We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Can't beat the beach..”
Review of Belair Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Belair Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Sounds like my experience was very similar to everyone else's. When we checked in I was a little nervous just seeing the lobby as there is really nothing to it and as everyone said the hotel is a bit dated. The rooms while dated were very clean, our maid Tika, came in and it smelled like she bleached everything every day. We had first floor room and it was a plus, especially traveling with 3 children. The ocean and beach were 5 steps off our patio and we would have coffee on the beach each morning while watching the cruise ships coming into Philipsburg. The beach was beautiful and nowhere near as hectic or packed as the other beaches we visited while there which get overrun with cruise ships on a daily basis. When you get there reserve a chair with the towel hut and they will tag it for you for the week. Water was calm compared to other beaches as well. I really didn't think the staff was all that friendly and the servers in The Gingerbread Cafe are working on island time but it's really no different than anywhere else we visited. Eating out every night on the island can be very expensive, lunch one day for a family of 5 (1 pizza, burger, salad and 4 adult drinks was $120 on the French side at a beach bar). All the rooms have a toaster oven and 2 burners. Grocery store is a 5 minute drive but I have to say I always felt odd there especially with the baggers insisting on carrying whatever on had 30 feet out the door and then insisting on a tip.
As it is a timeshare a lot of people already know each other and it's almost like a family reunion watching them on the beach, also a bit of an older crowd. There really is nothing within walking distance of the hotel so a rental car will be helpful but if you are just going to Pburg the taxi will charge you $4 a person. You can walk to Pburg by cutting through the Divi (resort next door), it's about a 15 minute walk but not anything that you should do with young children in a stroller. Driving on the island was a bit hairy and you do drive through some rough areas but we never ran into any issues. Really did have a great experience at the Divi and I have to say while the staff seemed rude and time did start to grow on me towards the end of our week. I will be back and hopefully soon.
One last thing, the air conditioners in the room are VERY loud and made it difficult to sleep towards the start of the week. There might as well have been a jet engine in the room. Also the mosquitos were really bad the week we were there and while they supply citronella candles for the deck I would recommend bug spray. Screens on the sliding glass doors would have been nice to enjoy the evening weather while keep the bugs out and listen to the waves from inside.

Room Tip: First floor towards the Divi, no noise from the Gingerbread Cafe especially when they have entertain...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (464)
There are newer reviews for Belair Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

322 - 326 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2012

Yes, Belair Beach hotel is old and looks old. Yes, hotel personnel is not too friendly, and no shampoo in the bathroom. Yes, the second bedroom is really small ... But the view from the room is so great; the beach and water are so welcoming, that you could forgive and forget all the shortcomings, as far as the price is acceptable. And you may need a car, because hotel is not in walking distance from anywhere.

Room Tip: do not worry: all the rooms have water view
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2012

The views from this hotel are amazing. The staff is friendly and helpful. We had an amazing vacation at this lovely resort. The beach is quiet and you can find a great sandwich and cold beverage at the bar. It appears people return to this fabulous spot year after year. I can not wait to return.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bkrash4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is the 8 year visiting the island during the Heineken regatta. The ocean views are great and you can actually see the boat with full sails open. Simple kitchen, big balcony and quiet beach space making a great space for 4 people in the 2 bedroom unit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank polans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My wife and I just returned from our third visit to St. Martin and the Belair Beach Hotel. The staff is excellent and everyone is friendly and has a smile on their face. The rooms may be older, but they are very clean and accomondating and exceeds all of our needs. We don't go to the island to sit in the room, we go to sit at their excellent beach and relax. I highly recommend the Belair Beach Hotel and we'll stay there again when we return to St. Martin.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zrsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
5.8 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
3.5 km away
Simpson Bay Resort & Marina
2.0 km away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 km away
Grand Case Beach Club
Grand Case Beach Club
#3 of 8 in Grand Case
1,815 reviews
5.7 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
758 reviews
0.3 km away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belair Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belair Beach Hotel

Address: Little Bay Beach | P.O. Box 940, Philipsburg, St Martin / St Maarten
Region: Caribbean > St Martin / St Maarten > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price Range: ₹ 15,389 - ₹ 26,077 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Belair Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belair Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Beach Philipsburg
Hotel Belair Beach
Belair Beach Hotel St Martin / St Maarten/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing