We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A rustic jungle treasure!”
Review of La Finca Vieques

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla de Vieques
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Finca Vieques
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A rustic jungle treasure!”
Reviewed 4 October 2011

A large group of friends and I have made it an annual tradition to meet up somewhere new and exciting each year. We found  a rustic treasure in the jungle at la finca caribe -- and now have been there twice -- ! . Both times we rented the whole main house "casa grande", a big guest house with a unique personality. Casa grande has 6 guest rooms and decks upstairs and down -- so even though we were a large group -- it has a ton of space. the house has an open air kitchen where we were able to prepare our meals and make picnics for the beach. The "dinning room" is the deck with a view of the ocean and the cool breeze of the jungle. 

Finca offers plenty of individual space to relax in in-between group activities like the great hammocks or porch swings. When our group wanted a break from the white sandy beaches and crystal blue water finca has the perfect cure, a swimming pool for any level swimmer. 

La finca is definitively different. they say it's like camp -- and i think thats right. it is rustic -- but its clean and beautifully cared for. And its rusticness is a huge part of what makes it special... you really get to relax because of its funkiness, and the other guests -- int he other houses, that you share the pool with were great, like minded, travelers. 
 
Both times we got tons of great advise from the managers on the best beaches for snorkeling, local restaurants to eat at and best bio-bay tours to take. We will come back again -- and our friends feel the same... its starting to feel like our own tropical home :)

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terra4102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    173
    22
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
58
55
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2011

We loved picking star fruits and coconuts and swimming in the pool at La Finca. The hosts were wonderful - they helped us plan our days and made for great company. The major issue is that it is getting very hard to find a rental car on Vieques. The beaches are a 10 minute drive from La Fince and the publicos were hard to get a hold off during the holiday season.

The guesthouse was plenty roomy for our group of 12. We loved hanging out on the porch and hammock (4 of them). ...and cooking and eating together.

The rooms are simple and some of us had trouble with mosquitos. Overall, the house could use some updating (esp the bathrooms) but it is the tropics and really hard to keep things up to mainland standards.

After Vieques, we spent more time on the main island of PR and realized how much nicer things are on the island, especially the empty beaches. The La Finca property was so peaceful. We even grew to like the solar showers.

We'd love to stay again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimiroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2011

We spent a week in February at La Finca and fell in love with it. We stayed in the Casita which was cozy and we really appreciated having a kitchenette. It is quite close to the bathrooms/showers. The outdoor showers were so delightful at the end of the day. The water, solar heated, was warm and the surroundings jungle-like and beautiful. The new managers, Alejandro and Melissa, were very warm, helpful and friendly. The main house is funky and welcoming with lots of books, games and music. The kitchen is well equipped and the front deck is a great place to eat, read, write or just enjoy the view. We especially loved early mornings on the swinging seats, and the brilliant stars at night. La Finca is a welcoming haven away from the towns. Walk to Chez Shack on Monday evenings for grill night and great live music! And the bio bay is a must!!

Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank yucatanbound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, NH
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

We stayed for three nights at La Finca with our 2-year-old, and it was a wonderful place to be. It's away from the bustle of Esperanza and isabel II, and most of the time all you can hear are the wind in the trees, the roosters and the frogs. It is definitely not a hotel/resort experience: the lodgings are plain and rustic, but homely and comfortable. We came straight from the Hilton in San Juan, and the contrast was amazing. We were in the casita, which is simple but has everything you need, except a private bathroom. It has a lovely private deck and cooking facilities, and a nice crib was provided for our child. The pool was fantastic, and was where our kid wanted to spend most of his time, and the hammocks and big deck in the main guesthouse were perfect places to relax in the afternoon and evening. Finally, we can't say enough about the owners, Corky and Bill, who were managing the property during our stay. They were unfailingly helpful, outgoing, and generous. They will definitely treat you superbly, and leave you wishing you could stay longer!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brownhousechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Before coming to La Finca Caribe I spent a few days at a sprawling resort in Fajardo that could've been in Anywhere America. I almost left Puerto Rico without any exposure to the history, culture and art of this beautiful island, but decided to take a quick inexpensive flight to Vieques where I discovered this beautiful rustic retreat, La Finca Caribe- and thus began my real vacation. Instead of tv's and air conditioning, La Finca boasts a lush banana grove, an airy communal guest house, and rustic casitas with sun dried linens and mosquito nets. Everything from exploring beautiful beaches, riding horseback, and swimming in bioluminescent waters to meandering through wind-faded towns tasting local faire and touring the old fort, are all friendly affairs on this laid back island. And coming back to La Finca after a long day in the sun, visitors are soothed by Caribbean music drifting from the guest house and delicate strings of light leading to outdoor showers and a simple salt water pool. Entertainment takes the form of visiting with other travelers, relaxing on a swinging bench, and marveling at the blanket constellations overhead. Needless to say, the days are easy and the evenings even more so in this lovely little spot.

Though the owners are from the "mainland", they exude the generosity and joyful spirit of this beautiful island making La Finca Caribe a tropical refuge like none I've ever experienced. It's great for groups and perfect for couples and single travelers too. I'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skaye67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla de Vieques hotels
7.3 km away
Bravo Beach Hotel
Bravo Beach Hotel
#2 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
4.0 km away
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
W Retreat & Spa Vieques
#3 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
2.2 km away
Hacienda Tamarindo
Hacienda Tamarindo
#1 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 km away
El Blok Hotel
El Blok Hotel
#4 of 6 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.5 km away
Hix Island House
Hix Island House
#2 of 24 in Isla de Vieques
4.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
3.2 km away
Malecon House
Malecon House
#2 of 32 in Isla de Vieques
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Finca Vieques? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Finca Vieques

Property: La Finca Vieques
Address: Rte. 995, km 1.2 | Barrio Pilon, 00765, Puerto Rico (Formerly La Finca Caribe)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Isla de Vieques
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Isla de Vieques
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,622 - ₹ 12,602
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vieques' most beautiful rustic getaway and original eco-tourism destination since 1995....A rare taste of the Caribbean -- the way it used to be, quiet, natural & affordable. Perfect for groups of two to thirty, workshops, family reunions, or romantic getaways for just the two of you. Anyone who likes off the beaten track and wants to experience the Caribbean the way it was meant to be: quiet, natural and affordable. Salt water pool, outdoor showers, hammocks, views and breezes. La Finca is a cluster of handmade houses -- our large wooden main house, Casa Grande, alone can sleep 18-22, but we also have two family size cabanas and two smaller casitas, all on 3 acres of fruit trees & palms, on the off-beat island of Vieques, seven miles from Puerto Rico's eastern shore; a 25 minute flight and a world away from San Juan....We're up in the hills, with beautiful views and tradewinds, three miles away from the bustle of town...Talk about getting away! We're not a hotel, or a b&b ... The finca is our family's own private "finca" that we love to share with like-minded eco travelers -- folks who like things as natural and simple as possible. Our towels don't match, our showers are outdoors (don't worry -- they're private), the skies are jet black and studded with stars, and the property is dotted in coco palms, mangoes, starfruit, bananas, and a dozen hammocks ... Tropical summer camp, quiet and beautiful. Think Swiss Family Robinson... (Please note: Feb-March 2015 renting the whole finca means all houses/cabins with exception of Cabanita and includes 10 bedrooms with 7 baths and can sleep up to 33.) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Finca Caribe Hotel Isla De Vieques

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing