We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice dinner”

Uva Playa Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 113 Restaurants in Mayaguez
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$ 14 - US$ 30
Cuisines: Pizza, Spanish, International, Puerto Rican
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 4 February 2018 via mobile

We had dorado two ways, criollo and sautéed in garlic butter. We shared both dishes that came with a signature salad with homemade vinaigrette.
Also had a nice and reasonably priced bottle of Pinot noir.
This place is a cut above for the west coast of Puerto Rico.

Thank PennRichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Uva Playa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for sharing your sperience and I am glad that you enjoy it, we hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (194)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 194 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

Last friday of the year, looking for a good place to dine and drink, my family ended up dining at UvaPlaya. Excellent choice for food and drinks in a small and cozy chill vibe atmosphere. Very nice decor. Sheylimar was an awesome service oriented waitress; very friendly, took her time explaining the menu and even told us that the kitchen staff was able to prepare us something off the menu if needed (Those words are exactly the ones I love to hear in a service environment). We ordered beers (which were ice cold) and the cherry mojitos (lovely). Three of us ordered the yuca mofongo with octopus or carrucho (excellent choice) while the others ordered the chicken breast in mushroom sauce with mashed viandas and ceasar salad (great choice also). Overall it was a great happy family experience that we wish to repeat. Definitely will be back.

Thank IT_Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Uva Playa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

I just love to read reviews like this and makes me happy that you enjoy your experience at Uva Playa, I hope we see you again soon so we can give you the best service.

John Rosario
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Absolutely recommend! The salmon sliders are superb to start.

Recommend the salmon with creamy garlic and lemon sauce. The cranberry and nuts rice is a great side.

The mahi mahi wrapped in bacon with mango sauce is delicious!

And must start with grape mojito!

Get Sheilimar to host you, she's the best!

Thank jraul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Uva Playa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you for such a nice review, I hope we see you again soon since we are already open after huracane Maria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

I went with my family to this restaurant and we didn't like it so much. First of all, it was empty when we got there and it took them like 20 minutes to even offer us a drink. When they finally came, my husband ordered a glass of Rum Zacapa and they charged him $20.00 for it. Uhm... hello!! That's almost what the whole bottle costs!! We had to wait for more that an hour for the food to come out after we ordered and when it finally came, it was all wrong. We are definitely not going back to that place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roxy0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

We were looking for a beachfront restaurant for an informal gathering of friends. By chance we stopped in this paradise. The food, the beach terrace, the service and the view were excellent. We will definitively be back. Excellent service from Adam

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dramriveras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C, Owner at Uva Playa Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review, always at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uva Playa Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Uva Playa Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing