about 20x15 which was more than enough for quiet get-togethers with some other friendly guests and gorgeous views of the sunsets. Our pool was clean and conveniently close to our room. There are several pools on the landscaped grounds.
We had a small medical emergency and the hotel sent their free hotel shuttle bus to pick us up. We thought they would take us to the reception area to pick up a taxi, instead, the shuttle driver Antoine took us directly to the hospital and WAITED for us and drove us back. They didn't have to do this and it was so much appreciated. We'll never forget our driver, Antoine who showed so much concern. In fact, ALL of the staff we encountered were so friendly and kind. The restaurants at the resort are very good but a special shout out to The Stone and Bon Appetit. There is also a small bakery behind Bon Appetit
that has a woman with golden hands that makes the most delicious croissants, french bread and to die for pastries. What a special treat!
Day cruises to St. Barths,Marigot,Sabo and Phillipsburg are readily available at the resort dock. We didn't use the Scuba tour but our neighbors went frequently and loved them. All these trips are very well organized.
This was our first time to St. Maarten and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: This resort has been around awhile so it would be wise to request the remodeled suites.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Carolynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

April 15, 2012
Our family of four just returned LAST NIGHT from St. Maarten and had an amazing time.

Tips on Simpson Bay Resort and Marina - Pay for the upgrade to the Villas (believe we paid around $450/wk above our RCI time share exchange rate) and it was well worth it. Had a 2 bedroom on the 5th floor with a view of the bay/marina. It is supposedly a few years old with all granite in the kitchens/baths, large bathrooms/kitchens, large balconies overlooking the bay (2 separate balconies) and huge rooms/comfy beds.

Car: Highly recommend you get a car. Some people say you don't need it but it was awesome as you can explore the entire island and EVERY beach on the island is like a new vacation. (some surrounded by green mountains, some surrounded by cliffs, some were long stretches of beach with tons of activity/people and others were just smaller coves...just stunning).

Beaches:
Loved Mullet Bay (beautiful and a cliff on one end where you can hike and take panoramic pictures). Heard the locals love it here. (heard from our bartender at Simpson Bay)
Loved Dawn Beach (crystal clear water and great for snorkeling); the Westin is located on Dawn beach.
Loved Cupecoy Beach. Tucked away and surrounded by huge cliffs and caves. Just cool to see and explore.
Enjoyed Friar's Beach (snorkeling), Baie Rouge, and Orient Beach (partial nudity).
Enjoyed Mojo Beach for the experience of the jets flying above.
Enjoyed day at Pinel Island ($7/pp ferry ride) and 2 restaurants on island; other half is uninhabited.
Enjoyed Anquilla snorkeling trip via catamaran via Aqua Mania.

Restaurants: Favorites were Pineapple Petes (crab stuffed grouper, fish and chips), Skipjacks (everything!) and French Bakery in Simpson Bay near Fed Ex (La Succiere or something like that). Also enjoyed Greenhouse and Cafe on the Bay for $5/appetizers and $3 martinis during happy hour such as shrimp tempura, calamari, etc. Loved the Carousel ice cream/gelato place in Simpson Bay...also enjoyed Rosie's Shack on Mullet Bay where you could get a plate of chicken, rice with red beans and fried plaintains for $7. Food was awesome. Look for happy hour deals or early bird specials to help with the costs. We had a full kitchen so ate breakfast in or just ventured out for late lunch/early dinner depending on where we were for the day (there's a grocery store right by Burger King..)

Excursions: 1) 2.5 hr sunset cruise on a 65' catamaran for $15/pp via Aqua Mania on Mon night including your Rum punch (great way to see the different beaches from the water and just relaxing), 2) Snorkeling trip to Anguilla (actually snorkled at Prickly Pear) and had lunch in Anguilla (9-5pm) - fun trip & boat ride and 3) Pinel Island (you can go for an hour or a day as there is a ferry that leaves every 30 min. ($7/pp round trip). My husband loved it...I personally would love to see all the beaches versus just spend a day in one place.

Other Tips at Simpson Bay: Take advantage of free kayaks (something fun to do with the kids); Also bought fishing poles so the kids could enjoy or even fish from the kayaks. Bring a cooler if you can so you can pack food/drinks and take with you if you decide to explore the beaches for the day.

Had a great time. Will go back in a few years!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
18  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Wonderful resort but lots of polotics at this place, it has been around a long time, recently changed names due to issues with old owners and courts. Currently being maneged by Royal Resorts which is a capable organization in my oppinion (been to their resorts in Mexico). Beyond the politics this place has so so much potential. Many units are in great shape but others need updating and repair. There did not seem to be much rym nor reason with regard to this as the good, the bad and the ugly existed in the same buildings. I am sure that the buildings which have been completely renovated contain all nice units, and I can tell you that the newer buildings in the front are incredible (where check in is located). Regarding the service, it was great, friendly staff, and if you have any significant complaints see MARCEL, one of the managers. He saved the day getting us into a very nice unit. Made turning "60" less painful!!! Thanks Marcel. So much to see and do in St Maarten. Best tour: Sunset / dinner combo on the Passat; Best restaurant: Le Moulin Rou (The Crazy Windmill), second to this the Lottery Farm restaurant. Best deal / ribs in Grand Casa at "Talk of the Town"; best beach: Orient; best overall experience the Lottery Farm - Zip line, restaurant, swim area, and views from pic paradise. Hope we get back there in 2014 for a 2 week stint - one of my favorite islands. We are to visit the island via a cruz in January 2013 - Zip line EXTREME here I come!!!!

Room Tip: Tuff to be certain your getting a good room due to fact some rooms much better than others and there are good and bad (in need of repair) in the same buildings. Check to see if room was recently renovated and I believe I would avoid first floor units as they seemed more likely to be in need of TLC (at least from the outside) - again this was spotty. Note that roooms are being renovated from what I was told.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank susiesquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This complex is the best place to stay if you are on the Dutch side of the island. It's only a short drive from the airport and if you rent a car from Tropicana Car Rental's, they will come pick you up at the airport. The resort is very convenient to restaurants ( Lee's, Topper's, Skip Jacks) and to grocery stores and Burger King. The landscaping on the resort was beautiful. I didn't smell any sewage. I did smell a lot of jasmine and other flowers that were blooming everywhere. I had a great time there and couldn't find anything negative about the place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank psumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We made the trip to St. Maarten for the first time with 3 adults and a teenager. My friend cashed in a timeshare option so we could have two rooms. Simpson Bay Resort is convenient to the airport, and there are lots of restaurants, bars and a very nice grocery store within walking distant. But there is a very relaxed and quiet atmosphere about the property. It was not overly crowded even though it was Spring Break; we were always able to get lounge chairs and umbrellas at the beach and get seated at restaurants. There is a convenience store, several bars and restaurants on site so you never have to leave. The view is over Simpson Bay and the ocean so you can sit and watch yacht and sailboat traffic all day and stay for the terrific sunsets.
Our room was clean and spacious. We had a fully appointed kitchen area and were able to fix lunches and several dinners in the room. Our patio on the second floor had a spectacular view and was the perfect spot for breakfast. We did have a non-functioning blowdryer that was never replaced despite several calls. Otherwise, perfect for couples or families.
The stores and restaurants on site are no more expensive than out on town. There are plenty of pools and the beach is wonderful. In the evening, people were fishing off the jetty. Be sure to stop in Toppers on the Beach for your sunset cocktail!
This was definitely an older crowd at this resort - age 50 and up - and very few kids and teenagers. There were not a lot of activities available but they did have live music at the beach or one of the pools several times a week.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely return to this resort.

Room Tip: We were placed in Bouganvillia building facing the Bay and had the absolute best views. Ask for the second floor.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lauracvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews