We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid Property in a Remote Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed at the Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar, a vacation club property, in February 2012 for some R&R and my Wife's B'Day.

The property is about a half hour drive from San juan Int'l. I had a rental car because a cab ride is allegedly $50 each way. The property is located in Dorado, which is a suburb about 20 minutes from the tourist section of Condado and Old San Juan. Because of that, If your looking for excitement and lots of activity, this isn't the place for you!!!!!

Overall, this is a solid, well-maintained property. The rooms and grounds are clean and the staff is pleasant. However, the resort is dated and in need of an update. I had a 1 bedroom villa with a spacious living area and master suite. Everything was in working order, clean and functional; just not very modern. Since I had a full kitchen, I stocked up on water and a small amount of groceries from a local supermarket. We did half our dining in the room and half at the resort and around the neighborhood. I would definitely recommend El Vacahon, a neighborhood restaurant. Its absolutely fantastic!!! Also, i would recommend Zafra, an upscale restaurant in Plantation Village, a neighboring golf club location.

There is only 1 restaurant on site and it closes early!!! We ate there a few times. It had a typical beach bar and grill menu with a Latin Flair. The food was good, but nothing to go crazy over. The pool area was large and there were plenty of seats available no matter what time of day. The beach was extremely windy and almost chilly!!! I'm not sure if it was the time of year or just rough seas during my time there. At times, people had towels over themselves because the breeze was so strong.

A rental car is a must unless you intend to stay at the resort all day. You can't walk to anything in the area. Getting a Cab can be near impossible at certain times of the day. That is just the way it is in this area. Another couple told us that they were at the Embassy Suites down the road for dinner 1 evening and they couldn't get a cab. It was 8pm when they tried, so it wasn't even late in the evening.

The surrounding area is in transition. A Ritz Carlton Reserve resort and residence is being constructed in the next few years, so the neighborhood is on the rise. Allegedly, If your a guest of this resort, you'll have access to the Ritz's facilities. I'll believe that when I see it.

Overall, this is a resort I would come back to as long as I have a car available.

Room Tip: Select an upper floor if possible; Better View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank ViajeNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (639)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 426 of 639 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

I was a little worried reading some of the negative reviews, but I realized quickly that most negative reviews are not based on the property, but on the people writing the reviews. You must go into a vacation realizing that you are not going to be the only ones there, there are others that are vacationing as well and we all must share that. That being said, sometimes its better to , as they say, not sweat the small stuff. As mch as we would like, things won't always be perfect.
On arrival at the airport, we were greeted by our Dorado Tours shuttle driver John with a placard with our names on it so it was easy to locate. John greeted us and even stopped at the local grocery store on the way to the hotel so that we could stock up. That saved us a trip out later on. John also gave us information on tours that we might like. We took advantage of that and he brought us to Old San Juan and the Bacardi tour. It seemed like John was our own personal driver for the day! He dropped us off at the ferry, made sure we were all set with tickets and gave us times to get back so that he could pick up up(right on time waiting for us) and take us to the Bacardi factory. Once again he got out and set us up with the tours tickets (we could have easily done that), and waited for us to finish the tour. Again, on the way back to the hotel he asked us if we needed to stop anywhere while we were out. He was GREAT!
All of the Staff at the hotel were very cordial the entire stay. In my opinion, you only get attitude if you give it! Had a problem with the in room safe, fixed within the hour! Rooms were nice, clean, and very comfortable. The unit had everything we needed. We never had any problems with noisy neighbors (first time in a long time on vaca we didn't have noisy neighbors). Being a home owner I realize that nothing stays brand new forever. Sure, some things need updating, but it never took away from the stay.
The closed hotel next door never bothered us either, we were too busy enjoying the beach and the pool to really even notice! The beach was awesome, a little rough and windy, but whatever. Still a great time.
Were there some negatives? Sure, but again, we didn't let those little things ruin our stay!!

The night shuttle driver Felix, was awesome as well! He recommended places to eat ( he was always right!), got out and made sure we had tables, never made us wait, and also stopped at a store for us. He was great company and an all around nice guys, thanks!

La Marena (sp) had great food. The Greenhouse Cafe was awesome as well! Great Ribs! went again just for the ribs, best I have had. The Pika Restaraunt was within walking distance. It was ok, to us, nothing to rave about. We walked that night to Pika, and on the way back at the beginning of the hotel entrance, Felix was driving by and told us to hop in to get a ride back. We would have enjoyed the walk back, but appreciated Felix for offering.

My wife and I didn't do much but enjoy a relaxing time at the Hyatt. Thanks everyone.

Room Tip: Upper floors offer better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We were here during spring break 2012. The walls are paper thin and the floors are tile which I love be offer no sound barrier. We had noisy neighbors in all directions and there isn't much you can do about it except request an upper floor which is better for ocean views anyway. The reviews about the resort are all accurate: great beach, nice pool, rooms and resort are dated, great fitness facility, great tennis courts, very helpful staff. They will do anything to make your stay as pleasant as possible. We asked for an upgrade from a 1 to a 2 BR unit which they did for $50/night. The sofa bed was terrible and the sofa itself was pretty gross with big stains on the cushions. We thought it was well worth it. We were there a week and I wish we had more time to explore San Juan. It's about 30 - 40 minutes away but I didn't find the traffic all that bad. Perhaps if you are from rural America it would be overwhelming but so would any big US city. We found an outstanding restaurant in San Juan called Juan Enrique's. It was in an interesting area with live music on Saturday night, funky bars and clubs all around and seemed to be quite safe. GO THERE! The food was moderately priced, great atmosphere and great service. We loved Old San Juan and I wish we had another day there. We went to Camuy Caverns and that was a fun day trip. It's not the biggest or best but it's a pleasant drive and about an hour away. We toured the Bacardi Rum distillery and that was pretty fun. There is a lot to do at the resort in the way of activities but we are pretty physical people who love tennis, the beach, working out, etc. If you are a couch potato who doesn't do much physical the resort doesn't have great restaurants or night club entertainment. We would probably go back, not for the resort itself but PR is beautiful with Caribbean culture, good beaches, great restaurants and mostly friendly people.

Room Tip: Get as high as you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank timoray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

My husband and I are owners at the Hacienda del Mar and traveled there again this year after being so pleasantly surprised last year. (we took a 3 year break after the Cerromar closed). Again, we were so pleased with the condition of the resort! Rooms could use an update but were neat and clean. The pool area and beach are fabulous! The staff could not have been nicer. From check in to dinner reservations to the beach bohio and bohio bar... everyone was so nice and helpful! The restaurants in the area continue to be great. We went twice to Morena - the grouper and rib eye steak are excellent!! Twice to the ChopHouse - sushi is outstanding, the teppanyaki food and show also excellent ( thanks to Jose and Milton!). Had a casual pizza dinner at Faccio Pizza in Dorado and we were pleasantly surprised at how good the thin crust pie was. Zafra, at the Plantation Golf Club House, was excellent and the dining room was lovely. (The chandeliers were salvaged from the old Surf Room at the Dorado Beach Hotel.) The Dorado property has been redeveloped as an upscale Ritz scheduled to open in December. Sounds like there will be condos and free standing homes as well. Hopefully the Cerromar property will be next for redevelopment. Things are definitely looking up in Dorado, PR!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms face the ocean but try for 5th floor or above since some palm trees get in the way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lspies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Pool area is very nice. We did observe some folks putting towel on chair and not returning for hours. I suppose the ultra-private/secluded beach was so much better they stayed there ? The green fence, blocking view of neighboring & closed hotel is NOT an eyesore or any trouble at all. That being closed assured us a VERY large and private beach; just like others have reported here. Our room was on 5th floor so we were higher than the pool area palm trees thus able to clearly see ocean and never ending waves. Very nice! We had great slush drinks at poolside bar. Exercise room is well equipped, yet the elliptical machines seem more home-style than those rated for gym (non-stop) use. The elliptical I used worked fine but clearly would have benefited from a tune-up. They supply wipes to pre, and post, clean your machine. The weight machines were abundant, in good shape, and no lines. Staff was top notch.
As others have reported, this place is not physically far from San Juan, but when you add traffic, its a nightmare to try and return to hotel between 4 and 7pm. I truly wish Obama would provide New Jersey the highway funding that somehow Puerto Rico gets.There are orange cones on EVERY roadway and construction guys at all hours of day doing work.

About 1 mile outside hotel property is a very large and well stocked grocery store. Its accross street from CVS. The hotel has 2 BBQ propane grills on the beach, so you can easily grill up anything you get at store.

The folks around San Juan are truly friendly. While the Policia are EVERYWHERE!!!, we never felt need for them.I asked about getting cigars and I was surprised how many speak english and truly wanted to help me. We got the strong sense that the locals wanted us to be happy.

Bottom Line: If trip is to tour San Juan (which I strongly recommend) then this hotel location is not good (again, due to traffic). If trip is to bum around the pool, hands down, stay here!

Room Tip: 4th floor seems to be right at top of palm trees surrounding pool. Any lower would get you view of p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wudwork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorado
5.8 km away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
4.8 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
9.4 km away
Comfort Inn & Suites Levittown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.0 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
54.4 km away
Margaritaville Vacation Club Wyndham Rio Mar
4.9 km away
Aquarius Vacation Club at Dorado del Mar Beach & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar

Address: 301 Carr 693, Dorado 00646-2205, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Price Range: ₹ 11,562 - ₹ 11,562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the beauty and charm of Dorado, Puerto Rico in luxury. Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar, A Hyatt Residence Club invites you to experience paradise and true serenity at this beachfront resort, located just 25 miles from San Juan and situated on the famed Dorado Beach. Your worries and cares will drift out to sea with the warm tropical breezes as you soak up the sun on our private beach or poolside. Play a round of golf at one of the nearby championship golf courses or rejuvenate with a spa treatment at the Spa Del Sol. Plan a day trip to the El Yunque Rainforest or soar through the skies like an eagle hang gliding. Fun in the sun awaits with nearby water sports including windsurfing, jet skiing, snorkeling, kayaking, catamarans, deep-sea fishing and horseback riding. Visit historic Old San Juan founded in 1591, explore the Camuy Caverns–third largest cave system in the western hemisphere–or take a free tour of the Bacardi Rum Distillery. Let our friendly, professional staff take care of arranging your activities both near and far. Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar features spacious studio, one-bedroom and two-bedroom beachfront accommodations, some of which include full kitchens and jetted spa tubs. Enjoy on-site amenities like tennis, mini-golf, basketball court, sand volleyball court, game room and a state-of-the-art fitness center featuring LifeFitness equipment, free weights, exercise cycles, and treadmills. Enjoy lunch and your favorite tropical drink at the Blu Bohio Bar and Grill or take it surfside if you wish. At the Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar on Dorado Beach, you'll discover all the fun, sun and excitement that have made Puerto Rico a legendary getaway. Please contact the resort directly to reconfirm your reservations if necessary. This is a non-smoking resort. Guests must be at least 21 years of age to check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Hacienda Del Mar Hotel Dorado
Hyatt Hotel Dorado
Hyatt Resort Dorado
Hyatt Dorado
Hyatt Cerromar
Dorado Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing