We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IF YOU'RE A BEACH LOVER...YOU'LL LOVE IT HERE!”
Review of Belair Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belair Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“IF YOU'RE A BEACH LOVER...YOU'LL LOVE IT HERE!”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We really did love it here at the Belair. We traded our RCI timeshare for 1 week in July. As other reviews stated..it is showing its age, but that doesn't take a thing away from it. The biggest complaint I have is that the rooms were musty, because it's on the ocean. The only way I could see this being rectified is by installing dehumidifiers. It isn't a "posh" hotel, but that didn't bother us. We were hardly in the room and all that we wanted and needed were supplied to us.

Pros: Right on one of the best beaches on the island. Little Bay beach is beautiful! Warm water, roomy beach, soft sand, no shells or rocks to step on, quiet, and they reserve your chairs for the week. If you are a beach person like me, this beach will get you in the zone fast. You can watch the cruise ships coming and going to Great Bay. I felt as if I had the beach to myself many times....soooo nice. No big crowds like we saw in Orient Beach and Great Bay...those were really pretty...but crowded! I hate a crowded beach...makes me insane. Little Bay was perfect....although it was off-season..maybe that's why it was quiet. Jodys Place is a nice grocery store on the property...came in handy a few times. Gingerbread Cafe was hit or miss...most of it good...the red snapper was excellent. It was nice to have somewhere to eat if you didn't feel like stepping out or cooking. Service was slow, although very friendly.The unit had plenty of storage, beds were acceptable. I have to say the little stupid things made me happy such as a retractable clothes line in the shower, a drying rack on the balcony, and ice machine in the freezer, candles for the patio and a paper at your door every morning. Everyone was very friendly.

Cons: As I said earlier...musty rooms. Oh well...we dealt with it. If you love those big lazy river type pools, you will be dissappointed. The beach is the attraction here, not the pool. Pool was very small and right outside the cafe. I never used it. The hotel is a bit far from things. We couldn't see walking into Philipsburg, road was a bit tricky, no sidewalks in some places and cars whizzing by. It's not impossible, but we just never did it. We didn't rent a car. If you do, just know ahead of time, there are many many cars on this little island! Traffic was bad at times. We opted for cabs and everywhere we went a cab was called for us..never had to wait long. Also, parking seemed to be at a premium. Simpson Bay had many good places to eat, too far to walk from the hotel. My daughter got stung by a jellyfish and a cabbie took us to the hospital for some meds and waited for us...he also went out of his way to ask an employee at the Belair for some aloe, which they cut and gave to us. All the cabbies were great people and fun to speak to...we learned a lot from them and had us laughing many times. I'm glad we didn't rent a car!

Make sure you see Lorna (activities) she is chock full of info. We booked a Lambada tour to Prickly Pear Cay (must do this if you love the beach!!!) and she found us a driver for the day named Fitz (great guy) and took us for an island tour.

I would stay here again. I also enjoyed the fact that we were not bothered by timeshare stalkers. Sint Maarten/Saint Martin is a gorgeous island full of friendly happy people...hope I can see you again!

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be good...they are all oceanfront with big balconies. There are 4 floors with an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NC123Nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    190
    62
    28
    15
See reviews for
166
147
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

We exchanged points through RCI and the Bel Air was the only hotel that had availability. We kept an open mind when all of the reviews said the hotel is outdated, however, we had no idea what we were in for. We were first placed on the 2nd floor all the way at the end and we could hear the water pipes clanging all night long, so we asked to change rooms to the 4th floor. Once we moved to the new room, we immediately found ants all over the kitchen. Over the course of the week, we had hot water shortages and internet shortages (no internet for a day and a half). Customer service was very disappointing as we brought these issues to the attention of the front desk nearly every day and they said they were "working on it". The Front Desk clerks were never polite or helpful in any capacity.

Jody seemed nice, but the only time we ever saw her was when she was hawking her T-Shirts at Monday's orientation. Forget about Jody's place, the markup is too high. Go 3 minutes down the road to a much more reasonably priced supermarket.

Lorna's orientation was quite helpful, although it was apparent she emphasized specific tours over others (particularly the ones her husband's tour company operates). Not quite fair in my opinion. She also tended to be a little snippy.

I would never recommend anyone to stay here. We are by no means high end travelers but this hotel as a whole was disappointing. From the complete lack of customer service to the completely outdated facility, it seems like the hotel never fully recovered from the last hurricane that devastated the island decades ago.

I will give credit and sat that the hotel does have a great location and the fact that every room does have an ocean view is nice (views are better on a higher floor). If complete gut room renovations were to occur and a new management team developed a better customer service plan, it would make it a much better place to stay.

Room Tip: rooms on higher floors have better views (i.e. fourth floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Erik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

This hotel is dated!! I will not stay here again. You have to rent a car because everything is far from this hotel, and some taxi driver are freakin crooks. We went to Simpson Bay on our first night to watch Pacquiao's fight, $15 to get there but going back to the resort it cost us $25 'coz the taxi driver said it's after hours, my husband gave him $20. From the airport to Belair is $18 for a couple, which is good! Rented a car and drove around the island for $30 plus $15 for insurance for a day. Car rental is at the resort, which is a plus! You can get a cheaper rate if you rent for a week. This is our third time in St. Maarten, that's why we didn't do any tours. We've already done some of them, plus my husband just wanted to relax and rest. The plus side to this hotel are most of the people working here, exception front desk- not too friendly. And Yes the beach chairs are reserved for you all week long or however long you're staying. I don't recommend shopping at Jody's because the prices are all high up, don't waste your money! Go to Grand Marche! Make sure you check the expiration date! We found a couple of food that's expired! What I don't get about this hotel is WiFi is not free! $35 for the week and $9 a day, and the computer they have is $3 for half an hour. The little Burger King beside Grand Marche has free WiFi!! The hotel charged you too much money for laundry!! $2.50 per load. The food at Gingerbread Cafe is OK not a lot of selection. Divi has better food but the service is awful and terrible!! Plus they charged 15% gratuity, I don't mind tipping 15% if the service is good! I almost forgot the hotel only change the sheets and clean your room once! You have to pay extra if you want your sheets and room clean daily, $29 a day. When you leave you have to make sure you're room is not messy and dirty, you'll be charged extra $50. We asked for a late check-out and she gave us till 10:30am. Late check-out is $100. Too much extra charges on everything!! Other than that we had a wonderful and relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Atimonan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gregoryevan, Manager at Belair Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 19 June 2012
The hotel was opened in December 1980. We are constantly renovating and updating but we are not sleek and modern. We are a laid back resort where the emphasis is on comfort and beach. We are a 10 minute walk into Philisburg, the Dutch capital or a 3 minute drive and a 20 minute drive to Marigot which is the French Capital so we are centrally located. It depends upon what you want. The majority of our staff have been with us for over 10 years and really care.
Most timeshare resorts only give you one day of cleaning, if that. Very few give daily maid service to exchange people. I guess you haven't been to many timeshare resorts. Water and electric are precious commodities and are very expensive. Everything on the island is imported. Nothing is grown or manufactured here so a lot of things are more expensive in St. Maarten. As an example gasoline is over $5 per gallon so taxi's have to be more expensive than the US. Even in the US convenient stores cost more than big supermarkets since they do not have the buying power of the big giants. They are there for your convenience so if you do not want to go all the way to Grand Marche or do not have a car you can get what you need at Jody's place. The water and electric that is used for the washing machines and dryers have to be paid for. We cannot afford to give it away. We have to cover our expenses.
We have had people leave their suites a complete mess and that is why we implimented the $50 charge. A lot of resorts charge more but if you leave your suite in good order there is no charge. We have not had to charge this very often but it does help to cover the additonal cost to us for cleaning a disaster of a suite. It gets people to make sure everything is in order when they leave.
We have many suites that we need to clean and have ready for the next guests coming in. Our check out time is 10AM and check in is 4PM which is not a lot of time to get as many as 50-60 suites cleaned and ready. We have to adhere to our checkout time or the suite may not be ready for the next guests.
It is true we do not have free internet nor do we advertise it as free but we do have free parking and there are places that charge for that. Each place is different and everyone likes something different..
We are glad that overall you had a good vacation and do hope you come back to St. Maarten even if it won't be to us..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rock Hill, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

My wife and I shared a two bedroom unit with another couple. While the second bedroom was not as large as the second bedroom we have found in other resorts on the island, we were able to stow our clothing, sundries, and suitcases out of our way. The attached bathroom again was small but met our needs. Dancing in the bedroom was out of the question and while the shower easily accommodated two people do not try to dry off simultaneously, one of you might knock the other out in the process.
Check in was smooth. The front desk people were pleasant and there were no surprises with the billing at checkout. Carlton a long time employee who serves as security and bellhop also provides transportation for shopping, day trips, and transfers to the airport. He is a gem make sure you look him up and tell him Harold sent you. The rooms were ready when we arrived and the luggage was efficiently transferred to the room. The furniture and appliances were showing their age but functioned properly. The air conditioning was quiet and cold. The unit had no distracting odors and the view was absolutely beautiful. The beach was equally enjoyable whether taking in the view or frolicking in the water. Water toys from noodles to wave runners were available, there was no charge for the noodles. No worries about having a chair on the beach. Your chairs and umbrella gets set up with your room number and patiently waits for you to occupy it.
The Gingerbread Cafe gets busy at happy hour, the two for the price of one drinks are tasty. The food is good and the two poolside evening activities we attended were fun.
You are about a 15 to 20 minute walk to Philipsburg. Plenty of shopping, prices go up when cruise ships are in and it gets very crowded. On days that cruise ships come in it appeared that the beach side restaurants wanted to close early, with the return of passengers to the ships they are ready to close up shop. If you know the value of an item you want to buy you can to well otherwise what you think is a good deal might not turn out to be so good.
We rented a car for two days from the on-site car rental. Prices were reasonable ($40 per day). If you time the rental right you can use the rental car to get yourself back to the airport as you can leave the car at their airport location. We never had the need to rent a car for the full week.
There is a convenience store on-site it is limited but good for emergency items you might have forgotten to bring. Carlton will take you to the nearest supermarket for shopping and do so for much less than what a taxi will cost.
You can freely walk to the adjacent resort (The Divi). They have a nice bar. The Divi also provides a short cut to Phillipsburg. The least expensive way to travel around the island is by bus. In Phillipsburg you can catch a bus to Maho, Marigot, Simpson Bay, Grand Case, and just about everywhere else. Depending on your destination from Phillipsburg the fares range from $1.00 to $2.00 each way. These buses run from early morning until 10:00 PM. They are not as nice as taxis but they bring you closer to the heart beat of the island.
If you rent a car do not leave anything you purchased in plain view and park the car in a busy place with a lot of people. If a thief can tell your car is a rental they might even break into the trunk to see if you have stored anything there.
Places to go: scuba or snorkel with Capt. Alan, take a sunset criuse from Aquamania (located at the Pelican Resort in Simpson Bay), go to Pinel Island, find the Karactor Restaurant - a great find you will want to go again, the sunset bar is a must, visit Maho, go to Marigot (Sarafina's sandwiches, french pastries, lattes, and cappucinos - yum yum yum), the Belair Beach is great Mullet Bay is also a must (just bring a towel, food and beverage is good and reasonable).
We have never had a bad second in Saint Maarten we hope you will enjoy it as well.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HaroldandBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Occoquan, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

This was our first stay at the Belair. We stayed for a week on the 3rd floor a couple of units from the Gingerbread Cafe. Noise from the cafe was not an issue; however, the crashing waves are loud. If you can't take that noise, look for another place to stay. A few evenings there's some entertainment, but the band/dj stops before 10pm. The rooms and furnishings are dated but the resort is definitely well maintained and clean. While we were there, we didn't cook at all and ate out every day. We had several meals at the Gingerbread Cafe and overall thought they were better than most and also had a better value (especially compared to the Divi - and just why is it that the Divi is the only place charging 5% sales tax on food?). Compared to the other places we previously stayed in St. Martin (Sapphire, Capt. Oliver's and the Atrium), I would definitely go back here just because all rooms are water front and the beach was the best! So great that we didn't go to another beach while we were there.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JerseyAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
5.8 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.0 km away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
812 reviews
10.0 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.7 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
751 reviews
0.3 km away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belair Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belair Beach Hotel

Property: Belair Beach Hotel
Address: Little Bay Beach | P.O. Box 940, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,535 - ₹ 25,998
Hotel Class:3 star — Belair Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belair Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Beach Philipsburg
Hotel Belair Beach
Belair Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing