We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courbaril Village Experience”
Review of Courbaril Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Courbaril Village
Reviewed 31 December 2016

the one bedroom is very basic queen bed and no tv. the bathroom is a shower only.sitting area had a futon couch and tv with basic cable(no english channels) the kitchen had 2 burner cooking area and was well stock with pots,plates,silverware glasses,toaster,microwave and coffee pot. Hotel location was on the spot, 30 steps to the beachfront,could not get any better. small supermarket decently stocked and car rental located next door.Hotel was clean and the desk staff was most helpful with suggestions and info on the ferry to fort de france. most pleasant vacation.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank tish f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2016

Prepaid hotel for two nights through Expedia. My flights were cancelled from Barbados to Martinique and the hotel charged 100% cancellation for two nights. Don't pre-book this hotel! I now have also have a bad taste for Martinique (no longer have any interest in going there). People don't realize how first impressions are made and the impact it has on tourist destinations.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank icewince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina T, Gérant at Courbaril Village, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2016

Dear Dalia
We are really sorry for your anger and disappointment. our hotel is the last partner in the booking process. Your flight has been cancelled, Expedia seller policy is not refunding the cancellation... We applied the procedure of our partnership with Expedia, the morning of your arrival date. We do not have any information about your payment, as you paid to Expedia. But, by mail, we did propose to postpone your stay and asked you to discuss with Expedia, your seller. We'll write properly on our hotel webpage on Expedia site, the cancellation policy as obviously is not clear enough for the customer. We hope that Expedia Customer Service will refund you for your stay.
For all customers, please take the time to read all the conditions of your booking on line, when you do not have any direct relationship with the hotel.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

It started allready quite bad for me, as I asked the hotel thrue mail if they could send me a taxi. After I they told me, there would be a taxi waiting for me, I was very disapointed, when I had to get one myself.(it is very expensive-60€!)
When I arrived, it was about 11h, they told me I couldnt get in earlier as 16h, which I knew but I was hoping I could get in before. I was able to leave my bag though.

Well, my room was okay-for my opinion it could have been much cleaner. some work should be done in the shower and escpecially the fridge!! Very dirty and broken!!
I was a bit shocked as I had to do everything by myself, like cleaning and changing the bed, but I guess it is okay for the money-for Martinique. But the staff could really smile a little more and try to be nice even if somebody doesnt speak French! And they could be more quite in the morning as they have guests. Shouting and talking around 7/8h in the morning allready... And starting woodcutting and simillar early in the morning?? They could have told that atleast.

The location was very nice, as the beach is just a few steps from all the rooms. And you here the sea feom the room. To me it seemed very quite around the area, but can also be very nice if you want a quite vacation:) and the boat also leaving right from the beach to Fort-de-France. But if you have no car, you'll be stuck in the evening-but thats the island live:))

To be honest, I would not choose the hotel again, cause I didnt feel welcome at all as a non French speaker!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank Maru M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina T, Manager at Courbaril Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2016

Hello Switzerland, hope you get well back home. We are so sorry if you felt misunderstood at the Courbaril Village by our staff, because you do not speak French. You have to know that unfortunately French people are not comfortable with others tongues, even English, as our system is not well adapted for learning them. We know it's quite different in your countries where you speak at least: German, English, Italian or French. For you, it's normal. Not for us. That's maybe why you noticed different points on your comment: taxi price: quite normal for a public day. Accommodation not ready at your arrival day: on High Season, customers leave up to 11 AM, then we clean for the next customer arriving in the afternoon. According to your comment, you should have thought that we are a classical hotel, but we are a residence when our customers are in total autonomy. But our staff is available every day for all our customers, as we talked to you in German to make you more comfortable to speak with. You did not tell us about your difficulties during your stay. And that's true on a island, without a car, you go nowhere, even more at night. And it's also true that people begins to work early in the morning because of the high temperature during the day. Concerning the devices in the room, some are a little bit old, not enough modern for our customers but we try every season to modernize our accommodations on the seaside. Are you sure you won't come back? kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016

We arrived in Martinique at night. The hotel is about 30 minutes away from the airport but it was off of the main road. The sign for the hotel was hidden behind a branch and we passed it a couple of times. If you can, book one of the bungalows and not a studio room. We were able to switch rooms the first night as they were the same price. The receptionist was very helpful. The bed was hard and thin, but that was the only bad thing we have to say about the room. The wifi is very slow inside of the room, but decent outside. There are great restaurants right next door to the hotel. Our favorite was right across the street. There is a ferry that will take you into Fort-de-France for 7euro round trip that goes every 15-20 minutes, the last trip is at 1800 so plan accordingly. Over all, it was an excellent location, you wouldnt have to leave the immediate areas if you didn't want to. If you are traveling to Martinique, know French, or go with someone who can translate.

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina T, Gérant at Courbaril Village, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2016

Hello America and thanks for your positive comments. Yes bungalows and studios are at the same price as customers can choice between an independant accommodation on sea view or in the park, or a studio in the residence like an hotel. All the services on the spot can provide a great Holiday time to any tourist coming in Martinique and without a car: ferry, buses... We do apologize for our "bad" or "none" English speaking. It's a french gap! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Do not hesitate to come back again. Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2016

e felt that we dropped straight into Martinique life, with our little tiled air-conditioned hut almost on the beach, the noise of the waves, tree frogs, sometimes lovesick cats and French rap music. Our little bungalow was clean and pretty, part of a group clumped on the edge of L'Anse a L'Ane beach. We heard the ferry toot before departing for FDF every half hour *. A charming Kreole K Fe was one minute away for breakfast and/or lunch, or visit the 8 to 8 super market, if you wanted to "DIY", as our neighbors from Brittany did. On the beach, a selection of restaurants, a game of petanque, but only a few palm trees for shade. Try the peanut or coconut icecream- delicious. The view at night of the capital's lights is breathtaking across the bay. Very friendly reception staff and we had no trouble with WIFI. Knowledge of French is very helpful...only one other American couple did we meet! The Island geography is dramatic with Mt Pele towering at the north end over the old colonial capital, St. Pierre where only one man survived the eruption in 1902 (almost 30,000 were incinerated), fabulous Atlantic beaches on the Caravelle peninsula, fertile valleys in the center, and a fascinating history as the birthplace of Josephine Bonaparte with colonial plantations, sugar mills and rum distilleries, plus the breathtaking Balata gardens. Helpful to have a car and be accustomed to roundabouts (traffic circles)-they work! Go on a half day boat ride round the south coast and hear the story of the Diamond Rock, swim with turtles and explore bat caves. There are extensive hiking trails all over the island in the national preserves, Elsewhere zoning would appear to be non existent. Courbaril (the name of a tree with double leaves) provides clean towels and linens every few days and we managed to make the little bars of soap last. It was a reasonable and very enjoyable vacation...no mosquitos (net at night) or ants, and the kitchen had the basic necessities, though tiny coffee cups - even the cafe "elonge" in the K Fe was about two swallows. Good idea to take a few supplies like beach towels, etc. Bonvoyage et vive la France.

Room Tip: Ask for a view...not good to be at the very back as you will be next to the 8=8 supermarket
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 817Blimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina T, Gérant at Courbaril Village, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2016

We thank you so much for your large and precise description of our beautiful island. You did take our french "kreol" spirit. We do appreciate your comment on our Residence and the services provided by our team and the commodities in the spot. Do not hesitate to come back and take your friends with you. With our kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trois-Ilets
2.3 km away
Residence du Village Creole
Residence du Village Creole
#5 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
128 reviews
0.6 km away
Domaine de l'Anse Ramier
Domaine de l'Anse Ramier
#6 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
66 reviews
1.8 km away
Hotel Bambou
Hotel Bambou
#3 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Hotel La Pagerie
Hotel La Pagerie
#1 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
1,073 reviews
8.3 km away
Diamant Beach
Diamant Beach
#1 of 4 in Le Diamant
310 reviews
2.8 km away
Carayou Hotel & Spa
Carayou Hotel & Spa
#4 of 11 in Trois-Ilets
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courbaril Village? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courbaril Village

Address: The Beach of the Anse a l'Ane, Trois-Ilets 97229, Martinique
Region: Caribbean > Martinique > Arrondissement of Le Marin > Trois-Ilets
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Trois-Ilets
Price Range: ₹ 3,682 - ₹ 6,673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courbaril Village 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The beach-front Courbaril Village is located 10 minutes' drive from Les Trois-Ilets village and features a garden, a furnished terrace with sea views for some accommodations and free Wi-Fi on the all site. The bungalows offer tropical-style decor, air conditioning, wardrobe and flat-screen TV. The kitchenettes come with kitchenware, microwave, fridge and cooktop (unless on the simple rooms); while the bathrooms have shower. Guests at these bungalows can find a variety of restaurants within steps of Courbaril Village on the beach and obviously our: the Kreol K Fé right on the spot. Other features at this property are "souvenirs" shop, tobacco & newpapers store, mini-market, car rental and laundry service. Activities such as canoeing, diving and snorkelling can be arranged. Courbaril Village is located 35 minutes' drive from Aime Cesaire International Airport and 30 km from St. Louis Cathedral ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Courbaril Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing