We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
THE PLACE for Sunset

This is the best spot for a sunset with a cocktail. They've spruced up a bit since our last visit... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
gerryfs
,
Fairfield, Connecticut
Good food and drink

New owners must have kept the best features but changed the name slightly. Our Shrimp Po' Boys were... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Jim M
,
Antioch, Illinois
Read all 272 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Isla de Vieques
from US$ 76.94
More Info
from US$ 115.96
More Info
from US$ 175.00
More Info
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
150
87
24
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
150
87
24
4
7
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2017

Over looking the ocean, Great drinks & Bar Food, Can sit outside & enjoy a drink or two with friends or family. The staff is great. LOVE IT

Date of experience: February 2017
Thank barbaraliny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2017

Think Hemingway not Bond. Off the beaten path. Have a Ron del Barrilito and Coke while watching the ferry come in.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank shall22016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

First night in Vieques we walked down to this bar. Met Tom a bartender. He was awesome. Went there on our last afternoon and met Jim another bartender. Loved him too. We also met Dan. If we ever go back we will definitely sit in our bar stools again. They had great fish tacos and chicken wings.

Date of experience: May 2017
Thank Christine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2017

Let me start by stating I had to put Dec 2016 for our visit, we visited in Dec 2015 while on vacation in Puerto Rico. At the time we knew very little of Vieques, and actually had intentions on getting the ferry to Culebra for the day. Even though we arrived at 6 am, we were too far in back of life for the ferry to Culebra (many leaving to head over there for New Years), so instead of turning around and heading back to Dorado, we decided to book to Vieques. Once arrived, we made our way around a few sights and wonderful beaches, and finished the day at Al's Mar Azul. Isn't it funny how one place, for whatever reason, can stick in your mind as the "vision of vacation" long after you leave your vacation? For us, Al's Mar Azul was just that. We tucked in to the bar for about an hour and had some amazing appetizers and food. The Jerk Chicken Sandwich was incredible, and had a few Bushwackers each. Our bartender at the time was brand new. What appeared to be the owner was all over her about her mistakes for the entire time we were there right in front of us, which made us feel slightly uncomfortable (we still wonder to this day if that bartender made it!), but both the bartender and the owner were nothing but nice to us, and we got rid of any discomfort from hearing the tongue lashes by getting lost in the AMAZING views this place has to offer. Our ferry was a little late to arrive, and we didn't mind! We watched the sunset over Vieques, and it was a truly special night. We think fondly about it still today! We hope to be back soon, and are secretly hoping that bartender pushed through and is now the top server at Al's :)

Date of experience: December 2016
2  Thank denvernoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Located up the road from the ferry, this spot is awesome for a casual meal and drinks. The bartenders are on top of it and the food is fresh. There is a nice sized deck overlooking the water so you aren't trapped inside. Best Painkillers on the island for sure... Haven't had one? I'm not sure what exactly this frozen concoction is made with but it was excellent.

Date of experience: April 2017
1  Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews