We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“really good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Guana Bay Beach Villas
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“really good”
Reviewed 29 March 2011

I just want to say that my fiance and my parents travelled here last month and I too was hesitant to go with all the negative comments online that are posted. However, I must say that I was very impressed with the place. I was expecting a dump. It was very clean and spacious and I loved it. It has two floors so my fiance had our own little getaway spot up there. The pool was absolutely gorgeous overlooking the ocean. The view was incredible, though it's not safe to swim in guana bay, the beaches were great to walk. And there are SO many other great beaches to explore by car. We were all very impressed. Though it may not be a 5 start resort, it was still very clean and accomodating. I would rate it definately an upscale 3 1/2 to 4 for sure! Also, the owners were absolutely great. Very kind and welcoming and helpful. Definately need a car to get around and enjoy the island. We had a great time!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank larissa072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    13
    5
    6
    3
See reviews for
16
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2011

If you are interested in a quiet vacation, fantastic sun rises, the sound of the waves hiding the coral rock, not fighting the crowds for a lounge chair at the pool, then Sint Maartin’s Guana Bay Beach Villas should be added to your list of want to visit destination. You will need a car so that you can visit one or more of the 37 beaches each day, or go on one of the many boat excursions(snorkelling, sunset cruises) or out for a quiet dinner, or just a drive around the island or just relax by the pool. The rooms are big and overlook the ocean.

On your arrival, you are met by Max (the Manager) or one of his 3 Boys, who will check you in. Monday is Barbeque night (Cooked by Max) and an opportunity to meet the other guests. (Ribs, Chicken. Baked Potato and Salad for $12.00 per adult). Your daily routine can start with a morning walk on the beach to see the morning sunrise or watching it come up from your 14’ x 14’ deck(if you are an early riser), then breakfast in your unit, then off to a beach, then back to your unit for a swim in the pool, then out to dinner at Mark’s (all you can eat ribs), Greenhouse(happy hour 4-7) or Chesterfields. All located within 10 minutes of the Villas.
Guana Bay Beach Villas has 20 units ( 18-2 Bedrooms, 1–1 Bedroom and 1 Studio) – of which 12 units are privately own and the other 8 are GEO Timeshare units. The villas are located right on the edge of the Atlantic Ocean about 10 minutes from Phillipsburg where you can get fantastic deals on jewellery for your better half. All 2 Bedroom units have a view of one of Sint Maartin’s 37 Beaches (150 yard walk from your unit, the ocean and the sunrise.
For the best deal on Jewellery, we would suggest that you visit Manu at Caribbean Gems or his brother Deepu at Zhaveri Jewellers,both are located on Front Street in Philipsburg.
With all the reviews that I had been reading about St. Maarten re: safety, muggings, petty theft etc. I must disagree with a lot of what has been said, we have been visiting St. Maarten and the Guana Bay Resort for many, many years. The main roads are in great shape, the government continues to repair and fix potholes as the do many North American cities. Many of the secondary roads are the responsibility of the individual homeowners groups. The repaying of the main Guana Bay roads leading into the villas has recently completed. The Dutch Government has been installing roundabouts to improve traffic flow on the Dutch side and creating more parking space on the Salt Pond. We have not experienced any problems at all, no fear of walking around, the people were very friendly. Of course we take care in not being too flashy and do not leave things in our car and we lock our doors at night, just remember to act like you would at home while on vacation: Lock your doors, don’t leave things in your car especially at the many beaches.

Come, enjoy yourself at Guana Bay Villas in Sint Maartin.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
21 Thank workerbee2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

With all the reviews that I had been reading about St. Maarten re: safety, muggings, petty theft etc. I was dredding our trip to St. Maarten and also Guana Bay Resort. To my surprise and pleasantly so, we had a great trip, inspite of sleeping lightly the first night as we were sure there would be problems. We rented a car from Mickey at Tropicana Car Rental, no problems there, would recommend him to anyone travelling to St. Maarten. The roads were fine, none of those potholes that we read about, the places we visited we had no problems at all, no fear of walking around, the people were very friendly. Of course we took care in not being too flashy and keeping all our shopping in our car, just basic sensible steps.
The GEO resort we stayed at in Guana Bay, not one complaint. The rooms were clean, Max was very accommodating and on the ball with any requests we had. The only thing was the phone which didnt work for us. There is a public phone on the property which doesnt work too. The beach was great, but not for weak swimmers like me, so I just splashed about and walked on the beach which was never crowded like some of the other ones.
Food was great, fresh fish and variety of indian, caribbean, creole, french - just great. It turned out to be a most pleasant experience and we will not hesitate to go back to that resort.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jdsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafenwohr, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2011

First of all the pictures on the website are very decieveing, taken from certain angles that do not relect the true picture of this place. While the veiw from our balcony was very nice everything else was dreadful. Roaming dogs, unkept landscaping, villas falling apart etc. We stayed in unit #7, while the inside was nice and charming, the toilet seat was broken so when my wife sat down she almost hit her head on the sink. The TV in the living room was broken and had no reception (no biggie, i did not go to watch tv), we had ants in the kitchen the second day. Never met the onsite manager, his son gave me the key and that was it, i raised issues but never got an answer. While were sleeping on our 4th or 5th night the condo was broken into and our laptop along with all our cash was stolen, when i reported it to the managers wife (again i could not find the manager) she said and i quote "well i had nothing to do with it" so we packed our bags and went to a hotel in simpson bay!! when i turned the keys into the managers wife again she said "you are leaving and i said yes we were robbed in our sleep and i have a 4 y/o daughter, then she said ok whatever bye!!" Stay as far away from here as you can!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
19 Thank gpatte6424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Philipsburg hotels

Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2010

We stayed in Guy Estates for one week in December of 2010. The rooms were modern and spotless, the caretakers were gracious and pleasant, and we enjoyed the view of the bay, the pool and the spotless beach. The room has a wireless connection and a full kitchen. Guana Bay is peaceful and relaxing and we are definitely returning to stay at Guy Estates as soon as possible! The location is remote so if you are looking to escape the hustle and bustle of the typical resort scene you will find everything you need at Guy Estates.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank graduatestudies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
1.4 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
1.4 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
2.7 km away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Sea Palace Resort
Sea Palace Resort
#6 of 12 in Philipsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
8.6 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,765 reviews
4.4 km away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Guana Bay Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Guana Bay Beach Villas

Property: Guana Bay Beach Villas
Address: Guy Estates, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Philipsburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 24,156 - ₹ 26,093
Hotel Class:3 star — Guana Bay Beach Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Guana Bay Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guana Bay Beach Villas Hotel Philipsburg
Guana Bay Beach Villas St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing