We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Price/Great Location/Friendly Staff/Beautiful Room”
Review of Hotel Belgica

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Belgica
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Lawrence, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Price/Great Location/Friendly Staff/Beautiful Room”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

My Husband and I stayed at Hotel Belgica on a Friday night. In love with the room (16), decorations, high ceilings, great view, hot water and clean. Continental breakfast is served every morning. The staff was friendly on the phone and in person. A minute from the Parque de Bombas, la Plaza, restaurants and a night club. I had the best coconut almond ice cream right in front of the Plaza (don't remember the name of the ice cream place, but you will find it when you see the line to buy).

There is a club right next to the hotel and it was a little loud for my husband, but fine for me. The streets were being cleaned early in the morning so that also disturbed my husband's sleep, but again I was fine. : )

I will definately go there again.....

Room Tip: Rm 16 is a beautiful room w/ a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIZBETH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

368 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    150
    48
    20
    17
See reviews for
68
200
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. The hotel is steps away from the main square and walking distance to restaurants and shops. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. There is a complimentary breakfast which consists of toast, muffins, yogurt, coffee and juice. The room was a decent size and they do a wonderful job of keeping the room and bathroom clean. The water is heated by solar energy so our showers never got above lukewarm which is the main reason I gave this hotel 3 stars instead of 4. Also, the towels and comforter were a bit worn. There is a sign in the bathroom that explains that the water should heat up eventually and to please be patient. Even though we let the water run it still didn't get hot and I felt like I was wasting water in the meantime. The room is kept nice and cold by an AC window unit. The last night that we were there we could hear the bass from the bar below. The noise from the AC was able to muffle the actual music. If you are looking for a simple, centrally-located hotel that is budget-friendly, then I would recommend this hotel to you.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wahoowa91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mons, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

We stayed at Hotel Belgica for two days whie visiting Ponce, then went back to San Juan. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The room was absolutely beautiful. High ceilings, nicely decorated, great view from balcony...really spectacular without an air of pretension. The wifi was choppy and the water never got hot, only lukewarm after a long time running. Other than those small things, it was a great place to stay. I would recommend to anyone visiting Ponce.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank niekik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

First of all, I would like to say that i LOVE tall ceilings and this room had very tall ceilings and it was a very spacious room. the continental breakfast was good limited selection but it was good. the staff was very sweet. we were in the heart of downtown like a square and it was awesome because we were near restaurants and stores. we were in walking distance to many places which was very helpful and great!

Room Tip: the room was very clean and very spacious, there was an a/c unit and the bathroom is very spacious a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rs_929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Belgica in Ponce with it's accommodating staff, clean, comfortable room, and proximity to the square. We only stayed in Ponce one night and were disappointed in the lack of activity in the main square area, but it was a Wednesday night, so it's hard to say what a weekend would be like. Anyway, if you're going to Ponce, the hotel was a great choice for the cost and location.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sbk135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
0.2 km away
Hotel Melia Ponce
Hotel Melia Ponce
#6 of 7 in Ponce
461 reviews
0.1 km away
Ponce Plaza Hotel and Casino
7.0 km away
Holiday Inn Ponce & Tropical Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Howard Johnson Hotel Ponce PR
33.4 km away
Hotel Parador Guanica 1929
19.5 km away
Costa Bahia Hotel, Convention Center & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belgica? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belgica

Property: Hotel Belgica
Address: 122 Villa St, Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,848 - ₹ 7,262
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Belgica 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the heart of the historic district of Ponce. Rooms with cathedral ceilings and traditional balconies. Next to Plaza las Delicias and the Trolley Tour. Family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Belgica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgica Hotel Ponce

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing