We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Port of Call

Our ship was in port so we took a walk around the capital which still have narrow cobbles streets... read more

Reviewed 10 April 2018
joy l
,
Derby, United Kingdom
Busy island in the Caribbean

The island is more of an European city, traffic jam, good infrastructure, narrow streets, French... read more

Reviewed 19 January 2018
AnilOjha
,
Toronto, Canada
Read all 53 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Fort-de-France
from US$ 85.20
More Info
from US$ 81.70
More Info
from US$ 63.30
More Info
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
13
19
11
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
19
11
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2018

We stopped here as part of our cruise. Very cosmopolitan and very French. TIP. Martinique is part of France so, has euro for currency. Infrastructure is one of the best in the Caribbean. Very expensive for transport and tours. We walked into town via the fort and done a little shopping and a couple of beers at a local bar. Typically French they heard our British accent and took ages to get a beer. Not an island I would visit again. A lot of people on our cruise said the same things. Rude, expensive and in helpful. Though some of the locals we spoke to were very polite and helpful.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank lee6377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2018

The island is more of an European city, traffic jam, good infrastructure, narrow streets, French language and Euro currency. If you think of spending a day here like I did getting off the cruise ship, I think it's a good idea to carry Euro currency. Note that things are pretty expensive here, including the big island tour. The best option is to do the old city tour on the horse drawn carriage, that can be found just outside of the touristic area near the port. Over all, it's a OK place.

Date of experience: December 2017
Thank AnilOjha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

Well, it was a good place just for being not home, but otherwise not impressive. As a disabled person with a scooter, the ferry ride to the other side was a no. The sidewalks and streets were VERY NARROW and not very ADA friendly. The market place was nice (I love the sights and smells of island spices and wares). The people can be a bit rude. Because it was a Sat. everything closed early and I did not get my french pastry :-(

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank MsDrema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2016

Our ship docked at Fort De France and I had read other reviews prior saying the same negative things as my title...should have listened and relaxed on boat...come off the boat and had to walk through a market where everyone had the best price for you...lol..try bargaining they did not want to budge until we came back through and were saying bye now...oh now you can charge it lower? Hmmmm...anyway after leaving the market you come out to a giant parking lot with a main road that was completely under construction..there were nothing but blocks and blocks of stores side streets dirty alleys etc..where is the beach? They do not take to you very kindly if your do not speak the native french or any french...went to a pirate bar Le Black Pearl before we went back to ship...it was not what we thought..not pirate y at all..in fact music was emo crap...whatever...never again!

Date of experience: October 2015
2  Thank Sioned1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2016

Fort-de-France is a bustling town where the young and hip hang out. It’s a old and modern city as well with great architecture. The road of the Trace towards Morne Rouge takes you to a different sode of Martinique.

Date of experience: March 2015
1  Thank Shirley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews