We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, local food”
Review of La Casita Blanca

La Casita Blanca
Ranked #39 of 1,167 Restaurants in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch
Description: Puerto Rico's most authentic flavors and culinary traditions served at your table for over 30 years. In the heart of Villa Palmeras, one of San Juan's most eclectic and historical areas, La Casita Blanca has been a gathering spot for everyone who wants to enjoy our Island's traditional cuisine.
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

We came here after reading a number of reviews and seeing it on all the top 10 lists. This isn't a fancy spot, more like eating at grandmas. The staff is super friendly and very fast, which is a welcome reprieve after a week of 2-3 hour meals and slow service. The food was full of flavor and healthy sizes portions. We had the francase pollo and corned beef which all fell off the bones. It was paired with rice and beans to share. Topped off with amazing tres leches and flan. Would definitely come back.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank St_Louis_Crew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2017

The ambiance is eclectic, the limited menu is written in chalk and brought to you on a board. We were a large group and they do not take reservations but we had called in advance and they more than accommodated us. The meal began with a fried 'fish' appetizer. I loved my lemon and mint drink. Our table ordered stuffed plantain, Bistek with onions, and a delectable beef stew. The sweet plantain was delightful. We shared a wonderful tres leche cake for dessert, as well. It was a wonderful meal.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank Hudsonrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

We were a group of 8 and tried many dishes. They bring you plantain soup as your starter and most of us really enjoyed it.
Grouper was outstanding. Everyone was happy with their entree.
The flan was excellent.
Atmosphere is friendly and quaint with well done eclectic decor.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Teresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017

Cozy in size but huge in flavor - worth enough to overlook parking limitations. If you are looking for REAL home-made puertorrican flavors - this is the spot to visit, at least once.

Date of visit: March 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Liana-Carlos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2017

This is such an interesting place to eat. The food is authentic Puerto Rican; yummy. It seems the restaurant was built around a tree which is interesting. Loved the red beans and rice side dish.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank BevF1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Casita Blanca also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to La Casita Blanca? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing