We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location close to dining, shopping and snorkeling”
Review of Belair Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Belair Beach Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Philipsburg
Certificate of Excellence
Coconut Creek, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect location close to dining, shopping and snorkeling”
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This is the 8 year visiting the island during the Heineken regatta. The ocean views are great and you can actually see the boat with full sails open. Simple kitchen, big balcony and quiet beach space making a great space for 4 people in the 2 bedroom unit.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank polans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

450 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    185
    60
    27
    15
See reviews for
160
145
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

My wife and I just returned from our third visit to St. Martin and the Belair Beach Hotel. The staff is excellent and everyone is friendly and has a smile on their face. The rooms may be older, but they are very clean and accomondating and exceeds all of our needs. We don't go to the island to sit in the room, we go to sit at their excellent beach and relax. I highly recommend the Belair Beach Hotel and we'll stay there again when we return to St. Martin.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zrsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukie, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2012

We just got back from St. Martin on 3/11 and had a wonderful time thanks mostly to the folks at the Belair. Frankly, I was a little worried about all the remarks about the rooms being "dated". The grounds are very clean (even the beach) and the rooms are immaculate. The furniture is not foofoo fancy, but it is clean and very comfortable. The staff at the Belair are the best. Never passed one person that didn't greet me with a smile and a hello.
Any person that says Philipsburg is an easy walk is nuts. It is a hike of hills and traffic to get to Philipsburg. Get a car and travel the whole island, you won't be sorry.
Please stop by Lorna at the excursion desk. She has a wealth of knowledge of the island and will give honest advise on where to go.
The Gingerbread cafe is on site, a bit slow, but ok if you don't want to go off property. Its not cheap, but the food is ok.
When you arrive at the Belair go see Winston on the beach. You pick your chair and umbrealla he marks it with your room number and its yours for the week .... brilliant. Made my beach time fabulous. All resorts should do this for their guest.
It was a great week and hope to go back soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Reta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2012

I travelled to Belair Beach Hotel Feb 4-11 2012 with a girlfriend. We are 2 women in our fifties and travel usually every February. We had a great time. The resort was exactly what I expected from the reviews and information provided by RCI. All the units are beachfront which is great. We thoroughy enjoyed our spacious 2 bedroom/2 bathroom unit. The balcony is fantastic and we spent a lot of time out there. The beach is lovely and the turquoise water is breathtaking. We took cabs to shopping and restaurants and felt very safe. The hotel staff could not have been any more helpful. They would recommend places to go, call the cab, let us know in advance the taxi # and name of the driver and they would follow up with us about our experience. It was a really nice personal touch. We ate at the Gingerbread Cafe many times and the food is always excellent. The service was slow on some occassions, but you just enjoy the view while waiting. The people at Jody's Place, the little store on site were so friendly and Michelina who did the orientation was so helpful with recommendations of places to go. She arranged a massage in my room which was great, and a night at L'Escargot in Phillipsburg which was fantastic. It may be the best meal I have ever had. Then there was a cute funny show after dinner. This vacation was one of the best ever and I have travelled extensively. The weather was great so if you check the weather before you go do not be worried when it says partly cloudy as that means a few wispy clouds here and there. We only had a few drops of rain the whole week. The resort is quiet, so not the place if you are looking for exciting night life, but you could go off the resort. I also liked that we were able to get the same TV channels as at home so I didn't have to miss things I like to watch. The resort and rooms were very clean. It was just a perfect vacation and we can't wait to go back.
Rose
Brantford Ontario

Room Tip: we were in room 414, so sort of in the middle on the 4th floor and it was good, not sure if corner r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reston va
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We loved the feeling of getting up in the morning and overlooking Little Bay in St. Maarten. The view from every room at Belair Beach is sweet. Four floors, poured decorative concrete in an arabesque style, the hotel is really a condo/timeshare which has rooms available for rental. But the age of the building and furnishings show all to obviously. Every unit has sliding glass doors that open to the patio or first floor garden (with access to the beach on the ground floor). Unfortunately, they didn't open too easily or lock too readily. The kitchen is well stocked for cooking. Food on St. Maarten is sky-high in price, however. Water pressure on the upper floors was less powerful. But the two bedroom unit had two bathrooms as well and would serve a family of four quite well. The activities planned by the coordinator of the hotel were great. The bbq night at the pool was a standout. The food was good and the price was great. It included a band and singer. The guests at the Belair tend to be sedate unless they are rowdy. Older condo and time share people who have been coming for 30 years vegetate in the assigned beach chairs. The younger generation who come with access to the hotel because of parents and grandparents, drink beer and act out in the surf. Divi Resort is walkable. The beach is lovely. Belair is tucked away at Little Bay and convenient to Phillipsburg. All in all, the stay was pleasant. But an update...a major update....should be in the works. As one reviewer put it, the place is a little "Golden Girls." I agree.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms have access to the beach and a lovely little garden. Also choose a beach chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RestonVaDentist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philipsburg
2.0 km away
Holland House Beach Hotel
Holland House Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Philipsburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
5.7 km away
Princess Heights Hotel
Princess Heights Hotel
#2 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
5.8 km away
The Westin Dawn Beach Resort & Spa, St. Maarten
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Divi Little Bay Beach Resort
0.9 km away
Sonesta Great Bay Beach Resort, Casino & Spa
6.3 km away
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
Oyster Bay Beach Resort
#3 of 8 in Oyster Pond
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belair Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belair Beach Hotel

Property: Belair Beach Hotel
Address: Little Bay Beach | P.O. Box 940, Philipsburg, St. Maarten-St. Martin
Region: Caribbean > St. Maarten-St. Martin > Sint Maarten > Philipsburg
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Philipsburg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Philipsburg
Price range (per night): ₹ 15,441 - ₹ 24,848
Hotel Class:3 star — Belair Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Belair Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belair Beach Philipsburg
Hotel Belair Beach
Belair Beach Hotel St. Maarten-St. Martin/Philipsburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing