We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our wedding anniversary!”
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our wedding anniversary!”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The hotel is very clean and beautiful. It is set in lovely gardens and has a great beach. There are plenty of things to do and there are also peaceful relaxing areas.
The hotel have different room locations. We were in a downstairs verandah room which was lovely and centrally located. We had plenty space with bathrobes and ironing facilities.
The hotel has a lazy river set in the gardens which are very romantic and quiet, although it a little way to get a drink from the bar. They have a drink service at the beach but sometimes it was slow although the staff were really friendly and helpful.
There is two restaurants, one which was self-service for breakfast, lunch and dinner and a al la carte restaurant which was excellent.. The food in the terrace was good for the most part but occasionally the quality let them down, the service was genually good although we had a few meals where we weren't offered any drinks. We ate in trysting place (al la carte) twice, both times the food and service was outstanding, we wished we had eaten there more often.
We used the gym a couple of times, it's clean and modern.
We used the tennis courts and you can get tennis lessons included in your stay.
I used the spa and it was wonderful, definitely one of my favourite parts of the holiday, I felt very relaxed and pampered. The girls were very helpful and friendly.
We had a couple of special occasions whilst on holiday and we recieved champagne and flowers in our room, it was a really nice touch from the hotel. We went out on the hobie cats and that was great, the staff were friendly and happy to help.
My husband used the dive facilities and he loved it, the dive staff went out of there way to help, very friendly and helpful.
The spa pool was great for an evening swim before sunset, the pool is heated with a very hot jazzuzi.
We did think that soft drinks in the room would be a good idea, as you do have water, tea and coffee facilities.
We liked the champagne bar, you can have a drink before or after dinner whilst listening to the piano, it stays open until the last person leaves. Once a week they have movies on the beach with drinks and popcorn we thought this was wonderful.
The beach is lovely and great for a walk, we walked along the beach up to the lighthouse. It's not far to castries and you can walk to pointe seraphine for some good shopping, just make sure you don't go when the cruise liners are in !!
The airport was not a problem for us infact we enjoyed watching the planes. The graveyard !! Well let's say there was no problem here. St lucia beach's are all public just respect it's their island and enjoy the beaches with the locals. They are no problem and it's great seeing them do there daily run along thre beach and children playing. A romantic relaxing break, recommended for any couple and any occasion.

Room Tip: We found the verandah rooms were the best as they have lovely outdoor space with sunloungers, table...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,827
    513
    132
    50
    38
See reviews for
35
2,167
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (780)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2012

My wife & I have just returned from a week’s holiday at Rendezvous, the trip was to celebrate our 7th wedding anniversary and chose it for the reviews on how relaxing etc. it was for such occasions. Ok, we are going to be honest and pragmatic on the review in the hope it helps others like us get the most from their future trip and that maybe a few of our suggestions may help the resort to reflect on what could be improved for future visitors. Firstly upon our arrival at the resort, we noticed the runway of the often mentioned local airport, it does end just about 200yards from the entrance to the resort (also right next to the cemetery). Many reviews we read before booking mentioned this airport and varied reviews on how disruptive it was or was not (obviously a personal opinion can only be gained but read on)...
During the week we were at the resort (22-29 April 2012), flights varied from a couple a day to maybe the worst day seeing around 8 aircraft take off - they do fly straight over the hotel and depending on where you are, can get some very good views of the pilot and passengers (not quite but they are low as they pass overhead). These aircraft are only small island hopper type prop units thus any noise soon passes, within say 45 seconds of hearing it approach then it’s all done with. Both my wife & I would not let this put us off from a future visit but I guess in an ideal world you would not choose to have such 'amenities' so close. We only ever heard a few aircraft go over after dark and the majority of flights seemed to be mid-morning to late afternoon.
The arrival in the resort itself & first impressions were very good and this opinion did not change during our time there. As stated in many other reviews, the grounds are impeccably clean and the 7acres of lush gardens are being tended daily and really are a positive attribute to the resort. When we arrived at reception, we were given a nice cold towel accompanied by a very nice rum punch (as widely reviewed by others) whilst being given the low down on meal times and general resort information. Once done, we were shown to our room (214) which was one of the veranda suites; this had been a free upgrade via BlueBay Travel whom we had booked with. Now, this is where you have to be pragmatic on standards and star ratings, remember, this is the West Indies not the Arab Emirates (where 5* is like entering another world)...
The suite was of excellent size with a four poster bed that must have measured not far short of 8' in width, a sofa & stool, dressing table & chair - the veranda itself was well equipped with table, two chairs & two loungers. The view from our room / veranda was very good and looked out across the gardens, spa pool and the sea beyond, this was more than satisfactory and many of these rooms shared the same view. From the outside it does look like some of the suites are a little more tired than others, ours was one of the better looking units with wood doors etc over the older looking aluminium sliding patio door units. Now, back on the inside that bed...ummm whilst large was unfortunately far from grand in terms of comfort! As other reviews have mentioned, it was extremely 'firm' and I started suffering a fairly bad back after day two and my wife had to lay in certain parts to avoid being dug in the ribs by internals of the mattress. This is such a shame as upon first impressions, the bed looks awesome and if it had been as comfortable as it looked, then we would have slept like babies I'm sure. The bathroom in our suite was functional with a nice large double shower - but, what a shame it’s all so dated and in definite need of some updating. This is in no way a reflection on the actual cleanliness, just the dated and fairly tired look of the actual hardware. There was a large wall mounted mirror that had a crack right down it, these things just take the edge off of making it feel as special & grand as it could be. We would so love to see this suite after a brush with some modernisation, contemporary bathroom and much needed quality mattresses and fittings. The decor is of traditional Caribbean colouring and is not in any way offensive but again, modernisation would make it feel such a different experience.
Within the room we had Air conditioning, ceiling fan, free electronic safe which was good, plenty of hanging and drawer space, iron & ironing board and a fridge along with tea/coffee making facilities (never used by us). I was disappointed to find the fridge was on but empty, even some daily replenished soft drinks would have been nice and again, little touches like this make a big difference. We met another couple who were staying in one of the beachfront suites and they said, you could see it had been refurbished in recent times, with contemporary bathrooms, large tiles and nice modern showers etc.... due to the cost of this work we guess it may take a while to see the rest of the resort reach this standard, as & when it does it will certainly not be before time? A really annoying thing that does not fit with a quality resort was the door locks to the rooms! One day it took us nearly 10 minutes to re-enter our room, no, not due to being drunk from the copious free & quality alcohol but, due to the old & worn door locks that had to be nurtured every time you locked / unlocked the door, very, very frustrating!! One day we were having a race with our neighbours who were also doing their best at 'picking the lock' to gain entry to their room! A card entry type system would enhance this point and also impart extra security to the room (not that we had any security issues or worries).
The meals are served at the terrace restaurant which is open dining between certain times for all meals, this is a truly fantastic setting and sitting here having breakfast / lunch and looking out across the beach and ocean is a very enhancing part of the day. Meals are all self-service / buffet and in the main for the time we were there, was good, tasty and good quality. There was always various selections of dishes, the only gripe we had was that, if you did not get to the food fairly soon after it was deposited into the self-service terrines, then the temperature of the food was sometimes only luke warm. Service by the majority of the staff was always good, we did encounter a couple of individuals that were not as helpful or courteous as their colleagues but, guess this is the case in many hotels / resorts. There is an a la carte restaurant which you have to book for, this is included in the package. We did book to try it one night but, the night we had booked for was the night they held the beach BBQ and opted for that – very pleased we did as it was great food & great setting. We spoke to some others who had eaten in a la carte eatery and said it was very good – guess we may have missed out there? There are a few staff that go so far to make you feel welcome that the few 'offish ones' sort of fade into the background of your memory. Deano is a real character and has more energy than any other human I know! 'Signing' Stephen down at the pool bar is one of the friendliest people I have ever met; it's these staff members that really give Rendezvous the atmosphere it does.
The pools & beach are great as is the lazy river and we both spent time in and around all. All beaches in St Lucia are public thus you do have the chance of encountering the local traders that often wander along to try and sell you some souvenirs but there are no real 'hassle’s' to be concerned about.
Entertainment whilst we were here was quite good, they had two good bands with some funny entertainment from the activities staff too (Deano takes the lead here)!! Don't think you will be seeing a West End show but for some light entertainment at the end of the day we found it acceptably appropriate. Drinks are supplied in copious volume and I have to say, I drank more cocktails in this trip than I have drank in my entire life - the Old Pal was my favourite but watch that double strength rum!!!
We booked ourselves in for a couples massage in the Spa as a treat as we had not ventured out on any trips. This was my first ever massage and I have to say, it was very enjoyable. My wife is a more seasoned user of such treatments and said it was OK but did find the staff a little staid in approach compared to many others she has had. The 50 minutes fly by and I would question the actual value for money ($70 ea) for the option we took. Never-the-less we came out feeling relaxed and refreshed so not complaining at all.
We did not embark on any trips as have done many before and this was purely to lay back and relax. We had great weather albeit the week before had been very wet - nothing anyone can do about that though. We did get the local bus (1A) up to Rodney Bay one morning just for a change of scenery and pick up a few souvenirs for the kids. We had a few hours wandering around the shopping areas, stopped for a drink and then boarded the 1A to return, this is fantastic value at $2EC ($1US) each person each way. There are no such things as ‘timetables’, you just wait for the little minibuses to arrive which they do with regularity.
Oh - one thing to mention (we had never seen it mentioned in any reviews)..... the tree frogs!! For a creature no bigger than your thumbnail, what a noise, the first night we heard them my wife thought there was an alarm of some sort going off! They do blend into the background after a few days and then you do not really notice them but initially, they are very prominent. This is not a negative on the resort, just making people aware so you can go prepared with some ear plugs if you are a light sleeper. We suppose the lush gardens are a natural arena for the frogs to take up home and goes to prove how well the resort is not only groomed but also plays natural habitat to various wildlife.
The included water sports are very good, albeit other than going ‘tubing’ one day, did not use any of them.
You can purchase WiFi for $20 for your stay but, speaking to others (we did no need to purchase) they said the signal was very patchy. If you do need or want this facility and it is supplied, it should be of a suitable standard; again little things like this just make the difference between bad, good, very good and excellent.
Overall we had a really good time, met some really nice people and the resort was a romantic & relaxing place to be, there is nothing that is done bad, just some things that could be done better that would truly make this a 5* very memorable experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tozzy1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

This was our 4th visit and it continues to reach high standards. We only had 7 nights and wanted to make sure we were going to enjoy it so booking Rendezvous was really a 'no-brainer'

Got the helicopter down from the main airport which as with many others I can highly recommend

We had booked a verandah suite ( room 220 ) which was the same room as last year and as far as we are concerned just in the perfect spot - it is next to the stairs which means your verandah is open on 2 sides which makes it more airy. We got a tour of the seaside rooms and felt they were much smaller but nicer bathroom

Check in was easy and fast as usual. Since we had got the helicopter we had no luggage so we changed into shorts and went straight to the beach bar where we said hello to the bar-staff.

The food was great and always a nice selection - always something you want ( sometimes to many things especially the desserts !! ). The Trysting room was also a bit more special - we just ordered the house wine sinec felt it was perfectly acceptable.

Unfortunately the wind was not great while we were there so we did not get to sail or windsurf but we did waterski which was great. We dived every day and it was great to see all the dive instructors again.

We used the champagne bar more this year and the bartender is always willing to mix you special cocktails if you tell him what drinks you like.

There was a good crowd playing volleyball every day which my OH enjoyed and they took the staff close in the staff vs guests game. As many people have said you can join in the activities if you want but if you say no the co-ordinators just say ok and move on.

It was lovely to return again and I think the standards are still as high. Many of the staff remembered us which is always nice. The management take on any suggestions that guests make for instance the in room toiletries are far better than last year because many people commented on the low standard.

We wil definitly return at some point

Room Tip: veranda suite - upper floor - 220 & 221 are next to the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank daisythecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed in February 2012 for 2 nights… We arrived at the Rendezvous after a really poor and disappointing experience for 5 nights at the Stonefield Estate Villa Resort, which had almost destroyed any hope we had of St. Lucian hospitality.

Fortunately, the moment the porter opened the door to our taxi greeting us, our hopes were instantly revived as it was a breath of hospitable fresh air! Even though we were early for check in arriving at around 12.30 we were taken into the lounge area and seated by the porter who went to find someone from the reception team to come and see us. Our room would not be ready until 2 but we were told to enjoy lunch and they would come and find us if it was ready sooner.

The room was really nice, very clean and fresh – although the bath had not actually been cleaned properly which became apparent when we turned the shower on . However everywhere else was spotless.

We are used to all inc in the Maldives, so were worried it wouldn’t come up to scratch but we were very pleasantly surprised as the food was really good – great choice, and compared the extortionate prices wehad been paying at the previous resort it was far superior – the Beef Wellington served on the first evening was a really nice surprise!

I will confess, we are mid 30s and did feel at the younger end of the scale, but not a problem for us, we just went to relax in the sunshine. There were a couple of moments though when sunbathing at the spa pool all of a sudden there was a mad rush for the water aerobics and I found myself humming along to the “Kellermans” song (from dirty dancing!) but it was funny and a distraction for a little while to watch.

Of the 2 main pools we stayed by the spa pool as it was quieter and more private, we feared there may always be a struggle to get a sunbed, but there was no problem at all. The lazy river idea was brilliant and lovely to go and find your very own completely private, romantic spot in the sun and your own piece of pool.

The guy that looked after us around the pool during the day was brilliant, fruit punch was lush, lovely ice pops, cold towels friendly service whereby we didn’t even need to ask for a drink he would just appear with one for us.

Cocktails were great, and all the staff good, attentive and friendly. We have never gone for the afternoon tea before in any of our All inc. previsou experiences, however we could not refuse on this one – a later afternoon cocktail with their lovely choice of afternoon nibbles was a must!

The beach is a public beach, so you cant expect the same you might expect from a private island resort but it was ok, its nice to see some culture and some of the locals going about their business.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 days here and wish we had come for longer! We would definitely go back, I booked through Destinology and got a premium GV room for £325 AI per day per room. I also must mention I made a mistake when I booked but Destinology corrected the booking and sorted the refund straight away with no hassle.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patsybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channel Islands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Went in March to the Rendevous and it exceeded our expectations. Very friendly and extremely helpful staff. Food in the Terrace Restaurant was very good indeed with plenty of choices and the Trysting Place was definitely fine dining, at no extra cost. The Argentinian Malbec wine was fantastic. Anything and everything you could want was provided. My husband was particularly happy with the dinghy sailing as he hasn't done that for many years. Nice little touches like staff coming round with ice pops in the middle of the afternoon and then cold flannels to refresh yourselves. Staff also did the rounds several times a day to ask if you would like any drinks which were then delivered speedily and always with a smile. Our first floor garden view room was delightful with a view of the sea as well! Large and comfy bed and air conditioning (which we hardly ever used as room seemed to stay cool). The pools were always clean and inviting and clean towels available from the water sports hut. I did find the sea a little rough as it was unusually windy for the time of year. Evening entertainment by the staff was really good right down to fire eating and fire breathing. Went on a couple of trips (volcano and zip wiring through rainforest) which are quite expensive. Everthing quoted in US $ then converted into EC $. All in all a fantastic trip and if we return to St Lucia we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: If booking a garden room ask for first floor as much more privacy. Take US$ in cash - don't bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LittleFing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
20.3 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
945 reviews
4.0 km away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
2.3 km away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.9 km away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 km away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
848 reviews
23.4 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Property: Rendezvous Resort
Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,565 - ₹ 92,887
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on two miles of powdery sand, surrounded by acres of exotic tropical gardens, it’s easy to why Rendezvous has been called “the romantic holiday.” It’s hard to imagine a more alluring corner of the world for two people to escape to. A world away from the everyday, it’s a uniquely intimate island retreat. From the long stretches of deserted beach to the lazy-river pool that winds its way through quiet nooks and secret hideaways, every aspect of this all-inclusive luxury resort has been created to give couples the space and time they need to be alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing