We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The room was sooo good and view sooo great. . .”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Flamingo Beach Resort
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The room was sooo good and view sooo great. . .”
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We thought they were playing an April fools joke on us. Seriously, we checked in on April 1st - and my "60th" was the next day. They just happened to put us in the room my husband and I thought would be perfect - without our putting in a request for this. What are the odds of this. The entire resort is wonderful but clearly it is great to have an ocean view. We got that and more. No matter where you are in the resort you can hear the waves breaking, enjoy the sun from your deck, and expect the best service. The pool is not huge but no problem getting a chair, the beach is busy, but again, no problem getting chairs and an umbrella. My husband and I enjoyed one of the best massages we have had for $100 for the 2 of us - this was the total not counting the tip - located between the pool area and the ocean, where the breeze and the sound of the waves are peak. There was entertainment in the pool area, fun excercise in the pool, and Bingo, as well as movie night outdoors, also by the pool. The Flamingo is located in one of the best areas of St. Maarten, there is much fun to be had in walking distance (in the event you like your Margarita's or feel the need to work off some of the great food you WILL eat on this island). We loved the Piano Bar - Jason you were the best and made my turning "60" less painful! Best breakfast was at ZEE Best restaurant; best meal: Le Moulin Rou (The Cracy Windmill); second to this the Lottery Farm Restaurant: Our best food experience - The Taste Factory with the most incredible pastries imaginable - one night we skipped dinner and just had deserts!!! We went on a wonderful Sunset Cruise on the Passat (one of my best sunset cruises ever) - intimate and memorable, and the food realy was outstanding. Best overall experience was at the Lottery Farm - had to do the Zip Line, I refused to let turning "60" stop me. It was a great experience, as was their restaurant, and the views from pic par just up the hill from the farm. Oh - best ever beach ORIENT, and one more BEST experience: spending time at the Sunset Beach Bar watching the planes come and go. Suggest you do this Friday - Sunday as the air traffic is non stop. This was one of our most memorable vacations and we hope we can make it back for a two week stint in 2014; the Flamingo Resort will be our first choice (and we have gone to other resorts in the Simpson Bay area). Between now and 2014 we are doing a cruise which stops in St. Maarten - gonna do some shopping in Philipsburg, then hit the EXTREME Zip Line at the Lottery Farm or maybe Orient beach.- or maybe all of the above . . Can'twait!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank susiesquash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    424
    516
    159
    69
    50
See reviews for
275
618
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

We own with Diamond Resorts and where lucky enough to spend a week here from 4-11-12 to 4-18-12. We had a great stay here. We did not have a ocean front room but had a decent view of the ocean to the side and the mountains as well as neighboring hotels. The room was nice had a king bed with a sofa sleeper that could be walled with sliding walls. It had a full kitchen which we did not use much but could see if someone wanted it could be an asset if you wanted to cook and eat in. The staff was for the most part very friendly. We had an issue with our toilet that was resolved within 10 minutes which was great. The beach at the resort was cozy but very calm and fun. You could snorkel there as well as swim. We never had a problem with getting a chair. The resort itself is not of 5 star quality which it seemed some people were told. It's nice and we loved it but don't expect 5 star quality. I'm thinking 3 and a half star at best. There is not daily maid service unless you pay extra. Don't use the phone in your room. It costs extra as well even locally. Wi Fi is in the lobby area only. Topper's the nearby bar and grill on the beach was a nice place to eat or have a drink. It has a decent 4-6 pm happy hour. It says that the resort is in Philipsburg but in reality it is on Simpson BAy and Philipsburg is a bit of a drive. There is plenty to do there in Simpson Bay. We love the Red Piano Bar and Carousel Ice Cream Shop. If you have any questions please ask me.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 7431. It's not beach front but it did have a new mattress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dager3585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
113 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

The Flamingo Beach resort (owned by Diamond Resorts) has changed through the years. It is a more casual and relaxed family-oriented resort than at the start. But, it is a great place to simply BE for a real vacation.

No demands, fantastic location (better all the time with new shops and businesses nearby).

We visited in Feb-March (4 weeks total). Our studio apartment was well kept, comfortable, and perfect for all our needs. We walk every morning in the residential area behind the resort up the hills and down, then through the Pelican for a few more steps and hills.

The new grocery at the base of the hill on Welfare Rd is outstanding. We rent a car by the day from Sunshine Car rentals--we walk to their location next to the police station just over the bridge. After all the years we have visited the resort and the island, we learned to stop adding a car to the parking lot and the streets and the traffic problems unless we need it!

This year we used the gym in the Royal Palm resort for workouts a few times a week (in addition to all the walking) and it was pretty good for a small gym (we brought our own sanitizing wipes--best to do so), but the equipment filled all our needs.

We cook nearly all our meals (staying 4 weeks requires that or we would ROLL home a little too fat and happy!). The studio kitchen is GREAT for cooking fresh and healthy meals and the balcony overlooking the Caribbean is the best dining room in the world!

We found the staff as great as ever and the overall condition of the facility pretty good. They will be doing some remodeling of public areas soon, so it should perk up a bit.

There are really good places to walk to for breakfast and lunch and the Toppers beach bistro onsite is a good place to grab a meal when you really don't want to cook. But, the pastry shops nearby are pretty tempting!

Our ONLY complaint (again this year) is that the resort has been reluctant to install wifi in the rooms. That means sitting in the "wifi lounge" or the lobby area to do connection to home. Since nearly everyone now uses skype to call home, it can be pretty distracting and noisy. I am taking grad courses and my husband has some consulting and board posts we need to keep up with (plus family contacts) so in a month, we need some good connections home. I hear people talking in the lounge all the time that they would gladly pay for a weekly passcode to have room access, but still no action. It's pretty archaic these days to not have good communciations, especially when the resorts next door have it....Come on guys!!

But, it was a wonderful vacation--if you are looking for elegant, it's not the place, but if you are looking for homey, comfortable, safe and relaxed, check out the Flamingo Beach Resort!

Room Tip: They do not have room service, it's timeshare/rental.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cafemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

We stayed at the resort for 1 week. April 1-7th, 2012. Our stay was wonderful! We rented 2 rooms. After reading previous posts, I too, checked for bedbugs. Absolutely no sign of them! As a matter of fact, the rooms were very crisp and clean. I couldn't have asked for a cleaner place!
We did have a little issue with the first set of rooms...they had bad locks on our rooms and the room keys would not unlock our rooms..even after 5 different sets of keys! So after talking to management, we ended up being moved to an even better Ocean-front rooms! The view was beautiful!
The employees could not have been nicer! They call St. Maarten "The Friendly Island" and Flamingo's employees certainly did live up to it!
I see in other posts, that some people were unhappy that they did not get Ocean Front rooms when they requested. Everyone requests Oceanfront! They need to understand that with Time-Shares, there is a "pecking order" First of all, there is only so many rooms with a view of the ocean. Secondly, Owners who purchased their timeshare at the Flamingo will have first pick. Second pick goes to other Diamond Resort Owners. Others who trade in from other resorts then would get 3rd pick. This is the way of the timeshare. It can get pretty complicated.
The food at Toppers was great! There is another Toppers on the main road and Skip Jacks.. all great, and all run by the same people.
The French restaurants on the North Side are excellent! Pricey, but expected for the food , atmosphere and food they serve! The place we ate at didn't look like much from the outside, but once you step into the restaurant..it was very elegant! I found this to be true at most places.
We rented cars and had a wonderful time. If you want to rent a car, just call or go on the internet and rent Dollar, Hertz, or any other car rental that is here in the US. They are all on the island. Pay for the full insurance, and there will be no argument when you turn in your car. Traffic can get hectic, and the locals are quite crazy drivers. Just be careful.
The island is a great vacation destination!

The only negative thing I can say about the Flamingo, is that when we called the desk for maintenance, it took several calls, and the maintenance staff is slow. We joked about "Island time"

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are hard to get. If you are not satisified, ask for William.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We have returned from a very enjoyable 10 days at this resort travelling to St Maarten from Heathrow via Paris with Air France. The Staff at the resort were all very helpful and friendly making us feel very welcome. The accomadation was to a high standard we were in Villa 3 top floor facing the resort and sea. The facilities were good, internet access in a room next to reception very clean pool and two beaches to choose from. Toppers Bars both had friendly staff the main resturant served very good food with different theme nights, everyone again very helpful and prices very reasonable. Close to resort you have a Deli selling all you need for eating in your appartment if you want prices again good, good resturants to eat out at including Hideaway, Bon Appetite, Stones, Toppers and Buccanners down the road. Also nearby casino and nightclub ( Red Piano), serving draught Guiness! We managed to visit Philipsburg and Maho Beach using the local bus service costs varied from $1.50- $3 each per trip each way. Bus/minibus was picked up from near to Burger king ask at reception for more details sure staff will help. Recommend this resort very highly relaxing holiday. Many thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosedene9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.3 km away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
1.6 km away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.5 km away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.7 km away
Royal Palm Beach Resort
Royal Palm Beach Resort
#1 of 2 in Cole Bay
907 reviews
3.0 km away
Sonesta Maho Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flamingo Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Resort

Property: Flamingo Beach Resort
Address: Billy Folly Road 6 | Pelican Cay, Simpson Bay, Philipsburg 29572, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Philipsburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,098 - ₹ 16,910
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Flamingo Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Beautiful white sand, sparkling blue waters, sunny skies - where else can you find all of this but in Saint Martin/Saint Maarten in the Caribbean? When you stay at Flamingo Beach Resort, you will have all of this, and more. Here you can have the most relaxing vacation of your life, or enjoy some of the many outdoor adventures in the area. If you love water sports, you can go windsurfing, swimming and snorkeling. See the scenery on horseback, or go for a hike along the many trails. You will never be bored while you are staying here, unless of course you simply want to sit back and do nothing, which you are more than welcome to do. Just imagine spending a week or longer just lying around on the beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Flamingo Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flamingo Beach Hotel Philipsburg
Flamingo Beach Resort St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Sunterra Flamingo Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing