We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simpson Bay Resort and Marina - The Villas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Reviewed 15 April 2012

April 15, 2012
Our family of four just returned LAST NIGHT from St. Maarten and had an amazing time.

Tips on Simpson Bay Resort and Marina - Pay for the upgrade to the Villas (believe we paid around $450/wk above our RCI time share exchange rate) and it was well worth it. Had a 2 bedroom on the 5th floor with a view of the bay/marina. It is supposedly a few years old with all granite in the kitchens/baths, large bathrooms/kitchens, large balconies overlooking the bay (2 separate balconies) and huge rooms/comfy beds.

Car: Highly recommend you get a car. Some people say you don't need it but it was awesome as you can explore the entire island and EVERY beach on the island is like a new vacation. (some surrounded by green mountains, some surrounded by cliffs, some were long stretches of beach with tons of activity/people and others were just smaller coves...just stunning).

Beaches:
Loved Mullet Bay (beautiful and a cliff on one end where you can hike and take panoramic pictures). Heard the locals love it here. (heard from our bartender at Simpson Bay)
Loved Dawn Beach (crystal clear water and great for snorkeling); the Westin is located on Dawn beach.
Loved Cupecoy Beach. Tucked away and surrounded by huge cliffs and caves. Just cool to see and explore.
Enjoyed Friar's Beach (snorkeling), Baie Rouge, and Orient Beach (partial nudity).
Enjoyed Mojo Beach for the experience of the jets flying above.
Enjoyed day at Pinel Island ($7/pp ferry ride) and 2 restaurants on island; other half is uninhabited.
Enjoyed Anquilla snorkeling trip via catamaran via Aqua Mania.

Restaurants: Favorites were Pineapple Petes (crab stuffed grouper, fish and chips), Skipjacks (everything!) and French Bakery in Simpson Bay near Fed Ex (La Succiere or something like that). Also enjoyed Greenhouse and Cafe on the Bay for $5/appetizers and $3 martinis during happy hour such as shrimp tempura, calamari, etc. Loved the Carousel ice cream/gelato place in Simpson Bay...also enjoyed Rosie's Shack on Mullet Bay where you could get a plate of chicken, rice with red beans and fried plaintains for $7. Food was awesome. Look for happy hour deals or early bird specials to help with the costs. We had a full kitchen so ate breakfast in or just ventured out for late lunch/early dinner depending on where we were for the day (there's a grocery store right by Burger King..)

Excursions: 1) 2.5 hr sunset cruise on a 65' catamaran for $15/pp via Aqua Mania on Mon night including your Rum punch (great way to see the different beaches from the water and just relaxing), 2) Snorkeling trip to Anguilla (actually snorkled at Prickly Pear) and had lunch in Anguilla (9-5pm) - fun trip & boat ride and 3) Pinel Island (you can go for an hour or a day as there is a ferry that leaves every 30 min. ($7/pp round trip). My husband loved it...I personally would love to see all the beaches versus just spend a day in one place.

Other Tips at Simpson Bay: Take advantage of free kayaks (something fun to do with the kids); Also bought fishing poles so the kids could enjoy or even fish from the kayaks. Bring a cooler if you can so you can pack food/drinks and take with you if you decide to explore the beaches for the day.

Had a great time. Will go back in a few years!

Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
18  Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,034 - 1,038 of 1,250 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2012

Wonderful resort but lots of polotics at this place, it has been around a long time, recently changed names due to issues with old owners and courts. Currently being maneged by Royal Resorts which is a capable organization in my oppinion (been to their resorts in Mexico). Beyond the politics this place has so so much potential. Many units are in great shape but others need updating and repair. There did not seem to be much rym nor reason with regard to this as the good, the bad and the ugly existed in the same buildings. I am sure that the buildings which have been completely renovated contain all nice units, and I can tell you that the newer buildings in the front are incredible (where check in is located). Regarding the service, it was great, friendly staff, and if you have any significant complaints see MARCEL, one of the managers. He saved the day getting us into a very nice unit. Made turning "60" less painful!!! Thanks Marcel. So much to see and do in St Maarten. Best tour: Sunset / dinner combo on the Passat; Best restaurant: Le Moulin Rou (The Crazy Windmill), second to this the Lottery Farm restaurant. Best deal / ribs in Grand Casa at "Talk of the Town"; best beach: Orient; best overall experience the Lottery Farm - Zip line, restaurant, swim area, and views from pic paradise. Hope we get back there in 2014 for a 2 week stint - one of my favorite islands. We are to visit the island via a cruz in January 2013 - Zip line EXTREME here I come!!!!

Room Tip: Tuff to be certain your getting a good room due to fact some rooms much better than others and there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank susiesquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This complex is the best place to stay if you are on the Dutch side of the island. It's only a short drive from the airport and if you rent a car from Tropicana Car Rental's, they will come pick you up at the airport. The resort is very convenient to restaurants ( Lee's, Topper's, Skip Jacks) and to grocery stores and Burger King. The landscaping on the resort was beautiful. I didn't smell any sewage. I did smell a lot of jasmine and other flowers that were blooming everywhere. I had a great time there and couldn't find anything negative about the place.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank psumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We made the trip to St. Maarten for the first time with 3 adults and a teenager. My friend cashed in a timeshare option so we could have two rooms. Simpson Bay Resort is convenient to the airport, and there are lots of restaurants, bars and a very nice grocery store within walking distant. But there is a very relaxed and quiet atmosphere about the property. It was not overly crowded even though it was Spring Break; we were always able to get lounge chairs and umbrellas at the beach and get seated at restaurants. There is a convenience store, several bars and restaurants on site so you never have to leave. The view is over Simpson Bay and the ocean so you can sit and watch yacht and sailboat traffic all day and stay for the terrific sunsets.
Our room was clean and spacious. We had a fully appointed kitchen area and were able to fix lunches and several dinners in the room. Our patio on the second floor had a spectacular view and was the perfect spot for breakfast. We did have a non-functioning blowdryer that was never replaced despite several calls. Otherwise, perfect for couples or families.
The stores and restaurants on site are no more expensive than out on town. There are plenty of pools and the beach is wonderful. In the evening, people were fishing off the jetty. Be sure to stop in Toppers on the Beach for your sunset cocktail!
This was definitely an older crowd at this resort - age 50 and up - and very few kids and teenagers. There were not a lot of activities available but they did have live music at the beach or one of the pools several times a week.
The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely return to this resort.

Room Tip: We were placed in Bouganvillia building facing the Bay and had the absolute best views. Ask for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lauracvit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

The villa's at Simpson Bay are very nice units, with a great view of the water. Unfortunately you have a frequent smell that makes being on the balcony unappealing. The smell is sewage. We cannot believe that no one else writes about this. The resort and the rooms are really nice, our room is one of the cleanest we've ever stayed in and the staff was great.
The island is very sad and dirty. The sewage smell is everywhere some places like Friar Bay Beach it is so bad you cannot stay on the beach. We will not return to this island, the only saving grace to this vacation was the Simpson Bay Resort.

Room Tip: As far as we can figure it, you must pay to upgrade to get a nicer unit in the Villa's. It is wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucketGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Simpson Bay
0 km away
The Villas at Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina
1.5 km away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
8.2 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#1 of 8 in Oyster Pond
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.2 km away
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
Azure Hotel & Art Studio
#1 of 7 in Simpson Bay
406 reviews
5.3 km away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#8 of 12 in Philipsburg
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson Bay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson Bay Resort & Marina

Address: Billy Folly Road #37, Simpson Bay, St Martin / St Maarten
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Simpson Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Simpson Bay
Price Range: ₹ 6,828 - ₹ 20,549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Simpson Bay Resort & Marina 4*
Number of rooms: 342
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking Simpson Bay, one of the most popular spots on St. Maarten, Simpson Bay Resort & Marina is a peaceful Mediterranean-style holiday village offering comfortable suites and all the services guests could possibly need during their Caribbean vacation. With a sheltered private beach, five pools and colorful gardens full of bougainvillea, hibiscus and Allamanda, Simpson Bay Beach Resort & Marina is a captivating island hideaway where you can enjoy the best family vacation ever. A varied activity program, tennis courts, a spa, water sports, dining and evening entertainment make it a favorite with visitors of all ages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simpson Bay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson Bay Resort And Marina
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina Hotel Simpson Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing