We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family place - good island feel”
Review of Belair Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belair Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Vista, CA
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great family place - good island feel”
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Great views. Clean rooms. Typical island feel so if you're looking for luxury go somewhere else. Off the beaten path is nice and this has a better island feel for us. Mellow bar / restuarant. Nice pool for the kids. Mostly familys and older crowd. Very quiet. Tips: check in with the towel attendant as soon as you check in because the chairs are marked for each room - this will get you a better location. Do the 2-4-1 Guavaberry coladas at happy hour - yummy. Snorkel to the east side by Divi and see the sunken helicopter and tanker under the floating tiki hut / red boat. Rent your car through Brinks (at the hotel) cause the cars are good & clean (no scams - just make sure you fill it up before you return). Close to the Le Grand Marche grocery store - go there for all kinds of yummy stuff you can't get in the states. Close to Philipsburg.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank djskine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    168
    190
    62
    28
    15
See reviews for
166
147
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Syosset, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

We just returned from a week long stay at the Belair Beach Hotel. We traded our RCI points for a very spacious 2 bedroom place with balcony facing the ocean. The staff was wonderful. Lorna helped me with all of my questions, months before I had even arrived. Once there she directed me to some great outings and experiences. Jody was also wonderful and took family photos of everyone in attendance at the beach BBQ, and then left the prints pinned to our door. The place was clean, the beach was beautiful and the staff was friendly and helpful.
Check out their car rental prices. we rented a 4 door wrangler with soft top for a price that was better than the quotes I got from Priceline etc. Try exploring the hills of StPetersburg.
Belair is the kind of place you go to if you like spending time with your wife and family. If you are looking to all run in different directions, this might not be your best choice. I highly recommend The Belair Beach Hotel

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JVod66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crozet VA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Sounds like my experience was very similar to everyone else's. When we checked in I was a little nervous just seeing the lobby as there is really nothing to it and as everyone said the hotel is a bit dated. The rooms while dated were very clean, our maid Tika, came in and it smelled like she bleached everything every day. We had first floor room and it was a plus, especially traveling with 3 children. The ocean and beach were 5 steps off our patio and we would have coffee on the beach each morning while watching the cruise ships coming into Philipsburg. The beach was beautiful and nowhere near as hectic or packed as the other beaches we visited while there which get overrun with cruise ships on a daily basis. When you get there reserve a chair with the towel hut and they will tag it for you for the week. Water was calm compared to other beaches as well. I really didn't think the staff was all that friendly and the servers in The Gingerbread Cafe are working on island time but it's really no different than anywhere else we visited. Eating out every night on the island can be very expensive, lunch one day for a family of 5 (1 pizza, burger, salad and 4 adult drinks was $120 on the French side at a beach bar). All the rooms have a toaster oven and 2 burners. Grocery store is a 5 minute drive but I have to say I always felt odd there especially with the baggers insisting on carrying whatever on had 30 feet out the door and then insisting on a tip.
As it is a timeshare a lot of people already know each other and it's almost like a family reunion watching them on the beach, also a bit of an older crowd. There really is nothing within walking distance of the hotel so a rental car will be helpful but if you are just going to Pburg the taxi will charge you $4 a person. You can walk to Pburg by cutting through the Divi (resort next door), it's about a 15 minute walk but not anything that you should do with young children in a stroller. Driving on the island was a bit hairy and you do drive through some rough areas but we never ran into any issues. Really did have a great experience at the Divi and I have to say while the staff seemed rude and time did start to grow on me towards the end of our week. I will be back and hopefully soon.
One last thing, the air conditioners in the room are VERY loud and made it difficult to sleep towards the start of the week. There might as well have been a jet engine in the room. Also the mosquitos were really bad the week we were there and while they supply citronella candles for the deck I would recommend bug spray. Screens on the sliding glass doors would have been nice to enjoy the evening weather while keep the bugs out and listen to the waves from inside.

Room Tip: First floor towards the Divi, no noise from the Gingerbread Cafe especially when they have entertain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Yes, Belair Beach hotel is old and looks old. Yes, hotel personnel is not too friendly, and no shampoo in the bathroom. Yes, the second bedroom is really small ... But the view from the room is so great; the beach and water are so welcoming, that you could forgive and forget all the shortcomings, as far as the price is acceptable. And you may need a car, because hotel is not in walking distance from anywhere.

Room Tip: do not worry: all the rooms have water view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The views from this hotel are amazing. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had an amazing vacation at this lovely resort. The beach is quiet and you can find a great sandwich and cold beverage at the bar. It appears people return to this fabulous spot year after year. I can not wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bkrash4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
5.8 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
2.0 km away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
812 reviews
10.0 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
5.7 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
754 reviews
0.3 km away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belair Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belair Beach Hotel

Property: Belair Beach Hotel
Address: Little Bay Beach | P.O. Box 940, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,540 - ₹ 26,071
Hotel Class:3 star — Belair Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belair Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Beach Philipsburg
Hotel Belair Beach
Belair Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing