We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simpson Bay Resort St Martin a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We spent a week here very nice condos beach a five minute walk great beach plenty of restaurants within walking distance. We did not rent a car chose to take local buses great way to travel went to the famous airport on St Martin Sat at the Sunset Beach Bar it was fun watching the airplanes coming in over the beach and all the people

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sandie65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,029 of 1,242 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

We were in the B building facing the ocean on the second floor and it had a spectacular view. The rooms smelled so fresh and clean too. Our patio was about 20x15 which was more than enough for quiet get-togethers with some other friendly guests and gorgeous views of the sunsets. Our pool was clean and conveniently close to our room. There are several pools on the landscaped grounds.
We had a small medical emergency and the hotel sent their free hotel shuttle bus to pick us up. We thought they would take us to the reception area to pick up a taxi, instead, the shuttle driver Antoine took us directly to the hospital and WAITED for us and drove us back. They didn't have to do this and it was so much appreciated. We'll never forget our driver, Antoine who showed so much concern. In fact, ALL of the staff we encountered were so friendly and kind. The restaurants at the resort are very good but a special shout out to The Stone and Bon Appetit. There is also a small bakery behind Bon Appetit
that has a woman with golden hands that makes the most delicious croissants, french bread and to die for pastries. What a special treat!
Day cruises to St. Barths,Marigot,Sabo and Phillipsburg are readily available at the resort dock. We didn't use the Scuba tour but our neighbors went frequently and loved them. All these trips are very well organized.
This was our first time to St. Maarten and we can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: This resort has been around awhile so it would be wise to request the remodeled suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Carolynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

April 15, 2012
Our family of four just returned LAST NIGHT from St. Maarten and had an amazing time.

Tips on Simpson Bay Resort and Marina - Pay for the upgrade to the Villas (believe we paid around $450/wk above our RCI time share exchange rate) and it was well worth it. Had a 2 bedroom on the 5th floor with a view of the bay/marina. It is supposedly a few years old with all granite in the kitchens/baths, large bathrooms/kitchens, large balconies overlooking the bay (2 separate balconies) and huge rooms/comfy beds.

Car: Highly recommend you get a car. Some people say you don't need it but it was awesome as you can explore the entire island and EVERY beach on the island is like a new vacation. (some surrounded by green mountains, some surrounded by cliffs, some were long stretches of beach with tons of activity/people and others were just smaller coves...just stunning).

Beaches:
Loved Mullet Bay (beautiful and a cliff on one end where you can hike and take panoramic pictures). Heard the locals love it here. (heard from our bartender at Simpson Bay)
Loved Dawn Beach (crystal clear water and great for snorkeling); the Westin is located on Dawn beach.
Loved Cupecoy Beach. Tucked away and surrounded by huge cliffs and caves. Just cool to see and explore.
Enjoyed Friar's Beach (snorkeling), Baie Rouge, and Orient Beach (partial nudity).
Enjoyed Mojo Beach for the experience of the jets flying above.
Enjoyed day at Pinel Island ($7/pp ferry ride) and 2 restaurants on island; other half is uninhabited.
Enjoyed Anquilla snorkeling trip via catamaran via Aqua Mania.

Restaurants: Favorites were Pineapple Petes (crab stuffed grouper, fish and chips), Skipjacks (everything!) and French Bakery in Simpson Bay near Fed Ex (La Succiere or something like that). Also enjoyed Greenhouse and Cafe on the Bay for $5/appetizers and $3 martinis during happy hour such as shrimp tempura, calamari, etc. Loved the Carousel ice cream/gelato place in Simpson Bay...also enjoyed Rosie's Shack on Mullet Bay where you could get a plate of chicken, rice with red beans and fried plaintains for $7. Food was awesome. Look for happy hour deals or early bird specials to help with the costs. We had a full kitchen so ate breakfast in or just ventured out for late lunch/early dinner depending on where we were for the day (there's a grocery store right by Burger King..)

Excursions: 1) 2.5 hr sunset cruise on a 65' catamaran for $15/pp via Aqua Mania on Mon night including your Rum punch (great way to see the different beaches from the water and just relaxing), 2) Snorkeling trip to Anguilla (actually snorkled at Prickly Pear) and had lunch in Anguilla (9-5pm) - fun trip & boat ride and 3) Pinel Island (you can go for an hour or a day as there is a ferry that leaves every 30 min. ($7/pp round trip). My husband loved it...I personally would love to see all the beaches versus just spend a day in one place.

Other Tips at Simpson Bay: Take advantage of free kayaks (something fun to do with the kids); Also bought fishing poles so the kids could enjoy or even fish from the kayaks. Bring a cooler if you can so you can pack food/drinks and take with you if you decide to explore the beaches for the day.

Had a great time. Will go back in a few years!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
18  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Wonderful resort but lots of polotics at this place, it has been around a long time, recently changed names due to issues with old owners and courts. Currently being maneged by Royal Resorts which is a capable organization in my oppinion (been to their resorts in Mexico). Beyond the politics this place has so so much potential. Many units are in great shape but others need updating and repair. There did not seem to be much rym nor reason with regard to this as the good, the bad and the ugly existed in the same buildings. I am sure that the buildings which have been completely renovated contain all nice units, and I can tell you that the newer buildings in the front are incredible (where check in is located). Regarding the service, it was great, friendly staff, and if you have any significant complaints see MARCEL, one of the managers. He saved the day getting us into a very nice unit. Made turning "60" less painful!!! Thanks Marcel. So much to see and do in St Maarten. Best tour: Sunset / dinner combo on the Passat; Best restaurant: Le Moulin Rou (The Crazy Windmill), second to this the Lottery Farm restaurant. Best deal / ribs in Grand Casa at "Talk of the Town"; best beach: Orient; best overall experience the Lottery Farm - Zip line, restaurant, swim area, and views from pic paradise. Hope we get back there in 2014 for a 2 week stint - one of my favorite islands. We are to visit the island via a cruz in January 2013 - Zip line EXTREME here I come!!!!

Room Tip: Tuff to be certain your getting a good room due to fact some rooms much better than others and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank susiesquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This complex is the best place to stay if you are on the Dutch side of the island. It's only a short drive from the airport and if you rent a car from Tropicana Car Rental's, they will come pick you up at the airport. The resort is very convenient to restaurants ( Lee's, Topper's, Skip Jacks) and to grocery stores and Burger King. The landscaping on the resort was beautiful. I didn't smell any sewage. I did smell a lot of jasmine and other flowers that were blooming everywhere. I had a great time there and couldn't find anything negative about the place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank psumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
8.4 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
0.0 km away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
1.5 km away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Mercure Saint-Martin Marina & Spa
3.9 km away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
8.8 km away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range: ₹ 7,050 - ₹ 21,538 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing