We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
8 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$ 304
View deal
Agoda.com
US$ 304
US$ 294
View deal
SAVE US$ 10
Hotels.com
US$ 304
View deal
Trip.comUS$ 303
Orbitz.comUS$ 304
CheapTicketsUS$ 304
View all 11 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (116)
Filter reviews
116 results
Traveller rating
106
7
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
106
7
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews welcome drink boutique hotel beach towels and chairs ocean park calle loiza complimentary sangria hotel tonight no safe in the room super close to the beach the room was super clean front desk small plunge pool local bakery onsite restaurant highly recommend staying here visiting pr great facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 116 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed here the first two nights of our time in San Juan, and I wish we had stayed here the whole trip! The staff was so friendly and paid extra attention to us since it's a smaller hotel; we didn't get the same treatment at the big resort we stayed at the second half of our trip. The location is phenomenal. It's 1 block away from a gorgeous, less-crowded beach, has plenty of restaurants and shops nearby, and is only a few minute drive from the central portion of San Juan. Since we were celebrating our anniversary, we were even greeted with a free bottle of Cava and other treats in our room. This was just the icing on top of an already great hotel. They're taking COVID precautions seriously, too. If you're considering booking with Tropica Beach Hotel, do it!

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ariana2294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropica Hotel, General Manager at Tropica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Ariana2294,

Thank you for allowing Trópica Beach Hotel to form part of your recent visit to San Juan's trendiest part of town. Needless to say, it was a pleasure to host you.

We greatly appreciate your kind remarks in regards to our location, service and property. The Trópica Family is dedicated to making sure you enjoy every moment of your stay with us and we are delighted to read that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Again, thank you for choosing Trópica Beach Hotel and for sharing your experience with the world! We hope to have you back soon and often.

#keepittropica

Warm Regards,
Franklin Rivera
General Manager
Trópica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2021 via mobile

This hotel is perfect in every way (aside, perhaps from the ‘pool,’ but who needs that when the beach is 1 block away?). Highlights: 1) The staff is amazing - Liz, Xiomena, and Carlos were incredibly accommodating and kind. Liz in particular frequently went above and beyond 2) The hotel takes covid safety seriously - masks are required, bags are sanitized, and hand sanitizer and extra masks are provided in the lobby and rooms. 3) The way the hotel communicates with guests (via WhatsApp) is super convenient and efficient. Need a coffee? Send a text. Need housekeeping? Just respond to their message. 4) The location cannot be beat. It’s a block from one of the best beaches in San Juan, and a block from a ton of restaurants. 5) The restaurant in the hotel is amazing as well - some of the best food we had during our time in San Juan. The only downside is that the ‘pool’ doesn’t really exist. It’s the size of a hot tub and in the middle of a common area. However when you’re a block from some of the most gorgeous beaches in PR, you don’t need it. All in all, I cannot recommend this place enough! I’ll definitely be back.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank chitravelsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropica Hotel, General Manager at Tropica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2021

Dear Kate S,

Thank you for allowing Trópica Beach Hotel to form part of your recent visit to San Juan's trendiest part of town. Needless to say, it was a pleasure to host you.

We greatly appreciate your kind remarks in regards to your stay with us! The Trópica Family is dedicated to making sure our guests enjoy every moment of your stay with us and we are delighted to read that Liz, Xiomara and Carlos were able to create a positive impact during your stay with us.

Again, thank you for choosing Trópica Beach Hotel and for sharing your experience with the world. We hope to have you back soon and often.

#keepittropica

Warm Regards,
Franklin Rivera
General Manager
Trópica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2021

We split our Puerto Rico trip to 4 nights in the peaceful and serene Vieques and another 4 nights in the more lively and faster paced San Juan - the combo worked out perfectly and the hotels couldn't worked any better either, including Tropica Beach Hotel thanks to its perfect location and very good value/quality to cost per night ratio. If you are a foodie, enjoy walking to food places, having a walk on the beach or jumping into a car to go somewhere for an adventure you will love this place, it's super easy and convenient to make all of that happen and more.

Location: super easy 10 minute drive on the hwy to Ocean Park and than a couple of turns and you are here. Parking is limited but the hotel offers $15 + tax a day parking on the spot on their fenced lot adjacent to the building - otherwise you will have to look around and there isn't any available really in the vicinity. Great area with many restaurants and basically a street away from the ocean - the water here is wild and I didn't dare to swim but people played with their kids on the shore and there were also others doing some surfing and playing with kites - there is a lot of wind! :) you can take the same street and just drive for about 15 minutes and you will end up in San Juan or 10 minutes easy and you will be Isla Verde - endless options

Room: we took the basic room and it was great except for one thing - the windows felt like we had none when it comes to the noise coming from the courtyard where they led directly to - the street noise wasn't an issue at all but when some guests at the restaurant chatted or hotel guests one night came out pretty late and started to have a chat it was brutal, as if the windows didn't exist at all - no sound proofing :) the restaurant closes around 10PM so that's not an issue unless you are an early sleeper but just keep that in mind. The room was super clean and pretty modern, smart TV, good bed, great WIFI and a nice bathroom with a big shower. The bed was comfy and so were the pillows. There is a mini fridge and the complimentary cookies at the check in from the local bakery were delicious! There is no safe in the room but you can store valuables with the front desk, we chose not to and never were concerned during our 4 night stay at all. One "challenge" during COVID era is that hotels don't use elevators... here is no different and majority of the rooms are upstairs - you either do the exercising or simply ask hotel staff for assistance - nothing that bothered me but I know some people can be more physically challenged. The hotel takes COVID preventative measures super seriously and it shows, I normally don't pay attention but kudos to Tropica Beach Team for doing everything they can all over the property to make sure the place is COVID free and guests are safe - things like hands sprays on each floor (not just check in), each hotel room has an info whom and when last time cleaned the room and so on - very impressive!

Hotel Grounds & Parking: the hotel is actually pretty small and it shares a pretty nice size courtyard, with the restaurant DulceSalado (different ownership) , where you can hang out and have a cocktail or just chill. The tiny pool is per request only and we didn't use it but it's more of "a soaking tub/jacuzzi" concept rather than pool due to its very petite size. The restaurant on the spot is great (see separate review) and very convenient although - highly recommend! The hotel has its own parking lot for which you pay separately outside of the room rate - very reasonable cost for the convenience. The property has nice decor and very clean inside/outside, very refreshing and stand out in this pretty residential/condo/rentals area.

Beach: it's less than 5 minutes walk up north on the street next to the property - there are many ways to access it. It's a beach where you take a walk, or just chill like we did for a sunset, people AND! dog watching haha lots of folks with the furry guys here. We didn't come to San Juan for beach activities but if you did I recommend going east to Carolina Public Beach/Isla Verde by Ocean Lab Brewing - the water there looked much calmer, or explore the beaches in the north shore outside of San Juan.

Food & Restaurant Options: foodies paradise! Every place we tried we enjoyed the food, service, cocktails, coffee - where it was tough in Vieques to find a great food place being in Ocean Park absolutely redeemed that portion of vacationing in Puerto Rico :) our fav dinner was Paulina Escanes-Gourmandize (short easy 10 minute walk west on the same street) and morning coffee at Cafe Con Ce and its "green urban oasis" just less than 5 minutes walk southwest - check my other reviews if you are interested but honestly there is so many places to try and check out it's really an endless list of places to go!

Things to do: if you like rum go to Casa Bacardi distillery or Ron del Barrilito factory, either one about 15 to 20 minutes drive. You have the old San Juan close by and I recommend leaving the car at the paid parking on La Puntilla Parking ($4 or $5 full day) and exploring the area on foot rather than trying to find free parking... on my personal end I must say Castillo San Felipe del Morro has been one of the coolest memories from this trip that will stick with me forever, the place speaks Puerto Rico and its culture shows their greatly through its wonderful people! We drove twice to Ponce - one of my favorite shoat (about 1.5h each way) road trips ever - once you get out of San Juan area it's all green and tropical mountains yet perfect quality highway roads - amazing! If you love coffee and chocolate venture out to Utuado/Adjuntasa area (south of Arecibo) and check out the local farms - for me visiting a coffee farm was a dream come true!

Overall: great stay at a great place, we came here for a busy schedule to explore the area and venture out into the island in our short 4 night stay here and for that Tropica Beach Hotel was an absolute perfect pick! The very nice staff made it very pleasant at every time we met them and the hotel team works really hard to make their visitors feel welcomed and safe - their app messaging system through WhatsApp is an excellent modern way to communicate! The little gift as a birthday surprise for my wife's birthday was a very unexpected and pleasant surprise, thank you from the bottom of our hearts for everything and having us

We returned to Puerto Rico after "visiting during a long lay over we had in SJU on our way to Dominica" last year where we developed an extremely positive impression of the local people due to their friendliness and kindness, we returned a year later due to this impression and felt exactly that same great energy again! Great place, great great people!

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank reedmangreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropica Hotel, General Manager at Tropica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2021

Dear reedmangreg,

Thank you for allowing Trópica Beach Hotel to form part of your recent visit to San Juan's trendiest part of town. Needless to say, it was a pleasure to host you.

I speak on behalf of the Trópica Family when stating that we greatly appreciate you taking the time to leave such a detailed review. Our team believes in creating unique and wonderful experiences for our guests to enjoy and we are delighted to read that we were able to exceed your expectations. We hope you will visit our beautiful island on a future, third occasion and that we have the privilege of hosting you again.

Again, thank you for choosing Trópica Beach Hotel. We hope to have you back soon and often!

#keepittropica

Warm Regards,
Franklin Rivera
General Manager
Trópica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2021 via mobile

My wife and I recently spent a week in in Santurce and decided to try this boutique hotel in one of San Juan’s trendiest neighborhoods. Trópica was an absolute delight! First, the staff was simply superb. I must mention both Carlos and Wilson, who both genuinely seemed to care about each inquiry and were so very quick to respond and help us. The “text the front desk” was so much more efficient, and oddly personable, than a standard in-room phone system. It made it much easier to reach someone, even when out of the hotel.

The location was perfect. No more than a short walk to Ocean Park (this alone will lead us to stay again in the future); near enough to Calle Loiza to enjoy all it had to offer, but far enough away for quiet nights. Plus, we were no more than 15 mins to the Old City, and 35 to El Yunque. The use of beach chairs and towels was a pleasant perk and made the stay so much more relaxing.

The room was very nice and satisfactory for a week stay on the beach. It was simple, but clever use of windows permitted much natural light in the king room (217). Water pressure, and temperature, in the shower could be better.

Overall, this is an excellent choice for lodging in the area. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Dude_Loves_Button
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropica Hotel, General Manager at Tropica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2021

Dear Dude_Loves_Button,

Thank you for allowing Trópica Beach Hotel to form part of your recent visit to San Juan's trendiest part of town. Needless to say, it was a pleasure and a privilege to host you.

We greatly appreciate your kind remarks in regards to your experience with us! The Trópica Family is dedicated to making sure you enjoy every moment of your stay and we are delighted to read that Carlos and Wilson where able to create a positive impact during your visit. We will be checking the details regarding water pressure and temperature in 217 in order to prevent this issue from inconveniencing other, future guests. We greatly appreciate you bringing this to our attention as we are committed to constantly improving our operation.

Again, thank you for choosing Trópica Beach Hotel. We hope to have you back soon and often!

#keepittropica

Warm Regards,
Franklin Rivera
General Manager
Trópica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2021

We stayed here for my birthday weekend and we loved the intimacy. They give you a welcome drink which is very tasty. It's in a very convenient location, within walking distance of several restaurants, stores, and around the corner from the beach. The hotel gives you beach towels and chairs. They left pastries and a bottle of champagne in my room upon my arrival for my birthday. The junior suite was so spacious and comfortable for my family of four. The price was reasonable. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Room tip: The junior suite is worth it
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank travelislife118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tropica Hotel, General Manager at Tropica Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2021

Dear travelislife118 ,

Thank you for allowing Trópica Beach Hotel to form part of your recent visit to San Juan's trendiest part of town. Needless to say, it was a pleasure to host you.

We greatly appreciate your kind remarks in regards to your stay with us. The Trópica Family is dedicated to ensuring that you enjoy every moment of your stay with us and we are delighted to read that we were able to exceed your expectations.

Again, thank you for choosing Trópica Beach Hotel. We hope to have you back soon and often!

#keepittropica

Warm Regards,
Franklin Rivera
General Manager
Trópica Beach Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews