We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for cruisers-very good location”
Review of S.J. Suites

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
S.J. Suites
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Reviewed 29 July 2010

The hotel is centrally located, right in the heart of Old San Juan, good for cruisers. We reserved for only one night. We were able to walk to the Pier with our luggage. We were accommodated in a suite. The room was clean but dark and had a funny musty smell. If you are looking for one or two nights is OK. Old San Juan does not have many selections of Hotels and I find them overprized for the quality

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chic09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (266)
There are newer reviews for S.J. Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

179 - 183 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2010

SJ Suites Hotel is in Old San Juan (Viejo San Juan) - an ideal location for exploring all of San Juan and for consulting the Tourist Information Office, to book tours to other parts of the island. The hotel is very clean, and for folks looking for your basic hotel - a clean, nice place to rest, near all types of restaurants and fun things to do - you cannot beat this hotel. Everything is within walking distance from the hotel. The beds were comfortable in the hotel, water pressure in the shower is strong, and it was very quiet. The staff is very helpful, especially Raymond. The front desk is not staffed late at night and very early in the morning, if that makes a difference to you - it did not to us. This was a reasonably priced hotel in a great location - if I ever return to San Juan, I will definitely try to stay here again. It sure beats paying double or triple the cost and staying out in Condado, a $ 12 taxi fare from Old San Juan. Between its reasonable price, cleanliness, comfort and location, it was everything we were looking for.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FabulousGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2010

My wife and I and another couple stayed at the SJ Suites for 1 night before departing for a cruise out of San Juan. All of us thought the hotel was clean, friendly and was a great value. We enjoyed staying in Old San Juan and the convenience of the restaurants and nightlife in the evening followed by the shops and sightseeing during the day. True, the TV didn't have reception, but I can watch TV at home. We stayed out late and got up early. The staff was very friendly. They provided us with a safe room for a luggage in the morning so we could venture out. I will certainly stay with SJ Suites before our next cruise.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taj-jackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

We stayed in the SJ Suites one night, before we left for a cruise. It was a wonderful hotel. If you're expecting 4 stars, you will be disappointed, but it's a clean hotel with an AMAZING location, which you can't beat. The rooms were large, clean, and comfortable. We had a very long day of traveling (our original flight was canceled, & we dealt with delays all day) & we were so happy to arrive & clean up. The staff was really friendly, & recommended some great places to eat & walk.

The bathroom was very nice, with a built in hairdryer. The shower was clean. The room didn't offer a great view, but you shouldn't be spending much time in your room with so much to do just steps away from the hotel. Walking around at night was fine, we felt very safe. There was a lot going on down by the harbor, with a lot of locals and tourists walking around. Don't miss down by the water at night, it was lovely.

The bed was a little hard for my taste, but we slept wonderfully - very quiet. We walked around in the morning & the staff stored our luggage in a locked room so we didn't have to worry about toting it around after checking out.

We really can't say enough about the staff - the front desk manager insisted we take a cab to our ship (we were going to walk) which saved us - it was a long, long, LONG walk, being that our ship was on the other side of the harbor. He even took time out of his lunch break to help us hail a cab. Very friendly, accommodating. We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2010

We got held back from our honeymoon and had to cancel flight, cruise, and our one night stay in this hotel because our airlines was unable to accomodate our travel plans due to the weather.... we were only staying here one night to prevent any inclement weather issues we booked a day ahead.... this hotel would not refund our stay for the night.

  • Stayed: February 2010
    • Service
Thank pumakitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Milano
Hotel Milano
#35 of 47 in San Juan
936 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Plaza De Armas Old San Juan
0.2 km away
Da House Hotel
Da House Hotel
#28 of 47 in San Juan
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Decanter Hotel
Decanter Hotel
#3 of 47 in San Juan
229 reviews
0.2 km away
Cervantes
Cervantes
#25 of 47 in San Juan
530 reviews
0.1 km away
My Hotel in Puerto Rico
My Hotel in Puerto Rico
#16 of 30 in San Juan
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to S.J. Suites? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about S.J. Suites

Address: Fortaleza St. #253 | Old San Juan, San Juan 00901, Puerto Rico
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 47 Hotels in San Juan
Price Range: ₹ 5,031 - ₹ 8,708 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — S.J. Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Old San Juan. Enjoy the rich history of Old San Juan. Old San Juan has an abundance of museums, stores, excellent restaurants, open air café, tree shaded plazas, majestic homes and buildings the let you appreciate its old beauty and architectonic peculiarity.Whether for a day or a week, by staying in S.J. Suites Hotel you are assuring that you’ll have a stay full of interesting things to do in Old San Juan, declared as World Heritage Site by UNESCO in (1983). Explore & enjoy the amazing array of points of interest in Old San Juan and then come and rest in one of our comfortable rooms.We're also conveniently located close to the Cruise Piers. There are over 40 points of interest steps away from S.J. Suites Hotel… so get ready to explore! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your S.J. Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
s.j. Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing