We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little paradise within the big St Lucia paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hummingbird Beach Resort
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2017

This resort is beautiful, it is like living in a botanical garden, the sounds of the sea, the hummingbirds on the morning flying around the impressive garden, and in the evening the loud song of the crickets remind you that you are in a paradise. The resort is small and very clean, the people working there is very nice and since it is very small everyone knows each other, so it is great. It is very close to Soufriere town which it is little town with all the things you need like supermarket, bank, bars…I take half star out because of the mosquitos, that is a lot of mosquitos! I struggled a lot with them but since this is not their fault I only take 1/2 star. The other half star I take out is because their WI-FI did not work very well. This may not be their fault neither as it seems it was the weather.

The food is fantastic, do eat there, so well presented and delicious. And very good price for quality.

Anyways, great place but if you go in June which is the raining season, make sure you are prepare for the mosquito’s attack which are very aggressive.

Room Tip: if you go in the raining season go for an air conditioning room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Inmatxitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2017

Small hotel (resort is too big a word) with helpful staff and modest but clean accommodation. Restaurant serves good meals though limited and in some cases inadequate (breakfast choices ...ham (off) bacon (off) eggs (OK) - not the best)
Great view of Pitons, but town rather decrepit.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Habari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

Upon arriving in St Lucia, our driver that was arranged by Hummingbird Beach Resort was waiting for us right in front of the airport with a smile. He took us on a 30-40 minute beautiful drive through St Lucia to Sourfriere, pointing out many of the wonderful features of the island and recommending things for us to do on our stay. Upon arriving at the Hummingbird, we were warmly greeted Shervon, who showed us to our room just steps from the beach sand, with a wonderful view of Gros Piton from our front porch. We had breakfast every day at the hotel, and it was always fantastic. We had a couple of dinners at the restaurant, as well. The fish was always perfectly cooked, sauces and side dishes were spot on. The service throughout our 2 week stay was excellent from every member of the hotel staff. A special thanks again to Daniel and Shervon in the office, Junasha, Desiree, Elsa, Gabriella and Charlene at the restaurant for taking such great care of us the entire time!

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank spanishfoodlova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017

A great beach with nice snorkelling. It is one of the few beaches on St Lucia not dominated by one of the large expensive hotels. Sun loungers etc are reasonably priced. Nearby are a couple of nice restaurants.

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank Gragill_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

We are a family with 2 kids age 5 and 9. I chose to stay in this hotel because it was close to town and beaches, and the property and the view looked great on the pictures. We stayed there for 8 nights and we were very happy.

The hotel grounds:
The property is indeed beautiful - flowers, hummingbird trees, mango trees, breadfruit tree, calabash. The view towards the Pitons and the Caribbean is breathtaking. You can swim in the pool and enjoy it. The view from our second floor ocean view room was absolutely magnificent, with a hummingbird tree in front and below our balcony and different types of hummingbirds fluttering about and drinking nectar.
There is a cottage on the other side of the road that is part of Hummingbird resort, and the garden that leads to it is lush with flowers and fruit trees. They grow there some of the fruits and vegetables they serve in the restaurant.

Restaurant:
The food is expensive but so good. The gazpacho is fantastic, my favorite were the the curry shrimp, shrimp St. Jacque, the crepe with vegetables, and all pasta dishes (the pasta with vegetables was so good - there were more vegetables than pasta, it was more like pasta salad, so delicious). The fish dishes were great as well. Out of 8 evenings, we had dinner there 7 times and there wasn’t anything that we didn’t like. I think my least favorite was the shrimp with tomato sauce.

Mosquitoes:
You really have to be prepared, they are fierce. I will start that mosquitoes really like me so I get bitten around 10 times more than an average person. Having said that, on our first evening I forgot to put bug repellent and after 1 - 1.5h in the restaurant I had about 150 bites, some of which got really itchy and big. My husband and kids got probably 10 each. After that I was really careful to always put bug repellant but i was still getting bitten daily. There are nets around the beds but sometimes the suckers manage to get inside and they get exclusive access to food all night (one morning a killed 3 inside the net). The resort actually sprays against mosquitoes.

Water:
We drank water from the tap and we were fine. One thing that both I and my husband noticed but forgot to ask the hotel staff was that one day the water tasted horribly, as if there was some chemical in it. Later I noticed the same smell on a clean pillowcase in the closet and I concluded that this must have been a large amount of some disinfectant. I wish we asked the staff.
We all had some slight stomach discomfort 2 days later but i don’t know it it was related.

Beach:
The beach is not very inviting, although I heard you can snorkel by the rocks on the right. The water is clear but in the middle of the beach there is some canal /open pipe dumping dirty water in the ocean and the stench is unbearable when you get close to it so we didn’t feel comfortable swimming on that beach.

Town:
We went to the town twice in the morning to buy fresh coconuts and bug repellant from the pharmacy. There is a big pharmacy you can get whatever you need.
There is a guy that sells fresh coconuts - he comes in the morning with an open truck and the local people buy coconuts to drink the water - he comes early and may be done by 10am. He comes almost every day. He chops the top of the coconut for you and gives you a straw so you can drink. He is even filling up bottles with coconut water for the locals. He sells brown coconuts as well. You can find him on the street where the people are selling produce - there are a few sellers lining the street selling bananas, plantains, and other local varieties, and some things that look like turnips, I don’t know what they were.
The central square is closed now for renovation, someone said they are building a park that will be ready by the end of the year. It looks like they has done a similar renovation recently along the water and looks very nice.

Location:
The location is perfect. It’s right at the edge of town (you can walk 5 min and buy fresh coconuts in the morning), and it’s a perfect base for places to go to: beaches (Anse Chastanet, Anse Mamin and Sugar Beach which are all great for snorkeling), the Pitons (we climbed Gros piton but we don’t recommend for kids younger than 9-10, you can read my review at https://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g147342-d150512-r483551026-Pitons-St_Lucia.html#REVIEWS), the botanical garden, nature hikes (Tet Paul hike - easy hike offering spectacular views), Zip lining (Coubaril Estate), cocoa and chocolate tours (Rabot Estate at hotel Chocolat).

Restaurants:
I can’t say enough about the restaurant at Hummingbird hotel - we had dinner there 7 out of 8 night. It was absolutely delicious.
The one local restaurant we had dinner at was Ruby's Pizzeria. We had great experience, I definitely recommend it. The owner was so accommodating, and the staff so friendly. The food was absolutely delicious and came out very fast. Looks like the restaurant is very popular - there was a birthday party in the garden that was finishing up when we arrived, and some local people were having dinner inside - we sat outside though because inside was air-conditioned and was too cold. While we were having dinner a lot of local people came for drinks and also a big group of tourists came for dinner.

Restaurants with great view we visited: La Haut restaurant, restaurant Boucan, both amazing, we visited for lunch.


Nearby beaches and snorkeling:
Anse Chastanet - beautiful beach, great snorkeling, can rent snorkeling equipment for $10/hour; there is a designated snorkeling area, there is a restaurant and restrooms
Anse Mamin - beautiful beach, maybe even more beautiful than Anse Chastanet, but to get there you have to walk from Anse Chastanet for about 5 min on a path along the coast where is a danger of falling rocks; there is also a restaurant on the beack that is open until 3pm. The snorkeling area is not designated - it’s by the rocks on the left; you can’t rent snorkeling equipment there, you can rent at Anse Mamin but you have to do it for at least 2 hours in order to have time to get to the beach and back.
Sugar Beach (used to be Jalouse Beach) - beautiful beach, great snorkeling, can rent snorkeling equipment, there is a designated snorkeling area, there is a restaurant, restrooms and changing area for visitors.
For the kids Sugar Beach was the best because it was shallower than the others. During our second and third day of snorkeling there were some small stinging transparent things in the water (resembling miniature jellyfish) that ware stinging us everywhere but it didn’t hurt for a long time.

We rented equipment from Chester at the dive shop on the beach in front of the hotel (you can enter the shop from the hotel yard) and it was $10/day pp.

Nature hikes:
The botanical gardens - truly beautiful, don’t miss; we went late so we couldn’t try the mineral baths (they empty them at 4:30) but they looked pretty small so i don’t regret it.
Tet Paul hike - easy hike, the view is spectacular, for me it was more impressive than the view from Gros Piton. We had to have a guide (when you come for a first time) and he gave us a lot of information.

Chocolate tour at Rabot Estate:
We took the chocolate tour at Hotel Chocolate. The tour is expensive but very informative, interactive, fun, and worth the money even though I had to strain to understand what the guide was saying (to be fair, I had similar problem with most of the guides on St. Lucia - their speak English with a heavy accent). The tour had 2 parts - tree to bean and bean to bar. The first part was very interesting and educational. You learn about the different cocoa trees, you graft a trees, you learn about the process of making chocolate. In the second part we made our own chocolate and the kids loved it.
The estate is beautiful - while walked through the cocoa groves we were filled with amazement and wonder. The hike to the lake was exciting but we couldn't really get to the lake since the path just ended at some point. Regardless, there were some great photo opportunities before we turned back. We walked to the highest point that provides a view of the Soufrière Basin, Mount Gimme (the highest pick in St. Lucia), both Pitons, and the Caribbean Sea. I read that the view is rated as the best view in Saint Lucia. I would agree but I would also add that it is comparable with the view from Tet Paul hike.
The view from Restaurant Boucan is also amazing (as is the food).

Zip lining at Morne Coubaril estate:
At Morne Coubaril estate we had creole lunch, estate tour, and zip lining. We were 2 adults and 2 kids, and it cost us around $300. Even though the zip lining in my opinion was a little bit too expensive, the fact that 2 kids count as 1 adult compensated for it, and together with the lunch and the estate tour, I think it is worth the money.
We did it with our kids ages 5 and 9. it's a small-scale zip lining and appropriate for young children (we were told as young as 2). The guides were very nice, it felt safe. It was fun for the kids and the vistas are beautiful. We had already done zip-lining 3 times in Costa Rica including once with the kids (the most impressive being at Selvatura national park pre-kids) so that one felt smaller scale - the lines were shorter, not that high up, and were 8 (not 12 for instance) lines. Regardless, it was good. The other option would have been to drive 1.5 h north to get to the bigger zip-lining operators but we didn't feel like driving neither we were sure they would take our 5-year old.
Estate walking tour: was short but informative
Creole lunch: good value; the fish was great.

Car rental
We used Drive-a-matic and we had great experience - we pre-registered and it made it really fast at the counter when we arrived; we picked right at the airport, we dropped right at the airport, just across the street from the check in. It was so fast. The agents were very diligent to note any issue with the car. We had no problem when we returned. This was our best renting experience ever.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
12  Thank mariya_bor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Soufriere
1.6 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
972 reviews
4.3 km away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
1.5 km away
Stonefield Villa Resort
Stonefield Villa Resort
#8 of 11 in Soufriere
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,203 reviews
27 km away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,199 reviews
7.7 km away
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
Ti Kaye Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Anse Cochon
1,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hummingbird Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hummingbird Beach Resort

Address: Anse Chastanet Road, Soufriere, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Soufriere Quarter > Soufriere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Soufriere
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Soufriere
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Soufriere
Price Range: ₹ 8,590 - ₹ 22,949 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hummingbird Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hummingbird Beach Resort is a small, intimate resort, located in the scenic town of Soufriere on the south western part of St. Lucia, home to the famous pitons – a world heritage site. Hummingbird Beach Resort has eight (8) beautifully decorated rooms, most of which offer magnificent views of the ocean and the pitons. We also have a Country Cottage which accommodates a family of four (4) comfortably, it is fully furnished and offers breathtaking views of the pitons. We are world renowned for our French Creole Cuisine, award winning cocktails and beautiful batik studio. We are located on the beach and also have a fresh water swimming pool. We do arrange a wide range of tours and excursions. Spa treatments can be made available on request. Let us host your dream wedding or wedding reception dinner. Our tropical island setting and renowned hospitality combine to make your Caribbean wedding and honeymoon an unforgettable experience. Make the charming Hummingbird Beach Resort your choice of accommodation in Soufriere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hummingbird Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hummingbird Beach Hotel
Hummingbird Beach Soufrière
Hummingbird Beach Resort St. Lucia/Soufriere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing