We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
East Winds
Nearby Hotels
Bay Gardens Inn(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
US$ 130
US$ 116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 329
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$ 357
US$ 323
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palm Haven Hotel(Gros Islet)
US$ 139
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ginger Lily Hotel(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
US$ 122
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Habitat Terrace(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
US$ 98
US$ 58
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 247
US$ 214
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Breeze Guest House(Gros Islet)(Great Value!)
US$ 75
Booking.com
View Deal
US$ 1,279
US$ 914
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 376
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (922)
Filter reviews
922 results
Traveller rating
826
72
19
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
826
72
19
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfitness trailbamboo loungedeluxe cottagesunken showerother guestsfour coursesyoga pavilionhouse partyhead gardenerpre dinner champagnest luciasunset cruisesteel bandlocal musicianseach eveninghumming birdsbreakfast and lunch
Filter
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 922 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Yes, our eleventh time, and we've already booked our next holiday at this wonderful place. Why?

Because of the staff - and we will NOT fall for the temptation to mention any names, simply because each and every one is part of the whole East Winds Experience.
Smiles and friendliness, service and attention in abundance!

Meals, whether at breakfast time, lunch or dinner, are all exquisite highights. Special requests are no bother. We have never had any reason to complain about a meal, but feel certain that if we were not happy with something, and told them so with a smile and with curtesy, that it would be promptly dealt with.

The beach is idyllic, quiet and lovely. There are two areas for guests who stay at East Winds and at no time has there been a shortage of sunbeds, even when the hotel was full. In addition there is the pool, with the swim-up bar, and plenty of sunbeds.

Must admit we've never used the spa. Perhaps because the whole East Winds Experience has felt like a treatment for Body and Soul. Our laugh lines, however, are getting more pronounced with every visit!

Fellow guests are on the whole a happy, friendly bunch of people, many of them returning visitors like ourselves. And it is easy to understand why! So THANK YOU to everybody at East Winds! We can't wait to see you again!

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank happytwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith M, Manager at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2017

Dear Happy Twins

Great name by the way! Thank you for the wonderful supportive review - we really appreciate the effort it takes to write a review and your made me smile.

We love having you with us and are already looking forward to the next time to visit your island home.

Warm wishes
Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

I seem to be in the minority when it comes to my memories of the food at East Winds. I will explain why my review is only a 3.

Breakfast. Unimaginative, repetitive and uninspired. Eggs, baked beans burnt bacon everyday. Croissants stale and glutinous.

Lunch, make sure you get there at opening or on non BBQ days the food is either dried up or being picked at by the birds. If the salad runs out – kitchen staff tell you it’s all gone. The goose was a delightful surprise one lunchtime.

Dinner. Despite other reviewers praising the Spiny Lobster – ours was so undercooked it was still translucent. Many of the meals were undercooked and under seasoned during the week but somehow each pork dish was perfect.

Rooms, we had the Suite and it’s absolutely superb, private terrace overlooking magnificent sunsets and 40 paces to the beach across the lawn. Problem is there is no chance to get one of the 10 sunbeds on the beach unless you get up before 7am and rush down to claim ownership with a towel and a paperback.

Pool. Lovely pool area and the help yourself bar is a really good idea and guest do tidy up after themselves. Well stocked bar. The pool is between 28 and 30 degrees but does feel like torture until you get acclimatised.

Staff, many reviewers mention the quality of staff. And it’s true most staff have a good customer service attitude and a few an exemplary attitude. But this is not universal and a few can be rude and abrupt, especially in the dining room.

Spa. Not really a spa, more a place offering a few treatments and delivered without the wow factor.

So overall my review is positive as a destination and congratulatory overall but there are areas for improvement as outlined above.

Five members of staff need to be mentioned for their outstanding work ethic and providing service above the norm. Silvia, Haig, Debbie ,Charms and especially the little gardener in the enormous wellington boots who rushes around all day.

Room Tip: The Suite is superb.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
18  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith M, Manager at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Hi David

Many thanks for your review. I appreciate all the comments, after all the only way to learn is through truthful feedback.

I am so sorry that you felt we under-performed for your during your stay and as you mentioned we do receive many positive comments about the food, staff and atmosphere at East Winds.

I am sorry that you didn't come and chat to me during the week and let me know that you were not satisfied with the hotel, it's always so much easier to put a wrong right during your stay.

You may not have realized that the beach is separated into 3 distinct sections, each one quite small and private but in total we have enough space for every guest to have their own beach chairs without having to reserve them and we actively discourage guests from 'reserving' chairs and then not sitting on them. February is our busiest time and perhaps that caused some congestion at times.

The Executive Chef and I have already talked through your food comments and he will take extra care to make sure that we don't have such negative feedback again.

It is not easy to please all the people all the time!! But we try very hard to give our guests the best authentic Caribbean experience we can.

Better luck next time in finding the right hotel for you, I wish you both the very best and thanks again for your honest and comprehensive comments.

Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

We just returned from a week at East Winds and found it to be a unique experience, quite different than anything we have experienced over the years from larger all-inclusive resorts.

First of all, as the only American guests during most of our time at East Winds, we truly enjoyed sharing time with our new British friends, who were most welcoming and warm. We spent many meal times, cocktail hours and evening entertainment times together in a group that can only be described as what felt like old friends. And as you've read in other reviews, many many guests have been meeting each other at East Winds for many, many years. It can accurately be described as having the feel of a family reunion.

I would also like to give kudos to Judith, the manager, as well as her husband, Andy. They are friendly and interesting and work hard to mingle with guests, while seeing to every comfort and accommodation. It is obvious they take their job seriously and are intent on constant and continuing improvement.

Of course the key to any successful travel experience is the staff providing services. We have traveled to different resorts every year for the past 15 years. East Winds has, without a doubt, the happiest and most relaxed staff we've ever been around. They lack the jazzed-up hype typical to resort service staff and instead are calm, cheerful and always willing to accomplish a request. They are also great fun, dancing the night away with guests on several evenings when we were there!

Simeon does a great job as service manager and Debbie was just perfect in the dining room. The bar staff is just a blast, as well.

The beachfront is a little tricky with a very steep entrance into the water. The water staff was quite helpful if someone needed a hand getting in and out. A solution to this situation would be helpful.

As far as the beach area for lounging -- absolutely supreme ! Beach chairs with thatched roofs are spaced a nice distance apart and the beach loungers are just wonderful! Extremely comfy !

We enjoyed the food and great French wine, especially enjoying the lobster grilled right in front of us on the large pit. Valentine's dinner was extra special, as we were served in a private beachfront gazebo.

We stayed in a superior cottage. It was a little rustic and updates are on the way, but in no way insufficient. This is beach living -- not urban.

The only negative, living where we do, we had a forced overnight on our return flight to the States, rather than being able to do a one-day return.

There may be a better airline to fly than Delta so you can get home without an extra overnight somewhere.

We would highly recommend more Americans check out East Winds. A totally different experience which provides wonderful relaxation !

Room Tip: This is a small resort, all cottages are wonderfully placed.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 333beachgirl333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith M, Manager at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Hi Beach Girl!

Great to hear from you and thanks so much for your positive and detailed review. I am so pleased that you had a great time and enjoyed everything. I know you made some new friends and that is exactly what we hope will happen - a family house party every night! With privacy if you want it.

We would love to have more visitors from the US and thanks for recommending us to your fellow countrymen.

Hope to see you again soon,
Warm wishes
Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We were looking for a small, quiet all-inclusive resort and we found it.
The best thing about East Wind is the staff. Desmond picked us up from the airport and gave us a great overview of the island. We were warmly welcomed at reception, given a cold drink, shown around the resort and were shown our room. We stayed in #30 which is the ocean front mini-suite. Beautiful, spacious and impeccably clean with a lovely patio to watch the sunset. Food was superb, breakfast and lunch were buffet with an innovative twist using local ingredients. There were 4 courses for dinner with 3 choices for each course, all with wine pairings. Liquor was top shelf and the talented bartenders would make anything you desired. Thank you to Sylvia and Jervain in the bar who remembered our drink of choice by the second night. Also, Windel at the bar that always greeted us with a great smile. Miriam and Selma in the dining room were always smiling and remembered our names after 1 day. Titus was never too busy to stop by the table to chat.
Unfortunately, we never knew the previous manager, but I can't believe that he could have done a better job than Judith that has everything running so smooth. We always saw her on our walks, hurrying from one place to another. Being business owners ourselves, we know this level of service does not happen without constant attention by the person in charge.
Simeon found the perfect trip for us, a sunset cocktail cruise exclusively for guests of the resort. While onboard, Judith's husband Andy came over and introduced himself
he spent quite some time talking to us.
We are looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Ocean front mini-suite is beautiful
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith M, Manager at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Hi Joy

Lovely to hear from you and thank you for the lovely review. We so enjoyed having you with us in our St Lucian home and I am delighted that you had such a great time.

Even better that you are coming back next year!

Funny that you mention my fast walking, I still haven't learnt to slow down!!

Warm wishes
Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

This paradise holiday starts from the minute you pull into the drive at EASTWINDS with its stunning gardens and lush flowerbeds.. you literally breathe in the smell of the sunshine and frangipani Flowers! I won't forget the cool towel and delicious fresh juice as you are met by smiling staff who welcome you. It's the attention to detail that you notice throughout that makes this absolute gem in St Lucia a true beauty..

What we loved was that the friendly ease continues throughout the holiday - from the superbly skilled and friendly staff, to the other lovely guests and to the excellent GM Judith and her husband Andy who treat you like friends in their own home. It really was like a house party, with like-minded friends, everyone was so interesting!

We loved our newly renovated cottage - our room was very stylish, with calm colours and an incredibly comfortable bed. We spent a lot of time on the private terrace area outside watching the beautiful hummingbirds! The beautiful room touches, quality bedlinen, that mattress was so comfortable, and tea facilities which was a huge plus with Twinings tea.. It all added up to be an amazing holiday!

We loved the bathroom with its sunken rain shower and there were fabulous toiletries (and really useful insect repellant, another great thoughtful touch - we followed the spraying instructions and we didn't spot one mossie and came home bite-free !
A rare holiday treat.).

The sunsets were sublime, the romantic location hard to beat, and the beach boys made our holiday - a daily ritual after doing the outdoor fitness trail was a pinacolada brought to our sunbeds just before sunset.. most guests wait until sunset to leave the beach as it's just a perfect end to every single day in our tropical corner of paradise!

We experienced New Year's Eve St Lucian style - which surpassed everyone's expectations...really special, and it was one of the best New Years party's I had ever had! The St Lucia Police band to kick it off around the pool, a delicious menu, amazing hats and topped off with Fireworks on the beach..and a really lovely touch where all the staff were invited to the party for midnight.

The staff make this place special, the gardeners' tour, Paula's delicious pancakes at breakfast are legendary, Miriam's smile, Titus who manages the dining room, the great beach boys who kept the cocktails flowing, the guys managing the water sports kept us snorkelling and canoeing all week long, and the girls at reception with the beautiful Glenda who is in charge of the weddings and renewal of vows!
A special star must go to Sylvia who had been at EASTWINDS for a week only but her smile, gentle attention and care really shone brightly.

Not to forget the fabulous and fun Simeon who organises the trips who recommended the private Eastwinds sunset cruise, and.. its well worth it..on a beautiful private catamaran, with lovely Eastwinds guests only and lots of champagne..it was a like the best private party !

The Gros Islet street party was also such fun - if you get the chance to go, ask at reception for them to arrange a taxi who waits for you and brings you back...and you get a taste of not only the local Rum but the local life at night, with great music!

I did yoga and pilates most days (there is a programme of 4 mornings a week with brilliant teachers all taking place in a wooden pavilion surrounded by lush gardens, bliss) and we worked off the pancakes and cocktails on the outdoor fitness trail so we actually kept our fitness up. My partner took his PADI diving course and went deep sea fishing and caught a 6ft marlin, it escaped a metre from the boat but we'll be dining out on that story for a while..

The food is exemplary - a seated dinner each evening (don't forget long trousers gents!) it's Michelin styled, would not be out of place at Nobu... and the chef was using local fresh produce and fruit and vegetables from the garden.

We are still telling friends just what an amazing time we had at EASTWINDS and I'm really hard to please! I would easily award this boutique resort 12 out of 10!
We have already booked to return, as lots of the other guests did too.

Travelled December 2016

Room Tip: The cottages are fab, further from the beach, pool & restaurant but are set in such stunning gardens that we loved the walk through them
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank sarasassy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judith M, Manager at East Winds, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2017

Hi Sarasassy

What a great and detailed review! Thanks so much for taking so much time to mention everyone that you could and in such a positive way!

I can't reply to all your comments except to say that we are so pleased that you had a great time and that you will be coming back soon. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back to you island home.

Warm wishes
Judith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews