We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, interesting area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Certificate of Excellence
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, interesting area”
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We spent our first three nights at the El Conquistador in Fajardo. It was a pretty drive from there to Ponce, and this town is a lot different. Ponce is PR's second largest town, did not feel as busy as San Juan, but still populated. The locals were nice, visited the mall--It had 3 SEARS stores, haha. Stocked up on groceries, though prices for food and drinks were much more reasonable at this resort than EL Conquistador--the room prices are a lot less too. We had a nice ocean and pool view, lots of little iguanas running around which was fun. Pool was nice, always busy...kind of creepishly warm water. All of the guests there seemed like locals, which was a nice change of pace. You can also take the van over to El Caribe, where the golf course is, they also have a pool and restaurant with a small beach. We went on a Saturday and did not spend more than five minutes over there, lots of parties going on. The beaches at both resorts were...there. No disrespect, we just saw so many other beautiful beaches, these just were not my type...brown sand, rocky, water was rough. Stick with the pool area, theres lots to do there, they have ping pong, giant chess, tennis, a little tiki bar, and Coco the parrot who says hola to you if he likes you. Breakfast was included in our stay (hilton honors) and was great. The greeter was so friendly and went through everything with us. Lots of fresh food to pick from, the chef will make you whatever you wish if you want omelette or benedict. You can sit in the open air lobby and watch the koi fish swim by. The casino is pretty big for the area, very busy, they must let the public in too, smells musty like it may have flooded years ago. Overall, great escape for locals, good stop for the open minded traveller-- neat spot to stop for a night or two.

Room Tip: High floors have the best ocean view, so if you are Hilton Honors gold or higher, your chances of ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    471
    201
    96
    53
See reviews for
512
419
26
340
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ferndale, Michigan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012 via mobile

If you think you're going to get a luxurious stay at the ponce Hilton, think again. A big group of us scheduled our stay months in advance and when we got there at midnight exactly when we said we would arrive, they told us they had no such reservation in their system for our five rooms despite our confirmation print outs. Apparently they have two "systems" and the one they were using didn't have us in it. It was only by luck that they weren't full, otherwise we would have been turned away. Even when this was fixed, there was no apology. The service is slow, forgetful and generally unpleasant even though they can get tips! They have no work ethic at this Hotel. The bar/grill tried to turn me away because I came 10 minutes before closing and the server acted so inconvenienced. The next day they forgot to put in my order, so i sat waiting for my food for 30 mins as others were served right away. When i called their attention to this, they never apologized. Service at the pool is basically nonexistent. At best, they say they'll come take your order and never come back. Our room was always freezing for some reason even though we set the temp high. Our bathroom door was broken and could not close. Their other food options are expensive and poor quality farces (sanchos, la cava, buffet). Room service breakfast was late, cold and pathetic. It looked like a 3 year old made my "French toast" (literally from wonder bread). The hot tub was so hot, we couldn't use it. We told the staff who said they'd come fix it and never saw them again. They also do a poor job cleaning up their beach areas as there was so much garbage, we actually pulled a big bucket out of the sand and started collecting garbage ourselves because we couldn't stand to see that level of indifference. Avoid this place unless you're fine with constant disappointment. I think it must get high marks because there is literally nothing else around Ponce to compete with it. Never going back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cpha109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

We visited the Hilton in June 2012 for two nights. This is a very large resort with a golf course and casino. It is very near the boardwalk and about 10 minutes from the downtown area where the cultural center is. We stayed in the Executive Tower. The landscaping and the decoration of the interior of this resort is certain to disappoint. The grounds lack the color and presence of flowers that is so prevalent on the island. The interior of the resort is the same with the common areas lacking plants, vases, paintings and other items of visual interest. In other words, the resort is spartan and boring. The room was nice and spacious with a lovely tiled shower and everything you would expect in a room in a resort.There was a small refrigerator and a safe in the closet. Our room overlooked the ocean. The service was very poor. We were not able to check on time at 3 PM and were checked in an hour later. We tried to get towels and wash clothes because we had only one washcloth. After calling and getting an answering machin3 for room service twice, we called the front desk and had them delivered in about 10 minutes or less. The pool area is very small, not at all like the pictures on the website display.

Room Tip: The Executive Tower is at the back of the property and you had to walk a good distance to get back t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank professor310740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear professor 310740:

Thank you for your review of our Resort.
We are happy you liked the rooms and the views. We are also taking note of your disappointment about your perception of the building's interiors being boring due to the lack of plants and flowers, and this will be a matter for internal discussion.
Once again, thank you for your time and feedback, as it helps us to look for ways to improve our Guests' satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,286 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 407 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

...this is your place. Big hotel with spacious open air dining and eating area just off the huge pool with outdoor whirlpool – all 100 yards or so from ocean. But, it is out away from everything – so you are pretty much captive here – so plan on that. The rooms are quite nice. The pool is too. The beach is – well, there is no beach. Two words on eating… at breakfast watch your food, a bird ate my muffin while I went to get a drink. You may say ‘cute’… I say not. If you go to outdoor bar eatery do not get the jibaro sandwich – it was pretty much terrible. As were the fries. Burger was good. Although the place is really neat to be at, it was just not for me.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Morgan2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear Morgan2010:
Thank you for your comments about your stay at our Resort.
We appreciate your recognizing our nice accommodations and general areas, as we understand you may have wanted a different type of location for your getaway.
We cordially invite you to try other Hilton Worldwide Hotels in Puerto Rico, where you may find the location to better suit your expectations.

Go Hilton, Go Everywhere!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Based on what I've heard, the Hilton in Ponce is the best hotel in the area. However, that being said, it doesn't mean that this is a really nice hotel.

I arrived with a very heavy backpack, a carry-on (wheeled) luggage, and another piece of luggage. There was nobody at the bell desk available when we arrived to ask/offer any assistance. I had to walk 2 miles (maybe not quite, but it sure seemed like it) to get to my room with all my luggage in tow. I had to "cross two bridges and take the elevator up to the 4th floor, turn right and walk down the hall some more."

The room was very disappointing; the decor, and probably the furniture itself, was from the 70s. I don't mind the retro look, but the furniture's quality was very dated.

After my first night's sleep, I walked into the bathroom to find moths and mosquitoes flying about. The little buggers kept me company during my entire stay (3 nights/4 days).

I was here for work and wasn't able to use the pool or fitness facility; I only saw the beach from a distance.

The one redeeming quality for this hotel is their toiletries - Peter Thomas Roth for the win!

It was nice that they had a breakfast buffet in the morning, but the food is only mediocre (sweetened oatmeal and rubbery eggs don't appeal to me much). However, the dinners we had at La Cava were nice, except for my last meal where the fish I had was spoiled. They were very nice about it and eager to replace, but my plans were foiled as my taxi arrived and I had to make the long trip back to San Juan.

Room Tip: If you don't want to walk too far with a lot of luggage, ask not to be placed in the "Execu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonPonce, Director of Sales at Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Dear liday:
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your visit to our Resort.
From your description of your walk to your room, you were staying at the Executive Tower, which was built and opened in 2005, and with its rooms offering a great unobstructed oceanview (especially from the 4th floor!). One other detail about the Executive Tower is that it offers an alternative point of entry, with direct access to the nearby parking lot.
We are sorry to read you were not assisted with your luggage, even though we maintain a 24-hour shift of Bell Staff, and we also have luggage carts (gondoles) available for those guests who choose not to use their service.
We hope your travel plans will bring you back to Ponce, so we can have the opportunity to better accommodate your personal needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ponce
77.8 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
77.5 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#20 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,878 reviews
78.0 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
77.9 km away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
86.3 km away
Wyndham Garden at Palmas del Mar
101.0 km away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort

Property: Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort
Address: 1150 Caribe Ave., Ponce 00716, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Ponce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Ponce
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,591 - ₹ 16,979
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort is a tropical resort facing the Caribbean Sea, within a secluded location in the picturesque city of Ponce, Puerto Rico's second largest city. This full service resort offers a 27-hole championship golf course, variety of bars and restaurants, a 24-hours Casino and is the ideal base to explore the southern part of Puerto Rico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Hilton Ponce Golf & Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Ponce Golf And Casino Resort
Hilton Ponce Golf Hotel Ponce
Hilton Ponce Hotel
Hilton Ponce Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing