We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Convenience and amenities!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tropical Breeze Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tropical Breeze Guest House
Ranked #3 of 15 Gros Islet B&B and Inns
Salida, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Convenience and amenities!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

I stayed at Tropical Breeze in September for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. There had been a mix up about the type of accommodation that I had requested but the owner quickly took care of that and even honored a much lower rate than would usually be charged. It was customer service at its best.

The apartment that I stayed in was very large with 3 bedrooms and 2 baths, a nice sized living area, and a huge kitchen and dining area that was well stocked with most anything that you would need. Outside, there was a large balcony overlooking beautiful Rodney Bay complete with a table and chairs, as well as a nice gas bbq grill. Some evenings you could hear the melodies of a steel pan band for your listening enjoyment while you dined al fresco.

Liston was very sweet about offering any help or answering any questions and was a great host. My unit was extremely clean with service every day - which I did not expect from an apartment/ guesthouse setting!

The guesthouse is very close to transportation, but far enough from the main road to alleviate any road noise. The ONLY drawback to Tropical Breeze was the lack of a/c in the main rooms (kitchen and living), however, the bedrooms were air conditioned and made sleeping extremely comfortable.

This is definitely an wonderful option if you are wanting a place to relax, do some cooking, and have a very comfortable and clean place to stay at an excellent price.

Room Tip: there are several rooms available for rent in the main part of the house similar to hotel rooms as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alicia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    14
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
21
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

We booked this guesthouse because it had good reviews, it was cheap, and in gros islet rather than rodney bay, so we felt we'd have a more authentic experience and be able to walk to the places we wanted to go without getting the bus (e.g. pigeon island). We highly regretted our decision to stay here. I should say, however, that I am aware that we stayed here at a time when there had been a death in the family, and I'm not sure that the couple who took care of us were the same people that usually look after the place - having said that, only some of the problems were due to the people, our main issue was with the place itself.
Firstly, when we arrived, we were told that the room we had booked in the main house was unavailable as the previous couple had decided to stay an extra day, so we were taken to a room in the upstairs appartment. This room was incredibly small (hardly space to put our things down) and incredibly hot when we got there as they hadn't bothered turning the AC on, and when it was switched on it was very noisy. And of course, we were unhappy at having to re-pack our suitcases in the morning, lug them back downstairs to be left in the reception area until the afternoon when our new room would be available.
The new room was better (bigger and had better AC) but was very bare and not the kind of room where you would enjoy lying on your bed reading or relaxing, which, unfortunately we had to do rather a lot of due to very heavy rain.
Another issue we had with the place was the overly-relaxed nature of our hosts We had requested breakfast at 7.30 as we were being picked up at 8 to go scuba diving. But the host only emerged and started cooking at 7.30 which meant we weren't served until around 7.45 and were rushed to eat (the food was delicious and plentiful, however, we cannot fault that!) - when our Scuba master arrived to pick us up we were therefore not ready, and he was annoyed, which our host witnessed. On the second and third days, when we again needed an early breakfast for the same reason, this problem was not rectified, in fact one morning there was no sign of our hostess at all until around 7.45!
In conclusion, unless you are on an extremely tight budget, I would not recommend tropical breeze. We highly regretted our decision not to spend a little more to stay somewhere better. (If you want to stay in Gros Islet, Bay Guesthouse seemed nicer than Tropical Breeze although we did not go inside).

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank L083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

I´ve been coming to Tropical Breeze for almost five years and I can say it is one of my favourite spots while I am working. Always nice, always clean, always comfortable !!!
Easy to find and easy to relax!!!
If I want to go to the beach I walk or drive, it does not matter, there is a wonderful place to go from here to everywhere...... and their hospitality is the invitation I am taken every time I am leaving St. Lucia !!!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Solecita147392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2011

My husband and I just returned from a trip to St Lucia & a stay at Tropical Breeze. We left with only fond memories and very satisfied feelings about our accommodations. Tropical Breeze was responsive & great at answering my myriad amount of questions before we even arrived. The price for staying there is utterly unbeatable, especially when you think about the space & amenities you get. We stayed in the Charles Apt during our stay and it was immaculately clean (with daily maid service). The kitchen gave us the ability to cook some of our own meals but we split that in half with eating out so it was a nice balance. There is an AC unit in the bedroom so you stay cool while sleeping and then when not in the bedroom you have many windows to open with the lovely constant breeze to cool your space down. Wi-Fi is also available at a nominal fee.

The location was in a very local area which enabled us to meet a good number of the friendly locals. We walked to the Friday Night Jump Up in about 3 minutes and the beach is just a bit further. You can walk to most of the nice beaches from this location including Reduit (prob 30 minute walk or short bus ride which is 1.5 ECD per person each way), Pigeon Island (prob 20 minute walk & Jambe de Bois for lunch or dinner is a must), or even just the long stretch of beach starting close to the apt going all the way to Pigeon Island which is really nice.

The people who run this place are exceptionally kind & friendly. I cannot really say anything negative about this place but if you are the type who likes all-inclusive big resorts...this is not the place for you. Also, one other small thing (but I fell it bears mentioning)...when we paid our remaining balance with credit card we were charged an additional 4% fee (not the cc fee) by Tropical Breeze. I was not informed of this fee at any point but since we were so happy with the place we decided not to make a fuss over 12USD...just wanted to mention for awareness purposes.

Overall, a fabulous trip to St Lucia and Tropical Breeze was a very integral part of that. Thank you Ruth & Listen!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leigh-AnneBoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2011

We were greeted warmly by the staff at this '"Off the beaten path"' guest house. Tired from our flight we were about to set out to walk into the town when a member of the staff graciously offered to walk the paths and help us find a good place to eat. Water in the shower was not in abundance but the charm of the place made up for it.

This place is right for those looking for simple, local and the non-conventional vacation accommodation

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank excie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gros Islet
0.7 km away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#7 of 13 in Gros Islet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 403 reviews
1.1 km away
Harmony Suites
Harmony Suites
#7 of 12 in Castries
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
0.9 km away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,861 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
St. Lucian by Rex Resorts
St. Lucian by Rex Resorts
#5 of 13 in Gros Islet
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,528 reviews
3.5 km away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
5.2 km away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Breeze Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Breeze Guest House

Property: Tropical Breeze Guest House
Address: 38 Massie Street | Rodney Bay, Gros Islet, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Gros Islet Quarter > Gros Islet
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Gros Islet
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,882 - ₹ 5,176
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please contact property to arrange airport pick up. Internet Access upon request available with a 5USD charge Accessible by jet from all major destinations. St. Lucia is located at the southern end of the Caribbean chain with Martinique a convenient 23 miles to its North and Barbados to its near Southeast. This family owned and operated Vacation property is conveniently located in the Northern part of St. Lucia and 7.5 miles north of Castries the Capital.. A few minutes walk will take you to St. Lucias most beautiful beaches-18 hole golf course-night entertainment-Restaurants-banks-Rodney Bar Marina-supermarkets and shopping centres. From the twin sugar loaf peaks of the Pitons to picturesque fishing villages from the worlds only drive-in volcano to superb beaches from sulphur-springs to water-falls and rain forest St. Lucia will never fail to amaze you. Our friendly and committed staff are knowledgeable of all the important amenities that a vacationer would seek. They will arrange all your day trips to interesting places including the Sulphur Springs Rain Forest Botanical Garden Hiking Scuba Dive Snorkling Horse Back Riding Windsurfing Fishing Sailing etc. Sight seeing highlights include Castries the capital with its bustling market Marigot Bay locale for the enchanting movie Dr. Doolittle. The village of Gros-Islet with its Friday Night street party Point Sarephine duty free terminals and historic Pigeon Tropical Breeze offers truly affordable value for your money. Our commitment is to provide all our Guests with a safe clean and comfortable environment in which to have a very enjoyable and well deserved holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Tropical Breeze Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Breeze Hotel Gros Islet
Tropical Breeze Guest House St. Lucia/Gros Islet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing