We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a typical French cafe in a 'foreign' land”
Review of La Croisiere

La Croisiere
Ranked #112 of 164 Restaurants in Fort-de-France
Cuisines: Caribbean
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018

A typical French provincial cafe in a foreign land (to us) with sub-standard loos was still a welcome spot to have a couple of beers on a hot day, and watch the world go by. OK if you are passing, but needs a bit of attention.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank dtredhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

As stated in the title of this review I believe this restaurant could easily be a part of Ramsay's popular show.
To give them a fair chance at being their best we visited two times.
It might be possible that the owners wanted to pursue a dream of having their own French restaurant with good food and a sweet view, and may have been successful in the beginning.
However. The setting of the restaurant is mostly marine -themed but there must have been some disagreements in what to display. There are whiskey bottles nailed to some of the pillars in the room that contradicts the marine theme somewhat, and to add to this confusion in furnishing they have some paintings sending a jazz-vibe. A blaring TV stole any remaining atmosphere, especially considering the employees sat down to watch it a few tables away whenever they were unoccupied.
All in all, we got a feeling of walking into a room designed by a person with a slight concentration problem.
When we visited the first-time it was evening,we received some greetings when we got up the stairs and decent service when it came to find a seat and be handed menus.
When our server quickly came back to take our order only one of three had decided, but when we asked him to give us a few more minutes his reaction was short and unpolite. When he came back he had the first order(beer, which is hard to screw up since the most you have to do is serve it cold) and noted the remaining drink. When the second drink was served, not only was he having a video call on his phone but also refrained from looking at us.
A decent visit...

Now for day two!
This day we decided to get some lunch. More precisely their lunch menu. (3 course for 12 €) and that is a rather good price for a three course meal, you'll say. Just wait.

We ordered drinks and directly (literally) after were handed our appetizers. No explanation as to what it was, and we still don't know and dared not take pictures.
It was a grey/brown lump containing carrots and bacon and water, what the coloring was .. is probably better unknown. This atop a few pieces of cucumber, all this served pukewarm, as if they cooked them some time earlier and didn't bother reheating. Believing in that next course would be better we stayed.

We were disappointed, Main course was screaming of Chef Mike*. We were served a piece of over cooked, dry, fat-swimming meatchunk that we believe was a thigh something. It came with the charming colour of cow dung and was served with rubbery orange pasta that was still sweating from Mikes watt treatment.

Finally we came to desert, flambéed banana.
We asked if they perhaps had anything else, as any customer that is not entirely pleased would. But no, this was all. Great we thought, we shall enjoy this anyway!
When it arrived our waitress drenched it in whiskey and set it aflame. What arrived? A banana, that looked awfully much like a shriveled up and very sad-looking part that a man has between his legs. It was displayed on a plate covered in grease with flakes of something swimming in the marinade.
We decided that it tasted ok, but could have used a scoop of ice-cream or alike to make it much better. This particular dish also made memories of teenage parties with too much alcohol involved resurface; a no extra charge bonus!

Overall this place is terrible if you want good food(McDonald's will leave you more satisfied). If you want to enjoy a beer at their small balcony you will be somewhat pleased. And if you just want to enjoy their confusing furnishings, there are pictures online.

*Chef Mike = their hardest working cook, the microwave.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Ingrid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

We stopped in for drinks after a walking tour of the City and really enjoyed the view from the balcony. There were 4 of us and we all tried a local beer called Lorraine, I think. regardless of the spelling, it was delicious and very cold!

Date of visit: January 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

We went here on our first night in Martinique after a long day of travel. The grilled snapper was cold and bland. The Creole sauce had no taste to it. The green beans were cooked, but no taste. We asked for hot sauce, but got salad dressing. Because we were so hungry, we ate. The service was good.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank Scubanut99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2017

We had a lovely espresso here while planning our day. The decor and service were pleasant. Arrived by cruise ship and this is one of the first places we came to, it's upstairs with a balcony overlooking the street and ship.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Service
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Croisiere also viewed

Fort-de-France, Arrondissement of Fort-de-France
 
Fort-de-France, Arrondissement of Fort-de-France
Fort-de-France, Arrondissement of Fort-de-France
 
Fort-de-France, Arrondissement of Fort-de-France
Fort-de-France, Arrondissement of Fort-de-France
 

Been to La Croisiere? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing