We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best we had!”

Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat
Ranked #5 of 37 Restaurants in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Perched high up between the Piton mountains, The Boucan Restaraunt is open to both residents and non residents. Boucan is The Hotel Chocolat’s own restaurant, where guests can experience Cacao Cuisine. The word “Boucan” refers to the traditional West Indian name for a cocoa drying facility. The restaurant is built on the site of the Rabot Estate’s original Boucan. Boucan is also linked to “boucaneer” or “buccaneer,” the local pirates that would smoke and dry their food to preserve it for long trips at sea. The Boucan offers a strong connection with cacao and chocolate. For over 3,000 years, cacao has been used as a savory ingredient and for 500 as a sweet ingredient. The menu explores both, with the chefs taking their inspiration from the fresh cacao growing all around the estate, together with amazing local fish and seafood, salad leaves, vegetables and plentiful fruit. However the cuisine is far from cocoa heavy. The menu often makes use of cacao as a light, subtle spice or as an infusion. The desserts make full and imaginative use of the estate cacao, with each evening meal rounded off with the day’s new chocolate creation. Boucan’s breathtaking minimalist design includes a soaring roof inspired by the shape of the cacao tree, with its branches reaching to the sky, and shaded by the lush rainforest canopy. Its high platform is a centre stage for the Big Nature views all around.Dining at the Hotel Chocolat's Boucan Restaurant, whether it be breakfast, lunch, dinner or the fabulous sundowner cocktails, is an experience to be shared and cherished.We passionately believe we are certainly offering something very different at Boucan. The dress code is smart/casual and ladies a cocktail dress is never out of place!
Reviewed 17 November 2018

We came for our honeymoon to the nearby Stonefield Estate (Highly recommend it!) and the night before we left, we went for dinner here.

The vibe, atmosphere, people, food - everything was outstanding. We had a fantastic time and are so happy we came there for dinner before we left!

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank geekmaster64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2018

Glad you enjoyed your last evening on island with us you had a fantastic time. We look forward to welcoming you back someday soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 1,153 reviews

Reviewed 15 November 2018 via mobile

I am in mid thirties and came here with my girlfriend. We loved the view from the restaurant but that was kinda of it. The rooms were ok but didn't have the wow factor. Demographic of most guest in this hotel was like 50 yrs and above it wasnt really for us. The best thing about this place is the staff and massages which were great. Wont be back for another 20yrs.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank 26gabriela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2018

Sorry you felt this way but we have plenty of millennial's who thoroughly enjoy their stay with us, maybe if you were looking for a little more party atmosphere the north of the island would of offered this, we offer plantation chic for the adventurous.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2018

We were staying at the hotel and I have to say the breakfasts were some of the best i've eaten. If I wasn't staying at the resort I would pay to have breakfast here ($21USD or $33 with specials and bacon & eggs). There is a daily special which usual has cacao or some form of chocolate in it which they manage to make not too sweet so don't let that put you off.
You get a full fruit platter and a daily changing smoothie. I always had oats too and nearly always the special of the day and a cacao tea.
We had one dinner here and that was also excellent with the cacao making its appearance be it as white chocolate mash or even cacao crusted roast lamb shank. Its a bit on the pricey side as you would expert but the service and standard of cooking is of a very high standard.
Highly recommend whether staying at the hotel or just visiting.

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iamrussellknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2018

Our breakfast is very popular for anyone needing a good start to a day. Thank you for the shout out, always locally grow, never imported fruits and fresh seasonal juices prepared daily.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

We stayed at the hotel and enjoyed breakfast daily as well as two dinners. While we were not on an all inclusive deal, we just enjoyed being on site!

Breakfast was a wonderful experience--please do try the cocoa tea, it's the best I had during our stay--as well as the white chocolate eggs benedict. It was ridiculous and I was almost licking the plate! Each morning the staff greets you and provides you with a fruit plate and a small fresh smoothie. You can also have yogurt and a fresh muffin (flavor changes daily) with your breakfast.

For dinner we both very much enjoyed the steak (tried the filet and the ribeye) and the lava cake. The view is spectacular!

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Juerner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2018

Thank you for the lovely review, we thing breakfast is the most important meal of the day, hence the huge range of freshly prepared delights to power up your day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

60th Birthday lunch with my wife. Day late because Tropical Storm Kevin led to cancellation. Superb surroundings, very peaceful and tranquil. Excellent food with very good friendly service

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Bobsilverfox77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy B, Guest Relations Manager at Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2018

Happy belated birthday, thank you for choosing Boucan to share such a special occasion. Look forward to welcoming you back someday soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to Boucan Restaurant & Bar by Hotel Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing