We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view”
Review of The Mango Tree

The Mango Tree
Ranked #7 of 37 Restaurants in Soufriere
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Mango Tree Restaurant, like the resort itself is tropically elegant. The al fresco dining pavilion looks out over a small river stone pool and takes in the magnificent Petit Piton and views of the Caribbean Sea. Stonefield Estate Resort features 3 exciting menus,rotated each day.Our chef and his culinary team use all fresh local market ingredients to make the freshest, most delicious St Lucian flare. All herbs and vegetables grown on property are organic and the former plantation still yields the seasonal citrus, mango and breadfruit which are incorporated into the daily menus. The Mango Tree Restaurant features a special vegan menu, as well as a children’s menu. And to stir it up true Caribbean style, The Mango Tree presents a rotating dinner theme menu featuring the popular Barbecue Thursdays, a charming Creole evening with a live local shak shak band and the best baby back ribs and jerk bake on the west coast. The Saturday Market Affair serves up the best of what has been freshly procured at the nearby Soufriere market with live entertainment from local musicians. Whether you dine under a full moon with Petit Piton cast in shadow, under the starriest of nights, or witness passing ships alight, The Mango Tree Restaurants brings diners the perfect marriage of location and gourmet Creole. The Mango Tree is open for breakfast from 7.30 am until 11:00 am and is open for lunch and dinner until 10:00 pm. Plantation House, the large signature villa on property features a full kitchen and the option for an in house chef for your stay.
Reviewed 11 May 2018

We dined mostly in this area so my reviews are confined to Soufriere. This was another really good restaurant with great food and service.

Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVERIL B, Public Relations Manager at The Mango Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Hello Mark,

Thank you for dining with us and for your feedback. We are delighted that your experience was a good one. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 427 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2018

When we were staying at Stonefield Resort, we had no choice but to eat at the Mango Tree several times because it is the resort restaurant. There were a few items that were inedible. The chicken cesaser salad with chicken had chunks of fatty, dark, chicken meat instead of chicken breast. Awful. The eggs Benedict did not have hollandaise but some powdered, vinegary sauce that was said to be hollandaise. The burger had breadcrumbs in it and was straight from a freezer. Coconut chicken was another bummer with a shred of fatty, dark chicken inside of blob of breading. The only thing that was decent was the grilled cheese and tomato soup. Being on such an incredible property, it has so much potential to delight.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank drjgood222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVERIL B, Public Relations Manager at The Mango Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at The Mango Tree. We are so sorry that the experience was not what you anticipated. We appreciate your comments, however, we also understand that "taste" can be a very subjective matter. We are quite proud of our very varied menu. We certainly acknowledge that there is always room for improvement and that every day may not be the same, but we are quite confident that the quality of our output in the restaurant is of a quality standard in the eyes of most of our patrons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018

The food is a buffet and very local. Delicious , seasoned well, and great assortment of dishes, and desserts.
The floor show is two local men doing acrobatics , fire eating and limb dancing. It is very entertaining for children and adults.
The view from the Mango Tree is one of the best. The Piton mountain, the Caribbean Sea, is the BEST.
It only happens on Thursday night, so be sure and make a reservation at Stonefield Estate, for the Mango Tree.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Isadora C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVERIL B, Public Relations Manager at The Mango Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Hello Isadora,
Thank you for appreciating our Thursday night buffet extravaganza. We are very committed to serving local food especially the produce we grow right here on the resort. This allows us to be flexible as well as we have the opportunity to feature items as they are in season. We are very fortunate to have the envious view we have and when that combines with great fresh local food it can be quite an extraordinary experience. We are certainly delighted that you enjoyed the evening and we hope to host you very soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018

We stayed at the hotel, so we ate at this restaurant quite a few times for breakfast and a few times at dinner. The location is excellent and looks out over the water. The food was pretty good, the price was ok.

I've got mixed feelings on the service. Many times, I felt the hostess and the waitress were a bit rude; I'm not sure if they meant to be or if that's just the way the culture is? I constantly felt like I was an inconvenience.

There are some exceptions to this. Mary, Skeeter, and one of the guy waiters was super friendly. The chef also did an excellent job with a special request I had.

I'd go back, but I would also venture out more next time.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Casey F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVERIL B, Public Relations Manager at The Mango Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear Casey,

Thank you for staying with us at Stonefield and for dining with us at the Mango Tree. We appreciate this feedback and will address the gaps that may exist in our service delivery. Our goal is to have consistently good service and we have noted your useful feedback re Mary and Skeeter and our Chef. This helps us in identifying the weak links. We look forward to welcoming back and hope that will happen soon. That table with the stunning view will be waiting for you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018

We had never been to the Mango Tree before, but had arranged to meet some friends there for lunch, as it was one of their regular lunch places. You approach the restaurant along a long narrow and steep drive leading down from the main road, and then have to park and climb the steps up to the restaurant. The setting is incredible, with a stunning view down to the sea between the two Pitons, and surrounded by tropical vegetation. There is a swimming pool in front of the restaurant.

The food is good, but certainly not outstanding. My husband enjoyed his chicken roti, but my fish was very overcooked. The service was slow. However, for me it was the setting that made the lunch a memorable occasion.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CindyAnn37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AVERIL B, Public Relations Manager at The Mango Tree, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2018

Dear CindyAnn,

We appreciate your dining with us at the Mango Tree and we thank you for this feedback. We are sorry that the fish was overcooked and we have brought this to the attention of our kitchen. Our Rotis are very popular and we are delighted that your husband enjoyed his. Please come again especially for that stunning view.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mango Tree also viewed

Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 
Soufriere, Soufriere Quarter
 

Been to The Mango Tree? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing