We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the first Sandals trip for us” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Castries
Certificate of Excellence
Jamestown, NC
Level Contributor
158 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“This is the first Sandals trip for us”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Sandals on St. Lucia. There are 3 resorts and each offers a little variety. You may eat or visit at any of the three. Our neighbors had rented a villa with chef service so we were able to compare the two. I think we came out ahead. This resort is beautiful, the food was delicious and the drinks plentiful with top shelf brands. There was plenty to do and we took advantage of it.

It is a bit pricey, but it was really good. We ate right on the beach one night and visited another Sandals resort for lobster on another. That resort was geared more towards older couples and we met a retired sea captain and his wife and talked all night long. Great vacation.

We even bore witness to a young couple that held their wedding there.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GNRoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,066
    919
    323
    139
    115
See reviews for
73
2,865
11
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (966)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

Having travelled a lot but never tried Sandals, and having heard others rave about them, we thought it high time we gave it a go. Halcyon Beach is smaller than the other 2 Sandals Resorts on St Lucia and we enjoyed the quieter and more friendly feel. Of the 2 pools we preferred the one without the music and organised sports, and could have wished for a better beach for snorkelling - the one at the Grande is excellent, but then you have a very large and busy resort as well. The staff are friendly and seem genuinely keen that you should have a good time. The room was clean and very comfortable and the food was delicious in all 4 restaurants, although the Pier is definitely the best in terms of both cuisine and ambience. We took a trip by boat along the coast and up to the volcano which was an excellent day out; it was booked through the on-site tour operator with an independent boat company and the 3 guides worked very hard indeed to make sure we had a good time - they certainly earned their tip. I also made good use of the free scuba diving for qualified divers, but whilst I enjoyed all my dives - what's not to like, diving in the Caribbean? - and the operation was, I felt, safe and professional it was definitely 'holiday diving' as an extra to a regular holiday. If you went there for a diving holiday specifically then you would be disappointed. The target audience is obviously the US and Canadian vacation market, and there is a concerted and conspicuous effort to get repeat business. Lastly, immigration clearly can't cope when more than one 'plane load arrives at once, and the hour-plus journey to and from the airport does take the shine off a little. However, there's no doubt we had a lovely holiday, with friendly fellow guests and staff, plenty of lovely Caribbean sunshine (and rum!) and we have no regrets at all - a great winter break. The only reason we probably won't go back is that we're not sure it was the best value for the price and and there's a lot more world to see and visit.

Room Tip: The ocean view was very pleasant, but it was hard to tell the difference between them otherwise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

This is our second trip to this property and Definitely not our last. We left in October of 2010 just before the hurricane arrived, and while the effects are still evident the people and the staff are just as we remembered SUPERB! The size amd intimacy of the Halcyon are just what we remembered/expected. Agnes at the quiet bar, Jonas at the water sport center and playmaker Eslyn are great assets. We will be going out on tours so will post on those also. Remember you are here to relax so lose the watch and switch to island time.

Room Tip: If you are going for a beachfront walkout room you want 110 or lower, the higher number rooms are mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tuo1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Timmins, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

First off St-Lucia is stunning! The Resort is beautiful and small which was something we were looking for. The rooms were clean and close to everything on the resort. The staff are very curious but exrtremly slow! they're in no rush to bring your bags to your room, serve you at the bar, one night we were done our supper and we still didn't get our drinks.

The biggest downfall to this resort are the arrogant Americans and the peddlers on the beach, they are like hungry wolves looking to sell you anything and everything. One even tried to sell us stuff during my wedding ceremony! We will never come back because of that, I was staying away from the beach because of this as it's impossible to just sit there and enjoy the sun without a dozen peddlers trying to sell you junk. We now know to make sure the next time we travel that the resort has to have a private beach.

We also got lied to by the staff in charge of the Sandals endorsed activities. We booked a trip to hike the Grand Piton mountain, the staff informed us that it was a 1-1/4 hour drive to the mountain and after the climb we would get a meal and get to swim in an infinity pool....Well! The trip ended up being 2-1/2 hours to the mountain, the driver was not a nice guy, when we got to the mountain the guide was rushing us, never explained anything and never brought us to the lookout once we go to the top. On the way back we did stop for a meal and it was amazing but there was no infinity pool, it was just a small dirty pool sort of on the side of a hill with no view of the ocean and they told us we were too sweaty to go in it anyways. A real disapointment.

Long story short we will never go to a Sandals ever again! St-Lucia is breath taking but as for the resort I would say it's more like a fancy 3 star.

Room Tip: make sure not to get a room in the 500, 600, 700, 800 blocks as they're right beside the highway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Seb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

We recently travelled to St. Lucia for my husbands 50th Birthday and chose Sandals to try the acclaimed luxury and the Halycon because it was smaller than others. We had a lovely time, the staff were friendly & helpful. However, on a whole comparing it to many other luxury resorts we have stayed in we were disappointed and would only call it a good 3 star to weak 4 star. It was tired, lacked some standard services, i.e drinks service around the pool & beach, the pool wasnt as clean as it should be and we never saw it cleaned and was cold. The rooms were fine but the difference between our upgraded room and a friends standard was an ipod docking station and an ice bucket (we never found ice though) ! The food in the Pier restaurant was excellent but you were expected to queue for a table - they don't take names and with the option for guests from other Sandal Hotels dining it meant we weren't able to eat in there more than 2 nights, and it was cold. The standard buffet restaurant was good but as with all these monotonous & not of the same quality. The Italian was similar and also cold. However, our biggest disappointment was the shock of generally feeling that we were in an 18-30"s club hotel for over 50"s! Strange and not our expectation from reading about Sandals hotels, We visited the Le Toc and was even more surprised and left quickly. So generally we wont be visiting Sandals again as we feel your paying a whole lot more for the name and can receive better luxury for your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jacz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castries
21.5 km away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
6.9 km away
Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort
4.8 km away
Sandals Regency La Toc Golf Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Rendezvous Resort
Rendezvous Resort
#2 of 12 in Castries
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,451 reviews
32.4 km away
Coconut Bay Beach Resort & Spa
3.5 km away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort

Property: Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort
Address: Choc Bay, Castries GM910, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Castries
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Castries
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Castries
#5 Romantic Hotel in Castries
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Castries
Price range (per night): ₹ 30,132 - ₹ 53,321
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
•Friendly to the physically challenged with low rise architecture •Fully air-conditioned Caribbean cuisine restaurant on its own 150 ft pier over the •Caribbean Sea •Houses 169 Rooms with true personal service and intimate experience •English-style afternoon tea served at the Paradise pool •Tableside service at the Beach Bistro •“Stay at one, play at three” free shuttles to Sandals La Toc Golf Resort & Spa and Sandals Grande St. Lucian Spa & Beach Resort•Sandals Resorts “World’s Leading All Inclusive Company” 16 years in a row •Sandals Resorts “Caribbean’s Leading Hotel Brand”, 18 years in a row ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandals Halcyon Beach St. Lucia Hotel Castries
Sandals Halcyon Beach Castries
Sandals St Lucia
Sandals Halcyon Beach Resort St. Lucia/Castries

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing