We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
FindHotel
Destinia.com
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
View all 15 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,194)
Filter reviews
2,194 results
Traveller rating
1,656
320
126
54
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,656
320
126
54
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cane bar great room bayside restaurant sugar beach sugar mill grand luxury villa sushi rainforest spa butler service plunge pool st lucia beachfront bungalow our honeymoon beach bar dinner reservations sunset cruise meal plan
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1,457 - 1,462 of 2,194 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2015

Stayed 4 nights at Sugar Beach in a Villa and Viceroy have done it Again ! Villas come with very attentive Butler Service who take care of your needs and activities. The Resort is set on a cascading cliff line providing great views of the beautiful Atlantic waters and a shuttle service that works well. IPad in Villas offer options to time your delivery of Dining Options. Restaurants offer a variety of dining experiences with Live music. Warm staff and lots of beautiful smiles...! A local band was playing on my second night by the beach. This would be a revolving bucket list experience for sure - Well Done !

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joshua T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2015

Good day,
Thank you for your glowing comments about your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We are glad that you had the opportunity to experience our very high level of service, offerings and amenities. We always try to create exceptional experiences for our guests that are memorable for all the right reasons.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business.
We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.
Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015

We just returned from our stay at Sugar Beach for our honeymoon and all I can say is WOW. I think we were more excited about the honeymoon than the wedding, so the expectations were high. We looked at many resorts on the island before booking and thought Sugar Beach would be the perfect blend of the beach along with amazing views of the Pitons - we were right. We stayed in villa 705, which had the perfect amount of space and privacy. The location between the Pitons is spectacular and you have a great view from the outdoor deck/plunge pool.
The service is beyond - you are assigned your own butler from the moment you get there and basically don't lift a finger after that. Gary helped us for most of the week and he was so lovely and kind. Nothing was a problem.The entire staff seems genuinely happy to be there and is friendly and fun. Our tour guide around St. Lucia was so fun it felt like we were on vacation with a friend.
The resort offers lots of different activities but definitely had a more relaxed energy. If you're looking for a young "scene" this may not be for you, but we loved it. There were enough activities to entertain, but no pressure to do more than lay on the beach and drink pina coladas. We booked the Sulpher Mud Bath, which was a great experience and allowed us to see more of the island. Would definitely recommend.
When booking, be aware that food and drinks are incredibly expensive - we are New Yorkers and were still a little shocked by how pricey things were. We did the Linger Longer package which includes free breakfast, so we felt like it evened out. If you are drinkers, consider the all-inclusive package. We will definitely do that next time. However, the quality of the food, the beautiful scenery and the amazing service are so outstanding, we felt that we definitely got what we paid for. We will be back!

Room tip: The 700 rooms have great views and the perfect amount of privacy.
Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2015

Good day,
Thank you for sharing your comments about your honeymoon at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort on TripAdvisor.
We work hard to make every guest stay enjoyable. I am delighted that your stay was amazing and memorable for all the right reasons. Our staff will be very happy and appreciative of your comments and recognizing their efforts for ensuring a flawless stay.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business.
We hope to see you back for an anniversary stay!
Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2015

If you have never been to St. Lucia, please take note. The island is a series of lush mountains with paved and more often non paved or pot holed roads that wind up and down so much that you start to feel as if you hopped on a roller coaster. And take heed to the warnings of not renting a car. I'm an experienced driver and even I would be hard pressed to drive there. The roads are narrow and locals go fast. Not to mention that they drive on the left side. Leave the driving to the island experts. Most of the major towns are at least an hour apart and the cost of a taxi can be significant. Unless you are staying by the airport. Our trip in to Sugar Beach was $75 (one way). That said, the island is gorgeous. Most of the towns are clustered by the ocean with breathtaking views as you approach. The Sugar Beach resort is like a dream. It is a strip of sandy beach flanked by the majestic Piton mountains. Truly a sight to see. The villas of Sugar Beach are also breathtaking. They are large and well laid out. The four poster king bed is incredibly comfortable and the bedding immaculate. There is a claw legged tub in the bathroom in addition to a spacious walk in shower with two shower heads. The shampoos and lotions are high end and plentiful. Each villa has a plunge pool with a view of the ocean and the mountains. Just blissful!!! The service staff was lovely. Everyone was warm and welcoming. Each villa is assigned a butler. Ours, Wynel or Winnie, was lovely and truly exceeded all expectations. In fact, on one day, when returning from a long, hot hike, he greeted us with ice cold towels and coconut water. I am very self-sufficient so it took a lot for me to feel comfortable with the butler concept but by our last day, I knew I would miss Wynel's ever present assistance. So what is not perfect about Sugar Beach? Well, a number of things. The resort is spread out so that unless you are staying in one of the beach front rooms, you have to take a shuttle to get to the beach, the hotel lobby and all of the dining facilities. The wait for the shuttles was never long but a bit of a drag if you are use to just walking places. I also felt badly not tipping the shuttle drivers but that cost can add up if you are taking 5-6 shuttles each day. The resort is also isolated. There are no places nearby to if you want to experience local food and life. To get anywhere, you basically have to take a taxi and again, it isn't cheap. The beach, while beautiful, is small and not a powdery sand beach once you enter the water. It is peppered with stones along the shoreline. There are many activities by the beach and you can also take a water taxi to nearby towns. The cost however, is not cheap. A round trip to Castries - about an hour away - was $200 US. My biggest issue with Sugar Beach is the food. Because you are basically captive at the resort, the food choices get boring after a while and yes, again, are very expensive for what is offered. On my first day there, my daughter and I have a burger and chicken sandwich at the dining facility by the water. She had a coke and I had a beer. Total tab was $60. There is also very little in terms of local foods. I was hoping for lots of wonderful fresh fish and seafood options but was disappointed by the menu. Overall, Sugar Beach is amazing. I don't think I will go back but I'm glad I experienced it. If you are thinking of going, bring lots of money and plan to chill at the resort.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Berta C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2015

Good day,
Based on your comments it appears that on balance you had a great Sugar Beach experience, with the exception of the price for food and the menu selections we offer. We are happy to hear that your butler anticipated your needs and added personal touches that made your stay particularly relaxing and enjoyable. Winnel will be commended for taking such great care of you and ensuring that you remained happy throughout your stay.
Your comments, and the comments of others posting on this forum, have been discussed with the director of food and beverage and there will be tangible changes made to both the pricing and the availability of locally inspired menu options. So thank you for your candor in raising this issue.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and business.
We hope you will reconsider a return visit as we work to resolve the concerns you have raised.
Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015 via mobile

Looking for resorts to stay at was a difficult task as not all hotels will allow infant children. We came to sugar beach resort. We stayed in rooms 904/905. A combination two bedroom villa. It was an amazing stay even at the price.

We arrived to sugar beach and was dropped off at our room. Waiting for us was our own personal butlers during our stay. They are there to help with anything that you need. Our butlers moved our luggage into our rooms and Curtney was explaining everything about how the room was setup. He guided us out to the deck with sit in pool. And to our surprise the most amazing view you can imagine, right in front of us was Petit Piton. We can just sit in our pool and enjoy the sigh of Petit. sugar beach pretty much thought of all the small things and makes it easy for the visitor to just relax. Within the room are cell phones which work anywhere on the island and it will get you in touch with your butler if you need any assistance. Getting a taxi for example. The rooms where decorated in all white. Simple and clean. One bedroom, living area and master bath. I could go on and on about how great sugar beach resort is, and would definitely recommend as there service is excellent.

Pros on sugar beach
1. Service - having a personal butler able to assist with any problems and questions. Def a plus to have.
2. The views - sugar beach is situated in between the two pitons. The room we stayed had a direct view of petit.
3. Beach - clean and calm carribean waters. Also access to free amenities. Kayak, paddle board, snorkel gear.
4. Snorkeling - easy access to some good snorkeling
5. Pool - if the ocean water is not what you are looking for the pool they had design is amazing with view is the Piton.

Cons with sugar beach
1. Access to the beach/dining - we stayed in the 900's as there are different levels. We would require a shuttle every time we would need to get to the beach or grab some food. A short ride and quite fun in the Tuk Tuk that your butler can call up for you, but still it's not walking distance as there are hills.
2. Isolation - sugar beach is pretty isolated and if you want to go into soufriere or dine in other restaurants outside expect a 50 dollar can ride every time. The road conditions to/from sugar beach is not the best as you are along the mountains.

All in all this was still an amazing stay for me and my family. If your not looking to adventure outside and just want to relax in resort this is the place to stay.

Date of stay: May 2015
1  Thank asiankidxp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2015

Good day,
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort.
We appreciate your feedback and are glad to hear that you had an amazing stay. As you have pointed out, there are places to venture outside of Sugar Beach and we provide the means of getting to them via taxi. There is an added expense, but we like to encourage our guests to explore the areas around the resort and to sample the range of restaurants and activities on our doorstep.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business.
We hope to see you again soon.

Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2015

We stayed at Sugar Beach during our honeymoon in St. Lucia and could not be more pleased with our stay. In my opinion the location (in between the Pitons) was better than any other resort on the island. It is close to virtually all worthwhile excursions, has access to one of the most beautiful, albeit small, beaches I have ever seen, and is within a short cab ride from two of the island's best restaurants. The food is expensive, but we also stayed at an all-inclusive resort during a portion of our trip and we felt that the all-in cost of Sugar Beach was not exhorbitant relative to all-inclusive alternatives. On the cost side, the cabs and water taxis can be quite expensive - $50-100 to go to nearby restaurants and towns round-trip. This is really my only complaint about the resort.

We stayed in a superior villa and it was incredible. It was beautiful and luxurious in every way. Most of the resorts on the island are dated and lacking in the extra amenities, but that is certainly not true for Sugar Beach. While it is expensive, we both thought that we got what we paid for. For that matter, the entire property was pristine and beautiful.

One last note - the service was outstanding. Everyone was extremely attentive and responsive to requests. In addition, we really felt that the staff was happy to be working there and that really shows in the level of service we received. In particular, our butlers Sherman and Udel were wonderful and took care of all of our needs. Do not be scared off by the shuttle service (most rooms require shuttles to and from the clubhouse and beach). We never waited more than 5 minutes for one and the butlers provided us a with small phone that we could use any time. They also made reservations for us; they reallly took over all of the organization and planning for our stay. It really put the experience over the top.

To summarize, the resort property is gorgeous and service is impeccable. Its not what I would call a great value, but it is absolutely worth every penny. You cannot go wrong staying at Sugar Beach.

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABoersma, General Manager at Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2015

Good day,
Thank you for choosing Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort for your honeymoon and for sharing your comments.
We are always striving to deliver outstanding service. We are elated that your stay was nothing short of outstanding.
Your butlers will be praised for a job well done and will be happy to know that you appreciated the services they offered.
Once again, thank you for your comments and business. We hope to welcome you back for your first anniversary.
Regards,
André Boersma
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews