We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT THE HELL !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The location is sensational.
The prices are crazy, you have to forget the cost if you are there and enjoy .The cost on pricelists are bad enough , but 10% service charge and 10% tax on top can bring tears to the strongest of constitutions. I wish the resort would adopt the same tipping process as Sandy Lane in Barbados , where you tip at the end of your holiday . Here the billing process and the expectation of the staff for tips on top of the 10% service charge follows the American expectation of tipping.
If you can afford to come here then close your eyes when the bills / checks arrive for your signature.
The staff are a mixed bag , maybe as it was the start of the season when we visited there were a lot of confused members of staff.
Annette at breakfast was amazing, when she had two days off the standard slipped.
The ''butler'' system is not to be confused with a true butler system that you will receive at other resorts , especially in the far east. This ''butler'' is no more than a personal concierge , to reserve tables and obtain taxis. Our butler Michaela , was lovely, she was very friendly and a fine ambassador for the resort.
Ensure that you visit the managers meeting , it is the only time you will see most of them , and tell them the truth. Most people as they have paid lots to be there adopt thr 'Emperors new clothes ' mentality and tell them all is great.
There is much room for improvement in many areas , for instance after dinner , there is nowhere to go , entertainment starts and finishes early , this really needs to be addressed.
As recent hurricanes have damaged many islands in the region , the occupancy rates in the resort will be high. Fate has played into their hands , but much of the resort has a tired feel , a touch of paint here and there and the tending to the trees and foliage . The building of villas on the estate in the opinion of many guests have diverted the attention away from more mundane routine matters. We had a restful and relaxing stay , we met many people who became friends.
Observations are not always criticisms, my fiance and myself have stayed in many lovely places in this region and we could see the potential and the failings present.
This place could learn a lot from other similar resorts in the Caribbean , I believe that they should have more local people in the senior managment team . They need more of the local joy and happiness to permeate through the resort . They need improved staff training , the workforce did not seem happy in their jobs in comparison with other local resorts , such as Ladera resort . When we visited to dine there, the staff there were less well remunerated than at Sugar Beach (A Viceroy resort) but appeared much happier and joyous and friendlier .
In summary , great natural beauty , it could be paradise .
By the nature of the clientelle most of the guests here will have very high expectations , and will be experienced travellers , so the observations above are only made to encourage this resort to achieve its potential .

Room Tip: Daily Telegraph advised Superior Sugar room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank HANDSCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago


Good Day,

Thank you for sharing this extensive review of your holiday at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

We take pride in ensuring that every guest has a wonderful and memorable experience, sadly we lapsed on this occasion. I sincerely apologise for the less than perfect service you experienced at breakfast. Your comments will be discussed with the head of department to ensure that improvements are made where required.

I am sorry the menu pricing was higher than you anticipated. The 10% service charge and 10% VAT is a mandatory government enforced fee that all hotels must charge. Tipping is certainly not mandatory as our team members strive to deliver a genuine service to our guests without the expectation of receiving a tip.

I am sorry that you found the entertainment limited during your stay. We offer entertainment ranging from relaxing background music provided by local violinist, steel pan, Shak Shak bands, live reggae bands and DJs mixing great dance tracks in the Cane Bar. We also have Cinema Under the Stars twice a week and now offer kid’s movie night at the kids club. I am sorry you found the entertainment finished too early with little available for those wishing to make a night of it. Your comments have been taken on board and will be discussed when reviewing the time schedule for the entertainment.

It is disappointing that you did not get to experience the usual high level of service from our team. We have taken your comments on board to ensure that the employees are following our standard protocol and ensuring every guest has a fantastic stay with seamless service.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,

Mark Sterner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (1,352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 1,352 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Sugar Beach stands out for the attention to detail and consistently friendly and helpful staff. Food is superb, with good range of choice. The setting is out of this world, nestled between 2 dramatic volcanic mini mountains, the Pitons. Service is excellent: instant availability of free transport around the resort, often in pink tuktuks, butler service for each room extremely helpful and all staff are friendly and attentive. Beachfront is lovely and excellent beachfront bars and restaurants. Decent sized fresh water pool for exercise or lounging.
We stayed in a bungalow which was elegant, well laid out and cleverly designed to be completely private. Views from our terrace were superb. The air conditioning works well.
All in all a top class and brilliant place to relax and enjoy the Caribbean.

Stayed: November 2017
2  Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Day Janet,

We are happy to read your glowing review about your recent stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. Thank you for sharing your feedback.

I am glad that you found our location, amenities and Luxury Beachfront Bungalow perfect for your stay We are delighted you had a great time.

Our team members are passionate about surpassing guest expectations. They will be happy with your comments and commended for ensuring a wonderful stay.

Once again, thank you for your review. On behalf of the entire team, we all look forward to welcoming you back soon.



Best regards,

Mark Sterner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I can't even begin to describe the beauty of Sugar Beach. My husband and I came for 5 days to relax and get away and didn't want to leave. We have never been at a property with such service. Everything is taken care of and everyone is so nice and warm and welcoming. We greatly enjoyed our bungalow and our private pool. Then rain forest sounds and rain showers at night were so wonderful. The beach is on the best spot of the whole island right between the Pitons. We enjoyed breakfast each day and ate at Bayside and Cane Bar both were very good. We want to thank Barnabas at Cane for the amazing drinks and for making me a chicken and rice dish in a primarily seafood / sushi oriented restaurant. He also gave us great music suggestions. Dona and Anitha at the beach each day were always smiling and so sweet we really enjoyed them. Our favorite people were Michael and Kester, they were such sweet people and were so much fun. They always made us smile everytime we saw them. We really loved getting to see them each day and talk about the island and joke. This place is beautiful and relaxing and offers everything. Don't read into the negative reviews it is expensive but you're in a remote location and the service and amenities are top notch. We will definitely be back next year! '

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IslandLife22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Day Islandlife,

Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is truly the place of dreams. We enjoyed reading your feedback and I feel proud to see that so many of our team members contributed to making your stay memorable. Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to share your comments.

Our aim is to provide our guests with the best possible experience and it is gratifying that you thoroughly enjoyed what we had to offer. Our team members will be delighted to read your review and to know that the special care they extended was truly appreciated.

Thank you once more for sharing your feedback. We look forward to seeing you again soon.



Best regards,

Mark Sterner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We rented a 4 bedroom villa. The view was incredibly beautiful! One of the best Ive seen. Having a butler is of coarse amazing but what was missing was over and beyond service that is expected when you spend 40k or so on a 5 day trip. But most underwhelming was the culinary experience. I was expecting it to be at high level but unfortunately it was good but not great!! Tough to say if I’d recommend it or not, but I know I’m glad I went but I won’t be going back! Just too expensive for what you are getting!!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Parham P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago


Good Day Parham,

The residences are truly beautiful. Thank you for sharing feedback about your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.

Our aim is to provide our guests with the best possible experience and it is disappointing to read your highlighted concerns. Our team members are generally known for the high level of service they provide. I am sorry if this was not the case during your stay. We will be sharing your feedback with them, and will continue our refresher training and coaching to ensure consistent luxury service going forward.

We hope you will consider a return visit so we can share the first class Sugar Beach experience that we are known for but that sadly lapsed on this occasion.


Best regards,

Mark Sterner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

On arrival your jaw will drop as the setting is delightful. However you are paying top dollar for everything and so you expect everything to be near perfect. Sadly this is not the case as there was significant noise from building works, parts of the resort can be closed off for weddings or private functions.
The villas, although spacious and beautifully designed and orientated, are in need of repair.
The quality of the meals on offer is very varied - avoid the pizzas. Also watch out for the unexpected extras if opting for a meal plan. You won’t we charged for coffee at breakfast but you will at dinner!
One big plus point is that the staff are delightful and go out of their way to make you feel welcome - very refreshing.
Watch the promotional videos on YouTube and then lower your expectations, otherwise you will be disappointed.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank JohnD200000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSterner, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago



Good Day John,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your time at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort. Our setting is truly out of this world and it gives us pleasure to know that you appreciate the magic of this place as we do.

I am sorry that our prices and accommodation did not match your expectations. We work hard to ensure that our guests are always satisfied and feel they are getting value for money, but appear to have sadly lapsed on this occasion. We are continuously reviewing our service standards to ensure that concerns such as yours are not repeated.

For reference please know that the building work taking place on the new residences are slated to be completed in mid-December. The work taking place does not affect any of our main guest areas, and we have removed from inventory any rooms that may be impacted by noise.

I would like to apologise for the challenges you encountered during your stay. I am disappointed that management was not aware and we did not have the opportunity to turn your experience around while you were still at the resort.

Thank you once again for your constructive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.



Best regards,

Mark Sterner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
4.3 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
968 reviews
1.2 km away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,287 reviews
4.4 km away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
32.5 km away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 5 in Cap Estate
762 reviews
1.9 km away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#7 of 11 in Soufriere
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort

Address: Sugar Beach, Val des Pitons, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Luxury Hotel in Soufriere
#3 Spa Hotel in Soufriere
#4 Romantic Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: ₹ 32,341 - ₹ 1,91,272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort is set amidst more than 100 acres of tropical rainforest on the island's scenic Caribbean coast. Embraced by St Lucia's majestic World Heritage-listed Pitons, the resort's 96 Luxury Sugar Mill Rooms, Cottages, Villas and Luxury Beachfront Bungalows boast elegant styling, private plunge pool, four poster bed, luxurious Egyptian cotton linens, every possible modern amenity, and personalised butler service. Two stunning white sand beaches, beautiful Rainforest Spa with tree house treatment rooms, full PADI dive facility, and superb waterfront dining ensure the ultimate vacation experience with space enough for honeymooners and families alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jalousie Plantation Hotel Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation Soufrière
Jalousie Plantation St Lucia
Jalousie Hilton
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing