We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Stonefield Villa Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$ 374
US$ 363
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 76
US$ 74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$ 192
US$ 166
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 190/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hummingbird Beach Resort(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$ 144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Alfred's Diamond Villas(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$ 77
US$ 70
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa des Pitons(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$ 88
US$ 80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anse Chastanet(Soufriere)(Great Value!)
US$ 468
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Ladera Resort(Soufriere)
US$ 384
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 477/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Jade Mountain Resort(Soufriere)
US$ 1,332
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,599)
Filter reviews
1,599 results
Traveller rating
1,194
249
91
41
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,194
249
91
41
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbayside restaurantcane bargreat roomrainforest spasushisugar beachluxury villabutler serviceplunge poolst luciaour honeymoonbeach barmeal plandinner reservationsviceroy resortservice chargesunset cruise
Filter
Updating list...
254 - 259 of 1,599 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

Sugar Beach stands out for the attention to detail and consistently friendly and helpful staff. Food is superb, with good range of choice. The setting is out of this world, nestled between 2 dramatic volcanic mini mountains, the Pitons. Service is excellent: instant availability of free transport around the resort, often in pink tuktuks, butler service for each room extremely helpful and all staff are friendly and attentive. Beachfront is lovely and excellent beachfront bars and restaurants. Decent sized fresh water pool for exercise or lounging.
We stayed in a bungalow which was elegant, well laid out and cleverly designed to be completely private. Views from our terrace were superb. The air conditioning works well.
All in all a top class and brilliant place to relax and enjoy the Caribbean.

Stayed: November 2017
2  Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Good Day Janet,

We are happy to read your glowing review about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

I am glad that you found our location, amenities and Luxury Beachfront Bungalow perfect for your stay We are delighted you had a great time.

Our team members are passionate about surpassing guest expectations. They will be happy with your comments and commended for ensuring a wonderful stay.

Once again, thank you for your review. On behalf of the entire team, we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.



Best regards,

Mark Sterner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2017

I can't even begin to describe the beauty of Sugar Beach. My husband and I came for 5 days to relax and get away and didn't want to leave. We have never been at a property with such service. Everything is taken care of and everyone is so nice and warm and welcoming. We greatly enjoyed our bungalow and our private pool. Then rain forest sounds and rain showers at night were so wonderful. The beach is on the best spot of the whole island right between the Pitons. We enjoyed breakfast each day and ate at Bayside and Cane Bar both were very good. We want to thank Barnabas at Cane for the amazing drinks and for making me a chicken and rice dish in a primarily seafood / sushi oriented restaurant. He also gave us great music suggestions. Dona and Anitha at the beach each day were always smiling and so sweet we really enjoyed them. Our favorite people were Michael and Kester, they were such sweet people and were so much fun. They always made us smile everytime we saw them. We really loved getting to see them each day and talk about the island and joke. This place is beautiful and relaxing and offers everything. Don't read into the negative reviews it is expensive but you're in a remote location and the service and amenities are top notch. We will definitely be back next year! '

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IslandLife22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017

Good Day Islandlife,

Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is truly the place of dreams. We enjoyed reading your feedback and I feel proud to see that so many of our team members contributed to making your stay memorable. Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to share your comments.

Our aim is to provide our guests with the best possible experience and it is gratifying that you thoroughly enjoyed what we had to offer. Our team members will be delighted to read your review and to know that the special care they extended was truly appreciated.

Thank you once more for sharing your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.



Best regards,

Mark Sterner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

We rented a 4 bedroom villa. The view was incredibly beautiful! One of the best Ive seen. Having a butler is of coarse amazing but what was missing was over and beyond service that is expected when you spend 40k or so on a 5 day trip. But most underwhelming was the culinary experience. I was expecting it to be at high level but unfortunately it was good but not great!! Tough to say if I’d recommend it or not, but I know I’m glad I went but I won’t be going back! Just too expensive for what you are getting!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Parham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017


Good Day Parham,

The residences are truly beautiful. Thank you for sharing feedback about your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

Our aim is to provide our guests with the best possible experience and it is disappointing to read your highlighted concerns. Our team members are generally known for the high level of service they provide. I am sorry if this was not the case during your stay. We will be sharing your feedback with them, and will continue our refresher training and coaching to ensure consistent luxury service going forward.

We hope you will consider a return visit so we can share the first class Sugar Beach experience that we are known for but that sadly lapsed on this occasion.


Best regards,

Mark Sterner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

On arrival your jaw will drop as the setting is delightful. However you are paying top dollar for everything and so you expect everything to be near perfect. Sadly this is not the case as there was significant noise from building works, parts of the resort can be closed off for weddings or private functions.
The villas, although spacious and beautifully designed and orientated, are in need of repair.
The quality of the meals on offer is very varied - avoid the pizzas. Also watch out for the unexpected extras if opting for a meal plan. You won’t we charged for coffee at breakfast but you will at dinner!
One big plus point is that the staff are delightful and go out of their way to make you feel welcome - very refreshing.
Watch the promotional videos on YouTube and then lower your expectations, otherwise you will be disappointed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank JohnD200000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017



Good Day John,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your time at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. Our setting is truly out of this world and it gives us pleasure to know that you appreciate the magic of this place as we do.

I am sorry that our prices and accommodation did not match your expectations. We work hard to ensure that our guests are always satisfied and feel they are getting value for money, but appear to have sadly lapsed on this occasion. We are continuously reviewing our service standards to ensure that concerns such as yours are not repeated.

For reference please know that the building work taking place on the new residences are slated to be completed in mid-December. The work taking place does not affect any of our main guest areas, and we have removed from inventory any rooms that may be impacted by noise.

I would like to apologise for the challenges you encountered during your stay. I am disappointed that management was not aware and we did not have the opportunity to turn your experience around while you were still at the resort.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.



Best regards,

Mark Sterner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2017 via mobile

We are in the middle of our honeymoon and I couldn't wait to write and rave about this property. It's located between two Pitons. They are so close when you're sitting on the beach and creates an amazing window for you to look out to endlessly. We decided to splurge so this was one of our most luxurious vacations. We stayed in room 310. Partial ocean view but beautiful layout of the villa incredibly spacious with two bathrooms and two showers, private pool and patio. It was called their Grand Luxury Villa.

Food:
Not good at Viceroy. Save your money. Everything is overpriced here and the food is not good. Small portions.
Must go to Hummingbird for dinner. The beach is dark and sketchy but wow their food was amazing!

The property is historically on a sugar plantation. Man made beach looks completely natural. Everything on the resort is incredibly lush and tropical. The grounds are well kept. Staff is incredibly friendly and nothing is turned down.

For tours and Water Taxi:
Meet with Richard with Soloman Tours. He wears a green shirt and comes by to the pier in his green water taxi. Theres a ton of these guys on this beach but this guy is the real deal. Very professional, accommodating and hospitable. There were some shady situations that he was there to have our best interest. Everything is private with him and less expensive than the hotel. He was our water taxi around he island and tour guide for the week. Highly recommend him for that private experience! There's a lot of strangers with rusty boats but not this guy.

Sulphur springs tour:
A must! Great tour. Smelled like sulphur but left the skin so smooth. Was a great mud bath.
Warning to those with long hair. My hair was destroyed in that water. Bring yourself a hydrating hair treatment to condition your hair that night. I ended up getting overpriced morrocan hair mask which took out all the hardness from my hair.

More to come!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sandy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2017



Good Day Sandy,


Congratulations and thank you for choosing Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort to celebrate your honeymoon. We have to agree that our location between the Pitons is unbeatable—especially when you include our two white sand beaches—and we are delighted you had a wonderful time.

I am sorry that the food and beverage costs were higher than you had anticipated. We try our best offer quality meals that are comparable to our competitors.

Once again we appreciate your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to paradise!


Best regards,

Mark Sterner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews