We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (152)
Filter reviews
152 results
Traveller rating
97
39
10
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
97
39
10
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsperfect locationbeach towelsa great place to staynice poolbiobay tourcasaviequesisland
Filter
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 152 reviews
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Great little guesthouse! It is within walking distance to the Malecon, but much more quiet than the places right on the Malecon (if you don't count the noise from roosters!) I loved all of the fruit trees on the property, and the cute dogs and cats roaming around. The pool was clean and refreshing and the room had everything we needed for our 2 night stay, including a kitchenette with a sink, fridge, microwave and table. Free wi-fi is also available in the sitting area by the office. John and Marilyn were very friendly and helpful hosts. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelWag0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Stayed for a few days and enjoyed EVERY day!!! Had some great conversations with John and Marilyn. The room was very comfortable,clean and affordable. A nice quiet retreat (away from the noise on the Malecon) but the restaurants and rum bars are all within a short walk so no need to drive if you don't want to. Would recommend Casa de Tortuga to anyone who is visiting Vieques.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamminfun49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

Stayed there for a few days in June. John and Marilyn were friendly, helpful hosts and great to talk to about Vieques. Casa Tortuga is so convenient to the Malecon and all the restaurants, it made it really easy. Accommodations and pool were immaculate. Great price for the quality and service. Look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaptBill46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

Just up from the Malecon, it's close to the restaurants but less busy. Agree with the other reviewers about the location, cleanliness, convenience of the mercado and panateria around the corner. Enjoyed having a dip in the pool each evening. The air con wasn't able to keep our upper level room cool despite leaving it on 61 degrees for hours.

Marilyn and John were a great help re kayak and snorkel rentals and bio bay tours. They also supply beach towels and small coolers on request. The rooster next door is definitely exuberant in the morning so consider ear plugs.

A bonus is the resident iguana.

I'd definitely stay here again. At $85 a night it's the best value we found on our 6 day trip to Puerto Rico (2 days in Vieques).

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are warmer and the air con can't keep up.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SKRnDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

After looking for several places to stay I was able to get a very friendly & helpful person at Casa Tortuga. Marilyn was very informative & being able to accommodate our family for one day trip. Unfortunately a tropical storm attempted to hit Puerto Rico & after 5 hours waiting for the ferry we couldn't make it to Vieques. I called Casa Tortuga & spoke to John who was also very helpful & understanding about our situation. He promised to call back within 24 to 48hrs to let me know if they could refund our money. He did call back within time promised & refunded money to us.

I was very pleased from day 1 with Casa Tortuga customer service & my family will definitely stay there in our next vacation in Puerto Rico. This time we are planning to stay more days as we are confident in Casa Tortuga hospitality. I will recommend it to everybody!!

Stayed: August 2012
1  Thank pvarela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews