We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Casualty of Hurricane Maria

Sadly, this excellent, super cool spot, where Mick Jagger danced the night away, and most... read more

Reviewed 9 November 2017
SanJuanExpert
,
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Best place in San Juan for Live Local Music!

Husband is a musician, so we went to hear a live Salsa band. The music was fantastic and we were... read more

Reviewed 31 August 2017
Tuesflight11
,
Boston, Massachusetts
Read all 191 reviews
  
translated by Google
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around San Juan
from US$ 112.00
More Info
from US$ 92.00
More Info
from US$ 150.00
More Info
from US$ 50.00
More Info
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveller rating
105
41
12
5
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
105
41
12
5
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salsa dancing mick jagger puerto rico entrance fee blast
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Sadly, this excellent, super cool spot, where Mick Jagger danced the night away, and most international musicians playing at other venues in San Juan, came to jam, after
thier performances, survived the hurricane, but losses compounded by time closed after the storm made it impossible to continue the business of both the club, and the guest house they had upstairs, so both have permanently closed.

22  Thank SanJuanExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2017

Husband is a musician, so we went to hear a live Salsa band. The music was fantastic and we were surprised at how good the food we ordered was as well. This place is in an alleyway, upstairs and easy to miss even when searching for it. Look for the dark wood door and head upstairs. We arrived early to get a seat (music starts around 10 or 11 PM). Slightly slow service since not many people there when we ordered our drinks and meal.

No matter, once the music starts, there is constant dancing and fun. People come hear to hear the live music and it doesn't disappoint!

Thank Tuesflight11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

The best place to dance salsa. We meet in 2004 at the Nuyorican Cafe dancing Salsa. We return just last week August 12 and we had a blast remembering and enjoying the place again as we did the first time !!!!

Thank NinaFuentes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

The food was very good, drinks were creative and tasty, the staff was exceptionally kind and helpful. Watching the band and dancers was the best! I can't wait to come back!

Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2017 via mobile

Small but great salsa bar with live music. $5 cover. Good drinks at reasonable prices. Good mix of locals and travelers and everyone there the night we visited had good "onda" and led to a great night of dancing. Go with a positive attitude and it is worth a trip.

Thank TJRTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017 via mobile

If you want to hear the sound of Puerto Rico... this is the place you need to come to and order the Parcha Mojito.
Watch a live band sing and play their heart out; and if you spirited enough show your salsa dance moves on the floor! It seemed to be family owned and operated .. only a $5 entrance fee !

Thank mrojas72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017 via mobile

This was actually our very first stop on the Island, as we found street parking near by. Don't be afraid to tip the street parking "panhandlers." They've got quite the hustle going, but they find the parking!!! Great open establishment, great service, great drinks!!! We didn't have any food, just drinks, but we were very content with the ambiance and overall laid back culture. The restrooms were very nice. Everything about the place seemed modern and historic, all at the same time!!! We will be back for Salsa dancing!!!

1  Thank Pacviajante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017 via mobile

It was difficult to find the place at first. It's hidden in an alley. But once we got there, t was an amazing experience. The live salsa music started at around 10pm, and the dance floor filled soon after. Food was good and drinks were cheap.

Thank Athenalim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017

To visit the Nuyorican Cafe is to be transported to the intimate, dimly lit, energy driven, salsa venues of New York City in the early 1950's.

The place has retained it's character since it's inception. What the "Whisky a Go-Go" signifies for rock in to Los Angeles, the Nuyorican Cafe is to Salsa music in Puerto Rico.

Not to be missed, it was the choice for Mick Jagger, after the Stones last presentation in San Juan.

Thank Moebius456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017 via mobile

The instructor was great and we enjoyed the lively atmosphere once the live music started. The place is a little hard to find, but just ask a local and they will point you there.

Thank Teri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews