We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a mofongo fan!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raices

Raices
Ranked #67 of 980 Restaurants in San Juan
Price range: US$ 0 - US$ 20
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Spanish, Puerto Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Marquette, Michigan
Level Contributor
62 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not a mofongo fan!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We had piña coladas which were very good. I had the steak mofongo and my husband had the chicken. Neither of us cared for them. Plantains were hard and dry in some spots and not much flavor. Other items we saw looked better.

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,217
    952
    589
    283
    196
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UNIONTOWN, OH
Level Contributor
191 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Raices - Not recommended”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is the 2nd time that we visited this restaurant. It was highly recommended by those that live in Puerto Rico. We had a short wait but when we left, there were a lot of people waiting. I thought that maybe I had just ordered the wrong menu item the 1st vist, but thought we would try it again. I was disappointed last time and felt the same this time. The service was slow and the food was just ok, although I liked my food better this vist. I ordered a skirt steak with a sauce, rice and beans. The sauce was very salty, but edible. Others in the group were also disappointed with their food and the service. We were seated by the restroom so it was a very high traffic area. I think I will select a different restaurant next time we are in San Juan. If you decide to try it for dinner, I would suggest that you go early to avoid the long lines.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FENTON64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“My favorite Puerto Rican Restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

Both restaurants in San Juan and in Caguas are amazing. The food us Puerto Rican authentic and I will assure you that you will me amazed. I definitely recommend the "mofongo" (mashed plantains) filled with skirt steak or chicken. Love it!!!!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mistery_gst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weehawken, NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Authentic Puerto RIcan and nice...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

we headed out to Raices early(6 pm) as the crowd between 7 and 9 is insane. We were seated rather quickly. Our waiter was attentive and had some good recommendations. I had the MOFONGO (cassava) with bacalao...nice my friend had the shrimp..awesome....the tamarind mojito was gooood. we had desert - tres leches..there were a lot of gringas and gringos in there....enjoyed it....would recommend it...

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lolao4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson, Indiana
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fun experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

It was very good. Fun atmosphere. There were three of us. We had three items Kan Kan pork chop. They don't do the size of the one they did on Man vs Food. It was big though. It was good but would have been better with a sauce. We got a sampler appetizer that included cod fish fritters, ripe fried plantains, not sure what all. It was fun, but we had no idea what we were eating. We also had chimchurri style skirt steak with mashed plantains. Their staff costumes are cute and the staff are very friendly. The rooms are authentically decorated. It had a very down home feel. We had an enjoyable time.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Raices also viewed

San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 
San Juan, Puerto Rico
San Juan, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Raices? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing