We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Clean, convenient Condado hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Canario by the Lagoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
El Canario by the Lagoon
Ranked #22 of 46 Hotels in San Juan
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
232 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Clean, convenient Condado hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We chose this hotel after a bad hotel experience in Old San Juan, and we were worried about its inconvenience to the city, but we turned out to be very happy with both location and the hotel itself.

This hotel describes itself as 'European' which, as a European, I have to say hotels really ought to stop using as a euphemism for 'a bit small and run down' - there is nothing particularly 'European' about the hotel. It is situated on a quiet street just off Ashford Avenue (the main drag) and a 5 minute walk to the Lagoon and a 3 minute walk to the beach and plenty of restaurants and bars. And 1 minute from a Banco Popular ATM. Great location.

We were initially given a room with a lovely view of the Lagoon (suggest you ask for this!) but with twin beds despite us specifying we wanted a double on booking.com; they turned out to have no doubles but instead gave us a room with two doubles at the same cost. Unfortunately this was on the other side of the hotel and had a grim view of the neighbouring building's wall. But it still had good light and was okay.

The rooms are fine - a little dated but neat, clean, spacious enough, and with comfortable beds, as well as a little seating area with a table, wardrobe, drawers, a fridge, and suchlike. The breakfast is free and uninspiring, but fine - cereal, juice, and some pastries in a little breakfast room next to the reception.

As well as enjoying the local restaurants and bars in Condado (a pleasant area with a beachy feel) paddleboarding on the Lagoon, and splashing on the beach, we walked to Santurce, which feels much less touristy and had great art museums, to Miramar, where we went to the cinema, and we caught a 15 minute bus to Old San Juan. Condado is also nearer to the airport, El Yunque, and Fajardo compared to Old San Juan, so it was nice to cut down the duration of the taxi ride.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ms_scotsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    124
    52
    21
    13
See reviews for
52
97
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Perfect location with comfortable clean rooms at a reasonable rate. The beach is just a short walk (3 minutes away) and easily accessible. The staff was exceptionally friendly, helpful, and knowledgable. The front desk clerk saved us considerable money suggesting we take the city bus to Old San Juan (75 cents per person) instead of calling a taxi. The rooms are spacious, quiet, and clean. The best part about our room was the air conditioning unit with a numbered temperature control where we could set the temperature at 74 degrees, just as we like. (Much more accurate than low, med, or high.) We've stayed at this hotel before and will again. It's the only place to stay in San Juan.

Room Tip: The suites on the top floor are quieter and have an outside sitting area just outside. It's the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ford-Fifty-Six
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Great location, friendly staff and comfortable room. Will return!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boredsoxgirl23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosaritobeach
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

we loved staying here because it was an older hotel. our room was right on the water. this hotel was great. we had to go next door to the la ocncha to use their pool. which was one of the benifits of the stay. i liked it. this was a quality building. super quiet. la concha was great for going over and being by the pool. and hanging out. but the place was new and big and almost looked like the was stapled together.

i loved el canerio. solid, well built. classy. simple, clean and comfortable. and that balcony just outside the room !!! totally private....... you could hear the waves crashing !! oh... it does not get much more romantic that that.

there was a nice, simple (again classy) breakfast buffet. little more than continental. just what we needed.

would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: we stayed there on both sides of a cruise. for one night on arrival and were on the street side. w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosaritobeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clewiston, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2011

It was recommended by some People that we met at the Condado wild eating at a restaurant nearby. The price and the location is just great, the staff was great and help full. Very clean and a lots of towels.

Room Tip: our room was on the east side of the hotel with a small balcony, two beds fridge more than we spec t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Juan hotels
0.3 km away
Coral Princess Hotel
Coral Princess Hotel
#13 of 46 in San Juan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
0.4 km away
The Wave Hotel Condado
The Wave Hotel Condado
#15 of 46 in San Juan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 km away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#33 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express San Juan Condado
1.0 km away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#20 of 46 in San Juan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.4 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Condado Palm Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Canario by the Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Canario by the Lagoon

Property: El Canario by the Lagoon
Address: 4 Clemenceau Street | Condado, San Juan 00907, Puerto Rico
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Puerto Rico > San Juan
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in San Juan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in San Juan
#12 Business Hotel in San Juan
#13 Family Hotel in San Juan
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,128 - ₹ 10,794
Hotel Class:2.5 star — El Canario by the Lagoon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your El Canario by the Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Canario By The Lagoon Hotel San Juan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing