We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Vacations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
2 reviews
“Nice Vacations”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Love the hotel. The pool, the service and the facility. Definetly im coming back very soon. Recommended!!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rayeniska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

595 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    183
    234
    98
    47
    33
See reviews for
248
178
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

We have been owners at the Hacienda Del Mar for 12 years, so we are well aware of the history concerning the Hyatt Cerromar closing several years ago, along with most of the restaurants and the river pool. We decided to return this year, after a 2-year absence, because we had heard that things were happening next door (the old Hyatt Dorado).

The grounds of the property are still impeccably maintained, as was our unit (we have a 2-bedroom). At the owners meeting last Monday morning we were told that plans are underway for redecorating the rooms. However, despite some prior reviews saying the decor is "dated" we feel that the units are still in excellent shape. We also learned at the owners' meeting that the Fairmount organization has recently decided that they are not interested in being the operator of the hotel that will be at the site of the old Cerromar and that the developer of the project, which is the property of the former Dorado and Cerromar, is looking for a new operator.

Let me just digress for a moment and say that we drove around the old Dorado site, which is heavily under construction! Major events are happening there - it will reopen in December 2012 as a Ritz Carlton resort and it looks like it will be amazing. We were even able to have dinner at the beachfront restaurant Friday night. We hope that the rebirth of the Dorado will have a very positive effect on the Hacienda Del Mar. Once the Ritz Carlton/Dorado is open, the developer hopes to build a 400-room hotel and casino at the old Cerromar property. The new hotel, however, will be adjacent to the golf course, not on top of the Hacienda like the old hotel is.

Anyway - we found that there was more activity this year at the Hacienda than at any year we have gone after the hotel closed. While it was far from crowded, we noticed that there was a variety of guests - seniors, families with children of all ages, couples, and a couple groups of spring-breakers who behaved very well! I must say, when we were there 2 years ago it was a little dead with no kids for our kids to pal around with. It is nice to go somewhere and not have to get up at 7am to put towels on the chairs so you have a spot at the beach or the pool.

The hotel still has the Blu Bohio, which serves breakfast, lunch and dinner (make sure you check the dinner hours). Food and drinks were very good, with a nice variety. I think someone's grandmother was in the back making the rice and beans - they were amazing! We had a car, so we were able to stock up at the nearby Amigo supermarket, and we also had dinner at the Chop House (sushi), La Terratza (great mofongo) and the Metropol (?) - a Puerto Rican and Cuban place in the shopping center that has the Starbucks.

All in all, we are very hopeful that the Hacienda Del Mar is on its way back to being the preferred destination of 10 years ago. As I said above, it is still carefully maintained, with plans for improvement underway. We know that some of the owners have given up and relinquished their rights to their timeshare - we are very happy that we have stuck it out and are looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Better views on the higher floors, and rooms in the phase 1 building do not have a view of the close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank CricketNut91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar, a vacation club property, in February 2012 for some R&R and my Wife's B'Day.

The property is about a half hour drive from San juan Int'l. I had a rental car because a cab ride is allegedly $50 each way. The property is located in Dorado, which is a suburb about 20 minutes from the tourist section of Condado and Old San Juan. Because of that, If your looking for excitement and lots of activity, this isn't the place for you!!!!!

Overall, this is a solid, well-maintained property. The rooms and grounds are clean and the staff is pleasant. However, the resort is dated and in need of an update. I had a 1 bedroom villa with a spacious living area and master suite. Everything was in working order, clean and functional; just not very modern. Since I had a full kitchen, I stocked up on water and a small amount of groceries from a local supermarket. We did half our dining in the room and half at the resort and around the neighborhood. I would definitely recommend El Vacahon, a neighborhood restaurant. Its absolutely fantastic!!! Also, i would recommend Zafra, an upscale restaurant in Plantation Village, a neighboring golf club location.

There is only 1 restaurant on site and it closes early!!! We ate there a few times. It had a typical beach bar and grill menu with a Latin Flair. The food was good, but nothing to go crazy over. The pool area was large and there were plenty of seats available no matter what time of day. The beach was extremely windy and almost chilly!!! I'm not sure if it was the time of year or just rough seas during my time there. At times, people had towels over themselves because the breeze was so strong.

A rental car is a must unless you intend to stay at the resort all day. You can't walk to anything in the area. Getting a Cab can be near impossible at certain times of the day. That is just the way it is in this area. Another couple told us that they were at the Embassy Suites down the road for dinner 1 evening and they couldn't get a cab. It was 8pm when they tried, so it wasn't even late in the evening.

The surrounding area is in transition. A Ritz Carlton Reserve resort and residence is being constructed in the next few years, so the neighborhood is on the rise. Allegedly, If your a guest of this resort, you'll have access to the Ritz's facilities. I'll believe that when I see it.

Overall, this is a resort I would come back to as long as I have a car available.

Room Tip: Select an upper floor if possible; Better View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank ViajeNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
feeding hills, ma
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

I was a little worried reading some of the negative reviews, but I realized quickly that most negative reviews are not based on the property, but on the people writing the reviews. You must go into a vacation realizing that you are not going to be the only ones there, there are others that are vacationing as well and we all must share that. That being said, sometimes its better to , as they say, not sweat the small stuff. As mch as we would like, things won't always be perfect.
On arrival at the airport, we were greeted by our Dorado Tours shuttle driver John with a placard with our names on it so it was easy to locate. John greeted us and even stopped at the local grocery store on the way to the hotel so that we could stock up. That saved us a trip out later on. John also gave us information on tours that we might like. We took advantage of that and he brought us to Old San Juan and the Bacardi tour. It seemed like John was our own personal driver for the day! He dropped us off at the ferry, made sure we were all set with tickets and gave us times to get back so that he could pick up up(right on time waiting for us) and take us to the Bacardi factory. Once again he got out and set us up with the tours tickets (we could have easily done that), and waited for us to finish the tour. Again, on the way back to the hotel he asked us if we needed to stop anywhere while we were out. He was GREAT!
All of the Staff at the hotel were very cordial the entire stay. In my opinion, you only get attitude if you give it! Had a problem with the in room safe, fixed within the hour! Rooms were nice, clean, and very comfortable. The unit had everything we needed. We never had any problems with noisy neighbors (first time in a long time on vaca we didn't have noisy neighbors). Being a home owner I realize that nothing stays brand new forever. Sure, some things need updating, but it never took away from the stay.
The closed hotel next door never bothered us either, we were too busy enjoying the beach and the pool to really even notice! The beach was awesome, a little rough and windy, but whatever. Still a great time.
Were there some negatives? Sure, but again, we didn't let those little things ruin our stay!!

The night shuttle driver Felix, was awesome as well! He recommended places to eat ( he was always right!), got out and made sure we had tables, never made us wait, and also stopped at a store for us. He was great company and an all around nice guys, thanks!

La Marena (sp) had great food. The Greenhouse Cafe was awesome as well! Great Ribs! went again just for the ribs, best I have had. The Pika Restaraunt was within walking distance. It was ok, to us, nothing to rave about. We walked that night to Pika, and on the way back at the beginning of the hotel entrance, Felix was driving by and told us to hop in to get a ride back. We would have enjoyed the walk back, but appreciated Felix for offering.

My wife and I didn't do much but enjoy a relaxing time at the Hyatt. Thanks everyone.

Room Tip: Upper floors offer better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We were here during spring break 2012. The walls are paper thin and the floors are tile which I love be offer no sound barrier. We had noisy neighbors in all directions and there isn't much you can do about it except request an upper floor which is better for ocean views anyway. The reviews about the resort are all accurate: great beach, nice pool, rooms and resort are dated, great fitness facility, great tennis courts, very helpful staff. They will do anything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We asked for an upgrade from a 1 to a 2 BR unit which they did for $50/night. The sofa bed was terrible and the sofa itself was pretty gross with big stains on the cushions. We thought it was well worth it. We were there a week and I wish we had more time to explore San Juan. It's about 30 - 40 minutes away but I didn't find the traffic all that bad. Perhaps if you are from rural America it would be overwhelming but so would any big US city. We found an outstanding restaurant in San Juan called Juan Enrique's. It was in an interesting area with live music on Saturday night, funky bars and clubs all around and seemed to be quite safe. GO THERE! The food was moderately priced, great atmosphere and great service. We loved Old San Juan and I wish we had another day there. We went to Camuy Caverns and that was a fun day trip. It's not the biggest or best but it's a pleasant drive and about an hour away. We toured the Bacardi Rum distillery and that was pretty fun. There is a lot to do at the resort in the way of activities but we are pretty physical people who love tennis, the beach, working out, etc. If you are a couch potato who doesn't do much physical the resort doesn't have great restaurants or night club entertainment. We would probably go back, not for the resort itself but PR is beautiful with Caribbean culture, good beaches, great restaurants and mostly friendly people.

Room Tip: Get as high as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank timoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorado
2.0 km away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
4.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
25.8 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.4 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
26.1 km away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
60.5 km away
Wyndham Grand Rio Mar Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar

Property: Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar
Address: 301 Carr 693, Dorado 00646-2205, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,011 - ₹ 20,031
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty and charm of Dorado, Puerto Rico in luxury. Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar, A Hyatt Residence Club invites you to experience paradise and true serenity at this beachfront resort, located just 25 miles from San Juan and situated on the famed Dorado Beach. Your worries and cares will drift out to sea with the warm tropical breezes as you soak up the sun on our private beach or poolside. Play a round of golf at one of the nearby championship golf courses or rejuvenate with a spa treatment at the Spa Del Sol. Plan a day trip to the El Yunque Rainforest or soar through the skies like an eagle hang gliding. Fun in the sun awaits with nearby water sports including windsurfing, jet skiing, snorkeling, kayaking, catamarans, deep-sea fishing and horseback riding. Visit historic Old San Juan founded in 1591, explore the Camuy Caverns–third largest cave system in the western hemisphere–or take a free tour of the Bacardi Rum Distillery. Let our friendly, professional staff take care of arranging your activities both near and far. Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar features spacious studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom beachfront accommodations, some of which include full kitchens and jetted spa tubs. Enjoy on-site amenities like tennis, mini-golf, basketball court, sand volleyball court, game room and a state-of-the-art fitness center featuring LifeFitness equipment, free weights, exercise cycles, and treadmills. Enjoy lunch and your favorite tropical drink at the Blu Bohio Bar and Grill or take it surfside if you wish. At the Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar on Dorado Beach, you'll discover all the fun, sun and excitement that have made Puerto Rico a legendary getaway. Please contact the resort directly to reconfirm your reservations if necessary. This is a non-smoking resort. Guests must be at least 21 years of age to check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Dorado
Hyatt Hotel Dorado
Hyatt Resort Dorado
Hyatt Dorado
Hyatt Cerromar
Dorado Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing