We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value.”
Review of Hotel Colonial

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Colonial
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Very good for the price (we paid $75 per room). Great location if you want to be in the city, just a block from the plaza. Old hotel, so it looks a bit tired but at least it's clean. Road noise was loud, I'd ask for a room that doesn't face the road next time. It took several minutes of running the shower until hot water came, but it did. We had rooms 2 and 4, the latter had a much better looking bathroom with newer tile, the other one needed updating ASAP. Overall satisfied, great value if all you need is a bed for the night.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Ernesto R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heribertorosas, Owner at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

After viewing your review I proceeded to add two new solar water heaters and room number two's bathroom was completely remodeled. Thanks a lot for your review. Heriberto Rosas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 135 reviews

Reviewed 1 December 2011

Everything I read in previous reviews is true. I stayed in a single room 2 nights for $53 per night. This was probably the smallest hotel room I've ever had. It is an old building, with some modest upgrades. The WIFI worked good sometimes, other times no. There was a TV but don't think I used it. My room was on street side and was noisy, but the a/c unit muffled the street noise okay when left in the "low cool" position. No elevator, very small breakfast provided in the small breakfast room. Nice parking lot in the rear, but I didn't use it, they have security camera on the street in front also. Everyone super nice at the hotel. The town is very cute. Everyone should stay a few days at the Colonial, for a change.

Room Tip: Get a non-streetside room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ronbonbfhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heribertorosas, Owner at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Thank you for your input. We have included more items to the continental breakfast menu. It includes white and integral bread, croisants, cookies, dry cereals, butter, jellies, coffee, orange juice, milk and chocolate milk. I changed our internet provider so our guests can have a better free WiFi service. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2011

We paid $70 for a double room. Nothing particuarly exciting about it, but was the best value for money anywhere near (we were driving from Ponce). Room was clean and had cable tv, also had a fridge.

Approx 5-6 car parking spaces round back, so felt safe leaving the car there.

Room Tip: Recommend the bakery round the corner, very tasty and great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Elliot H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

This hotel was reccomended to me by a co-worker. I was only staying for one night and i am not a very demanding person and for the price I paid which was about 70$ plus taxes, I did not expect much. I arrived during the night and the front desk clerk was really nice, his name started with an A, I am soo bad with names!. But only one problem, I had booked two rooms (i went with my boyfriend and my sister with her husband) and neither of them had hot water. I was a little bit mad since that is the least you should expect from a hotel, it sucks showering with cold water during the night! I went to the front desk and told him about our problem and he said that we should not worry, that when we arrive from going out the water would be boiling.... To my surprise, when I decided to take a shower the next day during the morning, we still did not have any hot water. At that moment I was very pissed and at the moment of ckeck out the guy that was in the front desk, which is an elder man with glasses, I explained to him the situation and asked him if there was anything we could do, he just said no and was very rude, and was talking to me as if I was lying, I felt really bad and he groaned like if he was saying "oh whatever". Bad experience.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gitanamundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heribertorosas, Owner at Hotel Colonial, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2012

Sorry you had this bad experience. Since that we had upgraded with additional solar water heaters and replaced the heaters element which we found out where not working during your stay. Again, sorry for your dissapointed experience. Heriberto Rosas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

I learned of this hotel from Tripadvisor. It was exactly what I had read: inexpensive simple lodging in a convenient location in town. My room was like a dormitory room (small) with a bathroom that included a shower. The price was less than $60 and I only needed one night. It was a place to go to sleep and it was just fine. The breakfast in the morning was reasonable for the price: coffee, cereal, some kind of cookie (or bisquit?), toast. Enough to get you going. And as recommended, I tried the nearby bakery mentioned in someone else's review and that was a nice treat.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChicagoMedicineMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mayaguez
4.7 km away
Holiday Inn Mayaquez & Tropical Casino
0.1 km away
Howard Johnson Inn Downtown Mayaguez PR
19.7 km away
Casa Verde Hotel
Casa Verde Hotel
#3 of 7 in Rincon
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 km away
Hotel Colombus
Hotel Colombus
#1 of 2 in Aguada
138 reviews
26.9 km away
Parador Villa Parguera
18.6 km away
Villa Cofresi Hotel
Villa Cofresi Hotel
#1 of 7 in Rincon
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colonial? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colonial

Address: 14 S Iglesia Street, Mayaguez 00681, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > Mayaguez
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mayaguez
Price Range: ₹ 4,256 - ₹ 6,964 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Colonial 2.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Colonial of Mayagüez is Located in historic downtown Mayaguez, it is the perfect destination for travelers looking for relaxation and comfort. Whatever you are looking for, the Hotel Colonial is the perfect hotel choice for your visit to the west coast of Puerto Rico also known as Porta del Sol. The Hotel Colonial is just steps away from some of Mayagüez finest attractions. The hotel is walking distance to fabulous restaurants, pubs, shopping, museums and the famous Mayagüez Campus of the University of Puerto Rico. It is also close to the Juan Rivero Zoo, the best zoo in the caribbean.Loaded with comforts and amenities, the Hotel Colonial is an outstanding value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Colonial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing