We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best we could get was pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea View Beach Hotel
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best we could get was pretty good”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My wife and I decided to stay a couple of days before and a day after a cruise out of St Maarten. We didn't realize that it was the week of the Heineken Sailing Regatta, so it was really hard to find a hotel. I must admit that we only booked into the Sea View because it was all we could find for a couple of days at a time that was not a preposterous price. The busy time also forced us to fly from Toronto via Atlanta as the only remaining direct flights were $500 more. As appears to be somewhat the norm, our luggage stayed in Atlanta. The people in the hotel were helpful and welcoming and, after negotiating a shabby corridor we were shown to a clean, comfortable and well air-conditioned beachfront room. The Friday night was party night in Phillipsburg for the Regatta and we watched and listened to the excitement from "our" balcony, which was actually the end of the balcony that accessed the second floor rooms, but had a table and chairs. Meanwhile, the very kind lady on the front desk spent a lot of time and effort tracing our luggage which had come in on the next day's Delta flight and been given to a taxi driver who did not deliver it for about 4 hours - I guess until one of his fares took him past our hotel.
They are in the process of refurbishing this hotel. The vanity and sink in our room had been changed in the week we were away and they were preparing to repave the courtyard. We didn't stay there by design, but we'd book in there if we were going back to St Maarten and wanted to stay in Phillipsburg rather than in one of the many luxurious and fairly expensive resorts.

Room Tip: The beachfront rooms are lovely but more expensive. Don't be afraid of street side rooms as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peterborough_People
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    39
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
6
29
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Seaview hotel is right on the beach, the Boardwak, Front Street. Staff is friendly and very helpful. View is superb. You are one block from catching a bus to anywhere on the island for far less than a taxi cost. In the daytime, you are int he middle of everything. However, Philipsburg mainly serves cruise ships and much of the town essentially closes down for the evening (after 6 pm) when the cruise passengers have to return to the ship.

Room Tip: Beach view are beautiful but more expensive. This is not an all inclusive resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DelphineTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

I had two separate stays here of one night each. The first night I arrived and they did not have my reservation paid for through Expedia. I had brought a hard copy of the reservation with me so they gave me the room I supposedly had reserved. Hard to say where the communication broke down on that. The room itself was very basic, but that's fine. There was no hot water in the bathroom - the knob on the shower for hot just spun - completely none functional. There was a huge roach (about a 3 inch body) in the hallway, but this is the tropics and there were no bugs in the room itself. About 4am there was a prolonged disturbance in the hallway of about 15 minutes of someone banging to be let into a room. Seemed like the hotel staff should have put a stop to it. On a good note, they successfully had a taxi there at the agreed time to take me to the airport. I was not looking forward to returning to this place two days later.

My return visit was quite different. Still had to show my hardcopy of the reservation for my stay, but they made a mistake and put me in one of their best rooms. It looked right out over the boardwalk and the next morning I watched as three cruise ships pulled in to port. No bugs in sight this time, hot water in the shower, everything worked in the room. It had a table and chairs by the door overlooking the boardwalk so it would be nice to sit outside. Basic room and a little run down, but quite pleasant.

The McDonalds across the street has free wi-fi.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCCMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto
Level Contributor
85 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2011

The Seaview Hotel is located right downtown Philipsburg on Front Street. Very convenient if you like shopping, but if taking a swim early morning is your thing, you could not ask for a better place. The hotel is right at the Boardwalk and another ten meters you are in the water. The hotel has a balcony/walkway with chairs and tables. Great for sitting and watching the pedestrians and having a glass of your favorite or as we do: share a baguette and cheese and you have your evening meal with a fabulous view. The hotel itself is not the Hilton nor the Ritz. Think of Motel 6 or Super 8. Room 60 was clean with a comfortable double bed and an extra single bed. Writing desk and a refrigerator. Bathroom had a nice shower but very simple. Other rooms that I looked at on the same floor, rooms #62, #63, #64 looked equally clean. The staff was very helpful and very friendly. One drawback, if you need to have access to your computer (internet) you must go to the lobby, but internet service is free and the lobby is nicely furnished and comfortable. We did not try breakfast at the hotel, but it is available. I am a coffee drinker and found a very nice place off Front Street next to the Court House, which is about 4 minutes walk from the hotel. When you get down the stairs go to the right. This place is called Kangaroo Court. Great expressos! And the staff is great here as well. If you have rented a car to get around, here is what you need to do concerning parking. There is no parking at the hotel and the clerk was not sure what to do with my car when I arrived. I wanted to check if the hotel had some arrangement with a parking lot. They don't! However I have been to Philipsburg before and knew my way around. Here is what you do if you are staying at the Seaview and have a car: at night you park in the government lot, located two blocks from Front Street (facing the court house walk away from the waterfront 2 blocks passing the Kangaroo Court cafe and the outdoor market and there it is. It is $1.00 US dollar to park from 7 pm to 7 am. From 7 am to 7 pm parking is $1.00 US per hour. BUT at the Salt Pond there is free parking, walk another block in the same direction. What I did was upon my return to the hotel I would park in the free lot, then transfer the car to the pay lot at 7pm ( I felt it was safer ) and the next day I would pick the car up for the day at, say 9 am and that cost me only $3 US dollars, a great bargain and I knew the car was safe. I enjoyed my stay at the Seaview. There are other hotels along the Boardwalk but quite a bit more expensive and as I am not in the room except for sleeping the Seaview Hotel is a Great deal.

Room Tip: Ask for room 60 or 59, they are not considered "sea View" rooms but they have a beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank friendlytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2011

Stayed in high season for just under $100 inc tax. Lobby and rooms are sparse but clean with excellent housekeeping. What separates this hotel, besides location and value, is the staff. Manager Conroy and Melodine at receptiion were consistently pleasant and helpful.

Others have given in depth reviews. Suffice to say I have cancelled a free night at a luxury out of town hotel to stay at the Seaview again in a week.

Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank FLTravel_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
0.5 km away
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
Pasanggrahan Royal Guesthouse
#5 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.3 km away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
0.3 km away
Sea Palace Resort
Sea Palace Resort
#6 of 12 in Philipsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Horizon View Beach Hotel
Horizon View Beach Hotel
#7 of 12 in Philipsburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
6.3 km away
Mary's Boon Beach Resort and Spa
5.0 km away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea View Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea View Beach Hotel

Property: Sea View Beach Hotel
Address: Front Street #85C, P.O. Box 965, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,297 - ₹ 8,656
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sea View Beach Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sea View Beach Hotel features beachfront rooms, which are all seconds away from a beautiful, white-sand beach, ocean view rooms and standard rooms, some of which give views of the capital, Philipsburg. The Hotel is located on the boardwalk in the heart of Philipsburg and is well-known for its world-renowned shopping, including many jewelry, souvenir and electronic stores. It is also within walking distance to four Casinos and many fabulous restaurants, fast-food outlets and the Cruise Ship Harbor.Our Breakfast Dining Room opens daily from 7:30am-11:00am. Sea View Beach Hotel has been recently converted to non-smoking with designated smoking areas within the property.High Speed Internet is Available at an Additional Cost.Sorry no pets allowed, check out time is 12:00 noon and check in time is 1:00pm.Must be 18 years or older to check in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Sea View Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel And Casino
Seaview Hotel Philipsburg
Sea View Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing