We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,355)
Filter reviews
1,355 results
Traveller rating
497
481
230
92
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
497
481
230
92
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on site time share full kitchen grocery store bon appetite murphy bed living room main building sales pitch piano bar tennis courts personal concierge timeshare presentation water activities sunset cruise st maarten ocean view
Filter
Updating list...
1,138 - 1,143 of 1,355 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2012

Didn't know what to expect after reading some of the reviews, but this resort had it all. The place was very clean and staff were always cleaning and sprucing up the grounds. Plenty of choices for food and drink at all price points (you could even get take out for your room) and you could walk down to Simpson Bay and add to the options. Grocery store on site was terrific. We had breakfast, snack items and beverages to enjoy on our balcony along with the daily trip to the French Bakery at 7 am for warm croissants and apple turnovers. Always have an issue with finding a pool or beach chair at other resorts or cruises but NOT HERE ! Plenty of options for sun or shade at the pools or beaches. You could shop for jewelry, souvenirs and have nightly entertainment of music and casino all on your own schedule. A nice mix of tours and activities available at Aquamania right at the resort mixed in with relaxing whenever you wanted. All of the staff were helpful and friendly. Would recommend this to folks who like cruising but without the hassle of being on a boat with 3,000 people.

Room Tip: The upper buildings are quite a hike down to the beach, restaurants and stores but they probably have a lovely view. We stayed in 2br, 2 bath in Diefenbachia building and it was a great location.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank joybarHope_RI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We booked our room here through our interval international timeshare trade. There were 2 adults and 3 kids and we stayed for 10 days. The day we arrived we were checked in and given our keys to room, no problems. Our room was a little dated, but nice and spacious and had a large deck and view of the water. We unpacked our things for our stay, but at 7am the very next day we were awakened by knocks on our door giving us new keys and information that we would have to move to a different room. We went and visited the room we were being moved to, I am not picky but it was absolutely disgusting. It smelled, had no AC, was very outdated, had a view of a casino and there was still garbage in our trash cans. I went to the front office and was told there was nothing they could do, unless we wanted to pay for an upgraded room in the newer, water view rooms that were built directly in front of the older part of the hotel. We paid to upgrade, to insure we wouldnt be moved again (which they could not guarentee with the old room). The rest of vavation was great after moving to the new, upgraded room but it was very frustrating not only packing back up our (and kids' items) and moving rooms but also dealing with the rude front desk staff (the woman manager was actually worse than the staff). We visited all over the island & honestly the staff at Simpson Bay Resort were the only local people we met that were rude.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank love2travel98087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

The resort is spreadout over a large area so if you do not want to walk then this is not a resort for you. We had a room in the "M" building which was close to the beach and had a great view but the room smelled mouldy. We decided to give it a try but in the morning went to the front desk and asked them what they could do to lessen the odour. They showed us another room or said they could bring in a machine to get rid of the smell. After seeing the wonderful ocean view in the "B" building, we decided to switch rooms.. The "B" building seems to have been freshened up more recently then the "M" building. Watching the sunsets each night was a highlight. Pineapple Pete's on the main drag was amazing. The grocery store right on site was a great. The front desk, bellman and staff were helpful. And the beach area is fantastic! Plus, we took the Monday morning bus tour of the Island which was great for first-timers in the area. Orient Beach was comical for us Canadian gals who kept our swimsuits firmly in place despite the nudity of the other beach patrons. Aquamania, which is on-site, provides an excursion around the west side of the Island that ends at Pinel Island. We snorkled and stopped at Long Beach as well. All in all. It was a great time. If the beauty of your room is important to you then this is not the place for you. If the beach is important then you will love this resort! Happy Travelling!

Room Tip: B has a great view of the ocean but keep in mind that it is at the top of a hill.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

We just returned from the SBM&R and based on some of the comments were unsure of what we would find. I cannot image what the issues were with the negative comments. We traveled with 2 other couples and we all agreed that we would return. This is unusual for us because we have the attitude that there is a big world out there and we do not have to repeat vacations. But, we had such a great time we can all see returning.
The rooms (we did not all stay in the same rooms or buildings) were great. The pools (all 6) were exceptional. Happy hour runs from 12:00 Noon to 7 PM (you can’t beat that). There is the Red Piano Bar that has entertainment every night and you must hear the artists that they bring in!
The casino is so much fun and you can register for a free card that they put 2000 points on just to get the card. If you earn just another 500 points you can cash it in for $12.50 on your last visit. As you earn greater points the amount you can cash it in for increases! The best part is that the wait staff keeps coming around offering free drinks all night. They clean up constantly to keep the casino free from empty cups. The only negative is that you need to remember you are not in the US and smoking is allowed in the casino.
The restaurants were all fantastic, with the exception of the Boss. We went to Boss one night and they didn’t have most of the menu items, the wait staff seemed bothered by our presence and they informed us that there were limited drinks available from the bar. Other than that, we had great meals for very reasonable prices. One well-kept secret is the fresh made French pastry every morning from the Alexander restaurant. We found out about the pastry half way through the week. You need to go early in the morning (they open at 7 AM) because when the pastry is gone it is gone. If you have never had French pastry made by fresh daily by a French chef you have not lived.
The Aquamania (water sports desk) was so helpful. We took a trip over to St. Barts one day and it was one of the most beautiful islands we have seen so far of all the islands we have visited – and we are all well-traveled!
The jewelry store – Splash - on property also has stores in Phillipsburg. One of our travel companions, after 34 years of marriage, decided to purchase new wedding bans. They found them at the Phillipsburg Splash store. The store had the rings sized for them, as well as making some repairs to an owned diamond ring of the wife for free- and sent them to the store at the resort. The rings arrived later that day and when they went to pick them up the store clerks took pictures of them taking the rings out of the box, putting them on each other, etc. They made it a very special moment.
There is a free paper every morning where you pick up your fresh beach towels, the staff is outstanding – friendly and helpful, the grounds are impeccable maintained, the bars are fun and offer reasonably priced drinks, the beach is small but sports beautiful white sand outside azure warm water and the weather in February – March is warm and soft.
On Thursday night we had dinner on the beach at Toppers restaurant and were treated to a Broadway dance performance by a local dance school. It was well worth it and I would advise anyone going to consider taking advantage of the dinner and theater. You need to make reservations, however, because this event is a weekly sell out!

Room Tip: We were in the A building (room A1A) and it located near all the amenities. Our room was a corner room, with a direct walkout to a pool, three walls of windows, one overlooking the water. Our companions were in the D building and had a great balcony to sit on each night.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Everrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Two couples had a fabulous time. Great resort at an ideal location on the island. Have enjoed this resort for over 10 years and will continue to do so for many more years to come. Can't wait to go back again in May.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M1NOTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews