We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“"Only Rain Forest in the US"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The El Yunque Rain Forest

The El Yunque Rain Forest
Book In Advance
US$ 65.98*
and up
El Yunque Rainforest Half-Day Trip from San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Covering 28,000 acres, and receiving more than 200 inches of rain per year, El Yunque National Forest is the only tropical rain forest in the US Forest System. Noted for its biodiversity, the forest is home to more than 400 different plant species. It has more than a dozen maintained trails for hiking, picnic pavilions, stone towers, rivers, waterfalls, and an interpretive visitors' center.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Lakeland, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“"Only Rain Forest in the US"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just minutes away from San Juan the rain forest is truly awesome! There are a few paved roads in the forest but hiking or walking at least parts of the forest is a sheer joy. Bring a wrap as it gets noticeably cooler near the top. Do not miss this one!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank Chris52249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

4,894 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,436
    1,082
    291
    53
    32
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Picachos Trail is the BEST !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

My partner and I have been many times to El Yunque, and being locals we know its always busy on the main and easy trails and at La Mina Falls. Recently I saw a photo of El Picacho an reminded me of Huayna Picchu, the mountain that towers over Machu Picchu. We decided to go climb it on a monday to avoid the weekend crowds. The National Parks are doing a great job of mantaining the rainforest and the trails clean and the employees are very helpful and knowlegable. The Picachos Trail starts at the Palo Colorado Information Center. There is a small store and clean bathrooms. It takes about two hours to get to the top and it is really worth it. The trail zig zags up the mountain, crossing a river many times. You literally backtrack the river up to its source, which is a tricle of water on a small cave on the side of the mountain. Do drink the water and re-fill your bottles, it's the best water you will ever taste. Nice clean cold water. Fifteen minutes after that and a steep set of stairs, you get to the top of one of the two Picachos. There you are surrounded by fog, clouds and mist. Although you are over 3,000 feet up, don't expect much of a view, after all it's the rainforest. If you do get a view is of the valley between the mountains and of all the north, east and south sides of the island with the golden beaches all around. We spent almost an hour up there all by ourselves and saw no one coming down. You can then cross to the Mt. Britton Trail and see the view of the other side of the park and all the way to San Juan.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Pancho66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A must see in PR”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We visited El Yunque with "Charlie's Custom Day Tours" superhost, Carlos Medina. I enjoyed having a tour guide for this visit because otherwise I think we would have spent much time wandering and wondering where to go next. Having a guide ensures that you hit all the must-see stops without getting lost. I think it would be difficult to tour El Yunque alone because a lot of things are not clearly marked, it is not like stateside parks and attractions in that respect.

However, El Yunque is the only rain forest in the US National Park system, and as such it is beautiful. Every American should see it.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank CayenneChemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“worth seeing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

I'm glad we visited the rainforest. You can hike to the waterfalls and take a dip. Bring a towel and some water shoes. It will be easier to get in and out climbing the rocks with the proper shoes. The main path is paved (narrow path), it curves down hill and uphill, a nice hike but not to strenuous. It was about a mile and half in to the main waterfall. There are stopping points along the drive into the park with educational information and views.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lbiniasz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“So much to see- and no mosquitoes!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

We took a tour with John Druitt (Island Walkers) to the top of El Yunque trail- to the observation tower. It was a very cool (literally chilly at the top!) experience. The walk was a little intense for our slightly lazy 6-year-old, but he was distracted by chances to splash in the waterfalls and streams. The raised concrete trail on our way back down was too narrow for us to walk two across, and led to some very close encounters with hikers going the opposite direction- but it was a marvel to see such a labor-intensive trail in the middle of the forest, and it kept us up out of the mud and leaf litter.

We saw a couple of gorgeous birds (the tody was my favorite), an ENORMOUS snail shell (no snail inside), and we heard a coqui!!

El Portal visitors center was beautiful- looking across the forest at tree top level was a cool perspective, and we found lots of great information.

Overall, the park was beautiful, and amazingly well-maintained. Trails were clear, restrooms were a little rustic, but clean, and signs were clear and helpful. And, there were no mosquitoes at all. Mr. Druitt, our guide, explained why- I can't remember for the life of me, but we certainly enjoyed it!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SmallWorldCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The El Yunque Rain Forest also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
Culebra, Puerto Rico
 

Been to The El Yunque Rain Forest? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing