We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (48)
Filter reviews
48 results
Traveller rating
10
7
6
10
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
7
6
10
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ferry dock pr island beaches vieques
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 48 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

The view was $1 million I mean it was absolutely beautiful. But our experience at the hotel was a group that came in and partied most all night and we had to listen to. And staff didn't seem to mind. Outside of that it is close to everything in the port area. Several good restaurants within walking distance. But if you're coming to the island you better get a vehicle you're going to need it.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank greattimes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed here 2 nights, and you're definitely paying for location here. You can see they're in the middle of updating the rooms but they're not there yet. Go in expecting very little and you may be surprised. The areas that lacked were made up for by the staff. There was an issue with the water in the shower and it was quickly remedied. The location is fabulous. See photo of patio. It's beautiful and probably the closest hotel to the ferry. I'd stay here again but would probably wait a little until some more renovations were completed.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank thetravelqueenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2017

I want to first clarify that I am writing this knowing that this hotel is in the process of renovations since it is under new administration. This being said, the following points will be made hoping that they will take into consideration that it would considerably improve the desirability of the hotel.

On the plus side, the location is very convenient if you want to be staying in the Isabel II area, We were walking distance from everywhere. The view from the balconies facing the water and the first floor terrace are PRICELESS. They offer drinks and appetizers and we loved sitting there enjoying the view. We were told that when the kitchen is completed they will be offering dinner. It should be a prime spot if the food is good. The pool has been finished and was a generous size.

As for the ongoing renovations, we had a room facing the street. The night we stayed we were glad we were facing this side. A friend had a room facing the water and there were people partying out at the pool until at least 2 am. I strongly recommend the hotel close the pool at least at 10 pm. Our friend could hear the noise clearly in his room.
Our room was clean. The towels were old but we are not complaining because we know they are under renovations. New towels should be white and generous in size.
Our bed was a full size bed. If they are considering changing the size, a queen would be much better. The air conditioner was a standard wall unit and the air would hit us directly on our heads. There was no way to change the direction. If they are to be changed then splits are quieter and can be placed above beds. Because of the window and the door to the balcony there was no place for a split unit there. Bathrooms are very dated but were clean. Lots of room for improvement.
As a whole the hotel needs a lot of love but if they do improve it fully it could be a jewel.
I will be keeping my eye on this one. The Esperanza side was very nice but it is noisier. I would rather rent a car and visit Esperanza and then go back to my quiet hotel.
I hope the new administration has a clear plan and develops this hotel into all it can be. Everyone would benefit.

Room Tip: Beachfront here means there is a sand area, but it is not a large beach. But the water is very, very nice.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

Hotel was being "remodeled" but this was not disclosed at the time of booking one month earlier...No pool! No lounge! No beach! Even though the description advertised these amenities. Wish we would have known this prior to checking in. 2 very disappointed kids and 2 unhappy adults. Rooms were clean and comfortable for the price.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MacyJD, Manager at The Wave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Good afternoon Debbie,
I am sorry that you experienced an unpleasant time while staying at the wave hotel, We are working on improving every day. Our pool and lounge area have been open since January. So i hope you can stop back by and enjoy the fun in the sun.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

We booked a last minute trip over to vieques to do the biobay tour. Not many hotel options left. This hotel did have a three bed room perfect for our family. An it pricey but last minute and the hotel is literally right on the beach. Not too bad, little run down but clean and served us well. Staff was extremely helpful!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank lukec498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews