We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, great food, really relaxing”
Review of Rendezvous Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rendezvous Resort
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
East Midlands, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, really relaxing”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed in February 2012 for 2 nights… We arrived at the Rendezvous after a really poor and disappointing experience for 5 nights at the Stonefield Estate Villa Resort, which had almost destroyed any hope we had of St. Lucian hospitality.

Fortunately, the moment the porter opened the door to our taxi greeting us, our hopes were instantly revived as it was a breath of hospitable fresh air! Even though we were early for check in arriving at around 12.30 we were taken into the lounge area and seated by the porter who went to find someone from the reception team to come and see us. Our room would not be ready until 2 but we were told to enjoy lunch and they would come and find us if it was ready sooner.

The room was really nice, very clean and fresh – although the bath had not actually been cleaned properly which became apparent when we turned the shower on . However everywhere else was spotless.

We are used to all inc in the Maldives, so were worried it wouldn’t come up to scratch but we were very pleasantly surprised as the food was really good – great choice, and compared the extortionate prices wehad been paying at the previous resort it was far superior – the Beef Wellington served on the first evening was a really nice surprise!

I will confess, we are mid 30s and did feel at the younger end of the scale, but not a problem for us, we just went to relax in the sunshine. There were a couple of moments though when sunbathing at the spa pool all of a sudden there was a mad rush for the water aerobics and I found myself humming along to the “Kellermans” song (from dirty dancing!) but it was funny and a distraction for a little while to watch.

Of the 2 main pools we stayed by the spa pool as it was quieter and more private, we feared there may always be a struggle to get a sunbed, but there was no problem at all. The lazy river idea was brilliant and lovely to go and find your very own completely private, romantic spot in the sun and your own piece of pool.

The guy that looked after us around the pool during the day was brilliant, fruit punch was lush, lovely ice pops, cold towels friendly service whereby we didn’t even need to ask for a drink he would just appear with one for us.

Cocktails were great, and all the staff good, attentive and friendly. We have never gone for the afternoon tea before in any of our All inc. previsou experiences, however we could not refuse on this one – a later afternoon cocktail with their lovely choice of afternoon nibbles was a must!

The beach is a public beach, so you cant expect the same you might expect from a private island resort but it was ok, its nice to see some culture and some of the locals going about their business.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 days here and wish we had come for longer! We would definitely go back, I booked through Destinology and got a premium GV room for £325 AI per day per room. I also must mention I made a mistake when I booked but Destinology corrected the booking and sorted the refund straight away with no hassle.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Patsybum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

2,558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,825
    513
    132
    50
    38
See reviews for
35
2,165
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (779)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Channel Islands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Went in March to the Rendevous and it exceeded our expectations. Very friendly and extremely helpful staff. Food in the Terrace Restaurant was very good indeed with plenty of choices and the Trysting Place was definitely fine dining, at no extra cost. The Argentinian Malbec wine was fantastic. Anything and everything you could want was provided. My husband was particularly happy with the dinghy sailing as he hasn't done that for many years. Nice little touches like staff coming round with ice pops in the middle of the afternoon and then cold flannels to refresh yourselves. Staff also did the rounds several times a day to ask if you would like any drinks which were then delivered speedily and always with a smile. Our first floor garden view room was delightful with a view of the sea as well! Large and comfy bed and air conditioning (which we hardly ever used as room seemed to stay cool). The pools were always clean and inviting and clean towels available from the water sports hut. I did find the sea a little rough as it was unusually windy for the time of year. Evening entertainment by the staff was really good right down to fire eating and fire breathing. Went on a couple of trips (volcano and zip wiring through rainforest) which are quite expensive. Everthing quoted in US $ then converted into EC $. All in all a fantastic trip and if we return to St Lucia we wouldn't want to stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: If booking a garden room ask for first floor as much more privacy. Take US$ in cash - don't bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LittleFing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We stayed at the Rendezvous for 12 nights during April and thoroughly enjoyed it. We flew by Helicopter to the resort, I thoroughly recommend this trip and wish we had booked it for our departure instead of the private car and one and half hour trip along very winding hilly roads. We were warmly greeted by the staff and given an enjoyable drink. We had booked the ocean front suite, this was at the end of the resort on the beach with two sun loungers for our own use. There are 8 semi detached bungalows. The room is spacious, bathroom excellent and a large balcony with table, two chairs and two comfortable sun loungers. No television to distract from the views. My only criticism of the room there is no fridge, we requested one from reception and it came within a very short time. We then requested milk (for the tea/coffee) and fruit juice - this never arrived during the 12 days we were there. As you are at the end of the resort and quite a way from the facilities it seems a shame you cannot have cool drinks for your room. We used the part of the beach within the resort that had the facilities within easy reach because of this. The hotels buffet was excellent with plenty of choice for breakfast, lunch and dinner - again, one criticism would be a member of staff should be dedicated to ensuring the the trays of food, especially the salads, be replenished. They often became empty but there was no-one to easily speak too. The station staff were busy serving food so it became a little trying at times. The wines offered are extremely good and the waiting staff are very efficient at ensuring you have water, drinks etc. The Trysting Restaurant is excellent and we ate 4 times in there. The food and service were of a high quality.
The water sports are brilliant and even motorised sports are free - something I have never come across before. The gardens are beautiful and kept immaculately by the hardworking gardeners. The beach and pools are lovely but I would ask that more umbrellas be sited there. There seems to be plenty of sunbeds but they are not all accompanied by umbrellas so between 12 -3 o clock it can be very uncomfortable without shade equally when it is raining you have to resort to going into the bar area for cover.
The entertainment team also work hard and if exercise is your thing on holiday (not mine) you can do yoga, archery, pitch & putt, pilates, volleyball, tennis etc, etc. The evening entertainment is also mainly put on by the staff - very good, but it would be nice to have local bands to entertain some nights.
My overall impression is the staff make the hotel as good as it is due to their welcoming, friendly and efficient manner which seems to make all the guests more friendly and amicable to each other as well. We met some lovely people whilst there and I can only say that during the time we were there it was very much a complete age range from young honeymooners to middle age to veering on elderly. A great mix of people.
I would definately return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beeney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucks
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Having compared properties all over the world as potential wedding venues we chose the Rendezvous based on its intimacy, price and great reviews....I'm so glad we did as we were not dissapointed! In fact we had a perfect week in a fantastic hotel and got to experience a beautiful Island. We thanked the GM personally at the cocktail evening for our stay; the staff were not only very attentive but they are happy to be there and it really shows.

We got married on the beach and had Sandra and Ria as our witnesses, everything was very well organised by Sandra, we just had to turn up! The whole stay was very romantic and we really liked the added extras with the wedding, such as breakfast on the Verandah the next morning and learning massage techniques in the couples massage. We loved the beach and the lazy river and wherever we were we always managed to get 'two beers' without even getting up off the sunlounger!

We found the other guests at the hotel to be really friendly, we had so many people congratulate us. The average age was younger than we expected having read the reviews online, it was a really nice mix and we met a lovely couple from Missouri. We are from the UK and booked through Thomson travelling with BA which I would also recommend as it was a good flight.

Don't be put off by reviews on St Lucia's roads, we travelled in by helicopter but went out for the day with Danny from Real St Lucia Tours (Private Island Expo booked separately online) and the roads were better than many places I have been to in Europe, it really is worth learning more about the place you are visiting.

I would recommend the Rendezvous without hesitation for a perfect stress free holiday / wedding.

Room Tip: Verandah suite was lovely with restful views of tropical palm trees and a double walk in shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Choos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Upon arrival we were greeted by a lady who gave us our keys, room 221 Verandah Suite.
Lovely room, huge verandah with 2 loungers, table and a nice view.
We booked through netflights for the hotel with a garden view room. But a couple weeks prior we up graded direct with the hotel. Cost £440 for 2 weeks for the upgrade.

Breakfast was a great choice. Fresh fruit,cereal, salad plus cooked breakfast. There was always a chef to cook omlettes etc. Lunch was great, buffet with 2/3 chefs cooking fresh fish, meat etc. Deserts were great with a big selection. Dinner was pretty good but Trysting place was certainly great quality. Huge range of wine also.

Pools are great especially the spa pool. Loungers are really nice and comfy.
Bar tenders always walking around to see if you want drinks. 3pm cold wet towels are handed up. 4pm light snacks are on offer, small sandwiches, cakes, tea/coffee etc.

ALL water sports are free inc. scuba - IF you are PADI qualified. The team are really professional and anyone can have a try as there is a 2/3 hour try dive. Pool work and a safety DVD to watch them a short boat trip out to a small reef. Only 15 feet deep so dont worry.

Cleaners came every day, sometimes twice (7pm) if you wanted your bed turning etc.

We had no problems with the beach being public as they all are in the caribbean.
Locals were fine, no trouble and very friendly. Not begging or looking for money just pleasant people. Hotel staff were fantastic, especially the bar staff and waiters/waitresses.

Would come back without a doubt.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. Garden View rooms have been up dated and there are now Superior garden view roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ChristianKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
20.3 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
944 reviews
4.0 km away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
2.3 km away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.9 km away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 km away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
845 reviews
23.4 km away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rendezvous Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Resort

Property: Rendezvous Resort
Address: Malabar Beach, Castries, St. Lucia
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
#2 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 Family Hotel in Castries
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,562 - ₹ 93,050
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on two miles of powdery sand, surrounded by acres of exotic tropical gardens, it’s easy to why Rendezvous has been called “the romantic holiday.” It’s hard to imagine a more alluring corner of the world for two people to escape to. A world away from the everyday, it’s a uniquely intimate island retreat. From the long stretches of deserted beach to the lazy-river pool that winds its way through quiet nooks and secret hideaways, every aspect of this all-inclusive luxury resort has been created to give couples the space and time they need to be alone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rendezvous Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rendezvous Hotel Castries
Rendezvous Hotel St Lucia
Rendevous St Lucia
Rendezvous Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing