We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,114)
Filter reviews
3,114 results
Traveller rating
1,858
906
239
71
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,858
906
239
71
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews double tree murphy bed grocery store across the street hour supermarket warm cookies cafe pierre bebo's cafe self parking pool and hot tub business center pool area open hours few blocks very nice hotel resort fee pre cruise stay close to the airport
Filter
Updating list...
2,370 - 2,375 of 3,114 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2011

the guy who checked me in named juan was the only really good part of this place. i booked last minute and spent a little over 200. the computers in the business center are slow and really in need of an update i am a part time writer and was constantly kicked off my own blog and news site until i gave up. the elevators in this hotel are the worst and slowest i have ever experienced. the pool is a joke very cramped and good luck finding your own chaise to lay on i gave up after the 3 whole minutes it took to navigate the pool area. the rooms though small are pretty nice good sheets and pillows and comfortable beds. the bathroom was nice well appointed with nice towels. DO NOT eat at the restaurant in the hotel. the restaurant is really cheesy tables and furniture like that of a college cafeteria if that. food was so so but cheap but if you are looking for haute cuisine go elsewhere. my biggest concern is cleanliness and they cover that part. getting a hotel in san juan is hit or miss if you dont want the ritz make sure you book 4 stars bc the 3 and a half star places are not nice.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank couturecorgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We Stayed 8 nights, and had a great experience. The staff was efficient and caring... Very nice room. Bed was comfortable. Very Clean and modern. SO nice to have a 24 hour grocery store next to the hotel. There was always a taxi on standby and it was never more than $20 to get to most places in the area. Busses were easy to ride as well. WILL stay there again. Manager was helpful when we had concerns about arriving in the middle of the night. Room was checked-in and ready to sleep!

Room tip: Contact the manager early with any concerns
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YMCSanJuan, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton San Juan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2011

Saludos KyleK,
It was great to read that you had a great experience with us and that you found our hotel to be very nice and clean. Hopefully your next visit will be soon and we can be of service to you again. If I can assist you in any way please do not hesitate to contact at yodil.caban@hilton.com.

Always at your service,

Yodil Caban
General Manager
yodil.caban@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Thanks to all the staff at Doubletree in Puerto Rico, especially to Daiana, Margarita, Antonio, Peter and Juan for making my every visit a memorable one
Cecily Simmonds-Barrett

Date of stay: April 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

We stayed here because at the time it was the #1 rated hotel on TripAdvisor and because we got a very good non-refundable rate on hotels.com. We were staying in San Juan for 3 days before going on a cruise.

The hotel itself is modern and nice with a very comfy bed and lots of pillows. The bathroom has a sliding translucent glass door so there isn't a lot of privacy. And the shower only has a glass wall for half of the stall while the rest is open to the bathroom. Unless you properly place the floor mat next to the shower the bathroom floor will get all wet.

This mainly a business, not tourist, hotel. You'll need to take a car, taxi, or bus to the tourist areas however there are always taxis at the ready--just ask the valet and he'll buzz one over. The closest car rental agency is at the Marriott ($11 cab ride). The on-site restaurant is pricey (again, meant for people on expense accounts) and the breakfast buffet disappointing. The little shop does sell gourmet chocolates though. :-) There is a supermarket across the street and a Subway a block away if you want cheaper food. The rooms have microwaves and fridges.

If I was coming back as a tourist I think I would stay in the more tourist-oriented areas.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank runchadrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

We stayed her 5 nights before our cruise. It was fairly small but the staff were welcoming and we got a hot cookie when we booked in. At first I thought I would be disappointed with the location as it is about 10 minutes walk to the beach, but it was so handy for the buses and we did a lot of exploring. Also a great supermarket opposite which was open all night. We went to old San Juan several times and that was very interesting. We got on the ferry not knowing where it went and ended up touring the Bacardi factory which was good. The pool was small but it was never crowded and it and the jacuzzi were open all night. It rained quite a bit but that didn't spoil it. The week on the cruise the weather was brilliant the whole time. It also had a washing machine/dryer by the pool which was good.

Room tip: Ground floor by the pool looked really good, but were fully booked. It is best to have a room over looking the pool. After our cruise we stayed 2 nights and looked out on to low roofs and nothing really.
Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanglynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews