We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Secluded, Friendly, Great Place to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
CT
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Secluded, Friendly, Great Place to be”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

I took my husband on a trip to my Island. Being a Puerto Rican I knew he would have a great time in Dorado. The people in this town are great, friendly, and very helpful. This town is close to everything and yet far from the very crowded metro area. The Hotel has a golf course, which my husband used and liked very much, the rooms are clean, the hotel is clean and spacious. The pool area is perfect size and their little beach is great for families with small children because of its shallow waters. This hotel has a casino on its premises, small, but it has all the games you would normally play. Their breakfast is awesome! It offers a great variety and the food is great. If you like to be in a safe and comfortable place, this is for you. If you like action and to do some sightseeing of different parts of the island, it would be a little costly, but I would say it is worth it. They offer self parking for 10.70 a day, so if you rent a car, keep in mind it will be extra.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Esther J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    524
    296
    130
    78
See reviews for
784
407
30
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

First, I have to say that staff is very kind and helpful. Check in process was very quickly and honestly I was surprised since they had free "cooked-to-order" breakfast, they gave me free tickets for two drinks per day, also they have happy hour from 5:30-7:30 for any drink you want...yes free (Something you don't often see in US territories hotels). Pools is very nice, specially for kids. Beach is just OK but there are other public beaches in Dorado that you can go to. Hotel has a new Casino which is very nice, golf course is very nice and the new oriental restaurant is awesome. Self parking is $10.00 per day if you have a rental car.

Around there are a lot of places you can go for dining, shopping and entertainment. Went to Made in Puerto Rico which is about 5 minutes from the hotel and food was very nice puertorican style plates. Attendants were also very funny.

Hotel stay was very good and will be staying here again in the future.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Oceanview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank traveler_pr_usa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsford, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2012

The check-in was easy and timely, the resturant and bar staff was friendly and the food was very good at both the in hotel resturant and accross the drive at the chophouse/oriental grill. The rooms were nice for the price. The pullout couch bed was not very comfy but it was a standard mattress. Managers receptions, that we made it to, served rail but drinks were good and plentiful. Our view was great as we could see both the ocean and some of the golf course. The course t-boxes and fairways could have used watering, however we lost enough balls in the water hazards argh.

The only think I would have added was more activity. It would have been nice to have group water areobics or some poolside activities. They had music on weekend but otherwise not much to do after dinner and the area didnt seem to have too much happening.

Room Tip: We stayed on the East side and the view was great. The sun came up about 6:20 but the drapes kept it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Beautiful resort, great value and terrific service all in one. This was my first trip to Puerto Rico and I booked in Dorado to be near to my husband's family (he's from the Dorado area). We were bowled over by the warmth and helpfulness of the entire staff. Everyone spoke perfect English (which was a concern for me, not my husband!). The valet staff (even though we didn't use the service) were super friendly and very helpful with places to go, etc. We didn't meet one staffer of the hotel who wasn't very warm and friendly. It elevated the luxuriousness of our stay tremendously. The room was big, clean and comfortable. My daughter even said the sofa bed was very comfy. The breakfast was fantastic and the Manager's reception every evening was a nice way to end your day and begin your night out! The pool and beach areas were phenomenal. The breakers made the private beach your own private lagoon. The waves (when there were waves) were very small, which made it the perfect beach for kayaking and paddle boating. The only negative I can think of, and it was minor, was the hotel restaurant. We ate there the first night as we arrived sort of late. The food was pricey, the selection was small and everything was extremely over-salted. Service was great, and the drinks were mighty fine! Lunch at the outdoor bar and grill was a different story....reasonably priced and very good food. Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. I am already planning a return next year and have every intention of spending more of my time enjoying the resort amenities and less time sight seeing!

Room Tip: I would recommend a high floor if you are a light sleeper and staying on a weekend. There was live...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quinellax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msemprit, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
Dear Didn't Want to Leave Guest:

The comments you made on our Resort and Team put a HUGE smile to my face.

It was especially rewarding to know that this was your first trip to Puerto Rico and that we met and even exceeded your expectations.

Regarding the experience at the Restaurant, we are presently reviewing all of our menus and making changes in order to make sure that all expectations are met.

We look forward to your return back to Puerto Rico and our Embassy Suites Dorado del Mar Resort.

Cordially,

Marisol Colon
General Manager
787-278-7001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We stayed at the Embassy Suites in Dorado back in November 2009. This was our second trip to Puerto Rico and I have to say that I was very disappointed with the Embassy Suites. My in-laws are Marriott Timeshare owners and they decided to stay at the Embassy Suites because we would have kitchen areas to prepare our meals in.

The first issue is the location of the Embassy. Because it is on a large property it is almost a mile walk to get to the main street. A car is necessary to get around everywhere. We really enjoyed taking walks at night and walking to the local restaurants during our first stay. This was not possible at the Embassy.

The beach at the resort is absolutely awful. I am from Florida so maybe I have higher beach standards than others do? The beach itself is small and there are not many spots to lay down a towel. It is nearly impossible to swim in the ocean unless you are a skilled swimmer. During rough currents you are smashed onto rocks. Because the beach is terrible everyone goes to the pool and the seats are all taken by lunch. Go to the pool early or be prepared to not get a lawn chair.

During our trip I got a rash all over my body. I don't know if I had an allergic reaction with jacuzzi outside or the fabric detergent on our sheets, but needless to say I spent the majority of my trip taking benadryl and misserable.

Room Tip: Stay at the hotel instead of the suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
msemprit, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort, responded to this review, 11 May 2012
It is so disappointing for us to read reviews where guest weren't satisfied as apparently you weren't.

I do apologize for the rash on your body or allergic reaction during your stay and hope that you felt better upon your return to your home. It is important for me to clarify that all of our linen fall within the allergy free (Green Products) line of linen as well as all other products that we utilize to service your suite.

Considering that our Resort is approximately a mile and a half from the main road, a car is recommended if one doesn't wish to rely on the 24 hour/7days a week taxi service.

As you mentioned, the Beach is public and although our Team work hard to keep it clean and organized as much as possible, we depend on the support and cleaning crew of the Municipality of Dorado that unfortunately aren't always available.

I hope that although you had these inconveniences, that you did find our Team to be accommodating and offering their attention to detail.

Take care and have a great year.

Cordially,

Marisol Colon
General Manager
787-278-7001
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dorado
20.9 km away
Condado Vanderbilt Hotel
2.9 km away
Dorado Beach, a Ritz-Carlton Reserve
19.9 km away
Caribe Hilton San Juan
Caribe Hilton San Juan
#19 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26.9 km away
Embassy Suites by Hilton San Juan Hotel & Casino
21.6 km away
San Juan Marriott Resort & Stellaris Casino
21.2 km away
La Concha Renaissance San Juan Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort
Address: 201 Dorado Del Mar Boulevard, Dorado 00646, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Dorado
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Dorado
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,946 - ₹ 20,939
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only all suite beachfront resort in Puerto Rico offering a peaceful alternative to bustling San Juan, our beachfront resort is located in the charming town of Dorado, and only a short drive to the capital city. This relaxing retreat offers spacious two room suites and tropical views from your balcony. This resort also offers great value with free made-to-order breakfast and an evening reception. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Dorado del Mar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Dorado Del Mar Beach And Golf Resort
Embassy Suites Dorado Del Mar Beach & Golf Hotel Dorado
Puerto Rico Embassy Suites
Dorado Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing